We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Misled By Incorrect Hours Posted Online”
Review of Blue Benn Diner

Blue Benn Diner
Ranked #3 of 75 Restaurants in Bennington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Misled By Incorrect Hours Posted Online”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We were actually fairly eager to try the Blue Benn when passing through Bennington on a family vacation, based on a couple of guidebooks and other sources that highly recommended the place. But our plans - and we did have a plan - were foiled by bad information on Blue Benn's Facebook page. We ended up not being able to eat there.

The diner, as of this writing, doesn't have a website. But it does have a Facebook page. And on the day we drove from southeastern Maine through southern New Hampshire and Vermont to Bennington (where we were staying the night), we checked the page. It said they were open until 8:00 p.m. We spent some time in downtown Bennington while the shops were still open after we rolled into town, checked into our hotel and took a little time to get situated.

We pulled into Blue Benn's parking lot at 6:45. As we walked toward one of the front doors, we saw it bore a sign indicating that the business hours ran to 7:00 rather than 8:00. In the moment it took us to process this, one of the servers inside the restaurant walked to the inside of that same door, gave us a decidedly unwelcoming look (not that we had any designs on going in there 15 minutes before closing), and flipped the "open" sign on the other entrance door (the one opposite to the one we were facing) to "closed." That was a nice emphatic touch.

We left, frustrated. In our imagination, the food was going to be really good. We'll never know.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Baker1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    295
    139
    46
    11
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Schenectady, New York
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Cute place”
Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

We came here as a group of 6. Yet there are no tables big enough for 6. We needed 2 booths and times it great that we could get 2 next to each other. We ordered 5 different things off the menu and all of is were very happy with our choices. The turkey on the hot turkey sandwich was from a fresh cooked turkey. It was very good. Staff were super sweet and helpful to the group. They did not have a problem giving is separate receipts which we always need. Will stop
On again for sure. The only think bad I have to say is that this place is not a place my husband could enjoy as it is not accessible for the disabled.

Helpful?
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bennington, Vermont
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Had lunch with a friend there. I had never been there before. The sandwich i ordered was so good. Definitely will return!!!!! It is small and they only take cash but worth the trip. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because you can see their age (place has been there a long time...lol).

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank firecrkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Old style comfort breakfast food”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

I came here by the advisement of a friend who saw this on TripAdvisor so I feel like it's fair to leave a review. This is a small place and was crowded when it was busy. I got a seat without waiting too long and had a huge variety of menu options to choose from. My food came out hot and in a timely matter. It was pretty good and felt like the value was definitely worth the price.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank greenwaterbrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Old-style diner”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Old style diner. Decent food. Take note - Cash only! Stopped here for Breakfast ... typical diner. It was recommended by the Hampton Inn for breakfast. It was OK. Coffee was good.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rick_Tri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Benn Diner also viewed

 
Bennington, Green Mountains
Bennington, Green Mountains
 
Bennington, Green Mountains
Bennington, Green Mountains
 

Been to Blue Benn Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing