We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Collections”
Review of Bennington Potters

Bennington Potters
Ranked #1 of 13 Shopping in Bennington
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Bennington Potters has been making stoneware pottery right here in Bennington, Vermont since 1948. Visit our destination home style store and pottery works. Free Factory Tours - Come See it Made! Talk to the potters and see pressing, casting, jiggering, finishing, glazing and firing in action. Buses and group tours welcome! Call for more information. Shop at Potters Yard in our historic Grist Mill and Old School House buildings. We sell our dinnerware, bakeware, and classic trigger mugs, as well as our own accessories and complementary glassware, tableware, linens, furniture and more - a unique shopping experience. Shop, factory and gardens on 3-plus acres. In downtown Bennington, less than a block off Vt. Rte. 7. Open every day.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
New London CT
Level Contributor
144 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Unique Collections”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Loved this place and the connected pottery factory. Prices were reasonable. We walked off with a lovely wallpiece and pretty pottery dinner items.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank dbarms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    84
    26
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Auburndale, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“pottery”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

A very nice story. I thought it was going to be more of a "local" pottery place with "local" artisans work. Nothing happening in the production building other than hosing it out. They do have some really neat, beautiful pieces. It seemed more like production pieces than hand made. I did manage to make a purchase (!)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank 2010psp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good, but...”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Excelent store for Bennington Pottery...but don't go here thinking you'll see dozens of artisans hard at work. This is more of a Pottery Barn that makes its own cups and plates. Was disappointed in the amount of non-locally produced items (ie China, etc.)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester,NY
Level Contributor
179 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“A pottery store”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stopped here on a Saturday, to see the pottery and do some shopping. I have to say I was disappointed. There was very little production being done on a day when I would think that the pottery would be highly visited. Also the shop was large but only offered basically 7 different patterns. I was hoping to find a birthday gift for my sister-in-law but the pattern selection was very limited and values not good. Disappoint.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank cj-poohfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, CA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect for Gifts and for YOU”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Eddington Inn Owner, Patti, directed me to Bennington Potters and I loved it. The owner clearly has very good taste so it was fun to peruse the home furnishing section. The pottery is very similar to Heath Ceramics and in lots of great colors and sizes. Also, there are many other items in the store that could be purchased for gifts to take home or for you. I am not a big shopper when traveling and despise the touristy stores but this is clearly not that. Don't miss it especially for the fun sculptures in the garden in front.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank goldengategurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bennington Potters also viewed

 
Bennington, Green Mountains
Bennington, Green Mountains
 

Been to Bennington Potters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing