We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Owner Napping on the Couch”
Review of Crazy Russian Girls Bakery - CLOSED

Crazy Russian Girls Bakery
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Remember that neighborhood bakery you went to all the time when you were little? Remember the way it smelled and looked? The bakers at CRG are trying to bring back all those memories with our baked goods prepared right in front of your eyes. We use the finest ingredients including King Arthur Flours, Cabot Butter, Belgian Chocolates, and local seasonal produce. Our baked goods taste the way you remember they should. Products include Bread, bagels, a variety of sweet goods, as well as international soups, sandwiches, and hot specials. CRG's bakery and restaurant have been featured in Vermont Life Magazine and was awarded Yankee Magazine Editor's Choice for Best Bakery Lunch in New England 2015.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Loved the Owner Napping on the Couch”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We tried Crazy Russian Girls after an uplifting review by Jerry at Fiddleheads. Food changes quickly we've heard- but the Banh Mi and Black Irish sandwiches we had were spot on! The Banh Mi was spicy and really fresh- everything had a nice crunch. The corned beef in the Black Irish was prepared really well. Everything is done on site, and the owners are really passionate about the business. We had a great conversation with the wife while the husband napped after a long shift. I love the character. The shop also has a ton of fresh bread and pastries made on site. Do try if you are in the area.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Hostwthemost_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    34
    9
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hudson River Valley, New York
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Wonderful sandwich”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I stopped here for lunch after a visit to Bennington Potters and had a delicious Vietnamese banh-mi sandwich with sesame chicken. The vegetables in the sandwich were amazingly sweet and fresh tasting, even the scallions and especially the cucumber slices. The sauce (or dressing) was very spicy, to just the right degree. I did manage to drop some on my shirt but it was worth looking less than spotless for the drive home--I really enjoyed the sandwich. I appreciated the cold-water dispenser near the tables, and enjoyed the rather odd layout, which other reviewers have described. I bought two desserts to bring home; the cheesecake was good but not memorable, and the "Jimmy's chocolate organism" (clever new-Vermont-y style name) was excellent. I also bought a multigrain bread that was a little dry in texture but excellent in taste.

I don't get to Bennington as often as I used to but I will definitely consider stopping here for lunch again, though I also am a longtime fan of the Blue Benn.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Grayhill102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branchburg, New Jersey
Level Contributor
96 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great little bakery”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We go to VT atleast twice a year and this place is just great. The ladies are really talented and its fun to watch them decorate cakes from outside. We always go to Benners for their buffalo chicken pizza and than stop here for a cupcake or whatever else looks good. Keep up the good work ladies!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MeLow4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boxborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“must visit this place”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

we were passing through Bennington around lunch time and saw this place and fortunately stopped. although we did not have a lot to eat, what we did have was extremely good and just seeing what was in the display cases is enough to make you wish you could eat there every day for a very, very long time. there's a video on UTube which shows a lot of there baked goods -- it is worth searching for it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jeffah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food, great people”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Marvelous sandwiches and salads available and the baked goods are out of this world. Give this place a try. It is unpretentious and genuine.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 155Betty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crazy Russian Girls Bakery also viewed

 
Bennington, Green Mountains
 
Bennington, Green Mountains
Bennington, Green Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing