We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent diner in every way” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunny Side Diner

Sunny Side Diner
Ranked #13 of 75 Restaurants in Bennington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Diner, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
73 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent diner in every way”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

My hotel did not have a breakfast option so I went searching and found this very good choice. The menu is traditional for breakfast time and my bacon and eggs were well-executed. Service was with a smile and very quick. Who could ask for anything more?

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Almost_the_oldest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    26
    10
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vermont
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Three Time's The Charm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

I have had the opportunity to eat breakfast with my family here three times in the past two weeks. All food ordered was satisfactory,; the coffee was uniformly weak. On our last visit the server brought us the totaled check promptly unlike the previous two visits. Little boys will like sitting at the table by the front picture window to watch the trucks stop at the intersection outside. However, for a quieter meal away from the noisy locals at the counter, choose a booth seat in the dining room. The bathroom is among the cleanest I've ever seen. Vehicles with trailers have plenty of room to park around the corner and persons with disabilities would have no difficulty as there's a ramp and no door sill.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vladimirtractor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branchburg, New Jersey
Level Contributor
92 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“My parents swear by this place but I wasnt impressed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

So my parents are locals and they come here religiously. When we've accompanied them the past two times its been hit or miss. The raspberry pancakes were out of this world but their western omelet was awful. The sausages were deep fried and dry. The coffee is excellent and I love they give you grown up sized cups. The servers are friendly enough but dont handle crowds well.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MeLow4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castalia, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

This is a cheerful, pleasant diner and on a Sunday morning is very busy; so imagine my disappointment when my breakfast sandwich turned out to be an awful flop. I really should have sent it back. It was supposed to be on a fresh biscuit but that biscuit was anything but fresh. It literally crumbled away and I left it in a heap on my plate and picked out the rest of the sandwich which wasn't so great either. Not a good value, I'm sorry to say. Had hoped to have better things to say about the Sunny Side.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank terrimonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bennington, Vermont
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best Omelet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

I have been trying to eat healthier. Although the calories were still a little high the choice of a spinach omelet was a great one! Filling but not stuffed and great flavor

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank benningtonbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunny Side Diner also viewed

Bennington, Green Mountains
Bennington, Green Mountains
 
Bennington, Green Mountains
 
Bennington, Green Mountains
 

Been to Sunny Side Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing