We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great and not so much” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brown Cow Cafe

Brown Cow Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Brown Cow Cafe is the healthy alternative for fresh made to order breakfast and lunch in Bennington. Always have vegetarian, vegan, and gluten-free soup, sandwiches, salads, and sweets available as part of our regular menu. Full menu of espresso drinks using Vermont roasted fair trade organic Mocha Joe's coffee.
Springfield, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Great and not so much”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

We liked the atmosphere and menu. One sandwich was terrific. The other was loaded with oil; even the chips were soaked. Wrung it out and ate half. Quietly showed one of the staff who was not nice, especially because we said we did not want anything else instead. She said yes, the pesto is very oily. We NEVER complain so were disappointed to leave embarrassed. Will not return.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alleycat751, General Manager at Brown Cow Cafe, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
We are sorry you did not enjoy your sandwich at The Brown Cow and apologize for any brusqueness from the waitstaff. However, when you choose to alter a menu item from the way it is offered (i.e. a panini as a wrap), it's not really fair to blame the restaurant when you don't like the outcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    14
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wheeling, West Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Hippie cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

We had breakfast here. I had the egg sandwich on sourdough toast - with cheese and bacon. It was delicious. My husband had the steel cut oats. They offered various toppings for his oats. I noticed fresh bananas on the counter. They have lots of gourmet coffees. Locals go here. Great place.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
136 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

I spotted this place while staying at the inn next door, and I'm glad I stopped for breakfast. Very friendly and helpful staff, good food and cool atmosphere made for a good start to the day. I changed my order after making it, and also switched from "to go" to dine in because I liked the place, and they accommodated me without complaint.

Helpful?
Thank jjax12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great lunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

They make an outstanding ham and Brie sandwich with Dijon mustard. Great atmosphere and lovely people

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
909 reviews
521 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 382 helpful votes
“Terrific coffee..and more”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

When I heard about this cafe which is a little off the Main Street, I was told they had the best coffee in town. There is some good coffee around-both South Street Cafe, and Powers in North Bennington, so it was a strong claim. I do not know what they do in their process or if its just the Mocha Joe's product but the result is a very very smooth cup of coffee that is excellent. No bite or bitterness. If I lived in Bennington, I would be here daily. The blueberry muffin that came along was also good. It was not oily or greasy. Very healthy and brimming with berries.
I did not get back for a lunch but the menu is very fun with lots of options for people who want healthy, hearty or gluten free. There are also non-dairy options.
Parking is good-a rarity we have found. Getting there is a little confusing. It is a separate building right next to a college library that looks like it was a hotel. So follow the numbers and look up high above the street on the left side as you go out of town from the center.
There are lots of tables. I heard it fills up at lunch-which means the word is out.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CSSnowshoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brown Cow Cafe also viewed

Bennington, Green Mountains
Bennington, Green Mountains
 
Bennington, Green Mountains
 

Been to Brown Cow Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing