We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the wait!”

Madison Brewing Co. Brew Pub & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 75 Restaurants in Bennington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Madison family has deep roots in the Bennington, Vermont. As locals growing up and living in the area, the Madison's have deep ties to the community and in the early 1990's the family decided to purchase what was then a burned out storefront in Bennington's historic downtown, and convert it into the area's first brew pub. "My brother Mark was part of the inspiration" says co-owner Mel Madison. "He become passionate about brewing beer as a hobby... And that let us to the idea of starting a brew pub." From those humble beginnings, the brewery has developed six regular brews plus a seasonal brew. To complement the brewing is the lunch and dinner offerings as well as Madison's own home-made chips - a favorite at the bar or anyplace. Now into its second decade of operation, the brew pub has become a Bennington fixture and a favorite amongst the locals. We encourage you to stop in and discover for yourself everything Madison's Brewing Company has to offer!
new hampshire
Level Contributor
237 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Worth the wait!”
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Have been by this restaurant several times but could not get in due to the crowds. Finally stopped in around 3pm on a Friday and were greeted and seated right away. Had the cheese fries as an appetizer - yummy. Hubby's buffalo chicken wrap was great as was my southwest chicken sandwich. Big portions and cold beer - can't go wrong. Now we know why this place is always busy. Will definitely be back when in town again.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank twosoups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    226
    82
    20
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dartmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
475 reviews
247 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Good Beer Fine Burger”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

In my continuing quest to try as many local beer as possible during my travels we asked at the Bennington Visitor Center for any local pubs, and Madison's was suggested. Centrally located with lots of convenient parking it was easy to find. Nothing fancy inside it is decorated in standard Brewpub theme, but was comfortable and service was quick and efficient. Their seasonal IPA was an excellent brew, and my wife had a delicious Sangria. Our meals were also good. My wife had the Waldorf Melt and reported it was great. I had a special burger made with Angus beef, a spicy buffalo sauce and Gorgonzola cheese, lettuce and tomato. It sounds like a simple enough burger, but it was delicious.

A good spot for a beer and meal in Bennington VT.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Art H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Popular brew-pub with tasty dishes”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Busy at lunch, understand busy often. Somewhat annoying that we waited 20 minutes for table when we could have had one in bar area without a wait. Staff was not well coordinated. Food very good, nice choices.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PRexx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmount, Indiana
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food and staff!”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Some of the best mac n cheese I have ever had!! We loved this restaurant so much we ate there both nights we were in Bennington. Just could not get enough of their great food and spirits! Very family friendly!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank AdessaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Yummy food”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

They had a nice selection and cozy ambiance. Both my husband and I enjoyed our meals. He had the steak sandwich and I had a salad with steak on it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank JuneBride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madison Brewing Co. Brew Pub & Restaurant also viewed

Bennington, Green Mountains
 
Bennington, Green Mountains
Bennington, Green Mountains
 
Bennington, Green Mountains
 

Been to Madison Brewing Co. Brew Pub & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing