We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take a look”
Review of Bennington Potters

Bennington Potters
Ranked #1 of 13 Shopping in Bennington
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Bennington Potters has been making stoneware pottery right here in Bennington, Vermont since 1948. Visit our destination home style store and pottery works. Free Factory Tours - Come See it Made! Talk to the potters and see pressing, casting, jiggering, finishing, glazing and firing in action. Buses and group tours welcome! Call for more information. Shop at Potters Yard in our historic Grist Mill and Old School House buildings. We sell our dinnerware, bakeware, and classic trigger mugs, as well as our own accessories and complementary glassware, tableware, linens, furniture and more - a unique shopping experience. Shop, factory and gardens on 3-plus acres. In downtown Bennington, less than a block off Vt. Rte. 7. Open every day.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Hyde Park, Vermont, United States
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Take a look”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

There is a lot to see at this pottery... It's historic... the inventory is both classic and experimental... and it is in a great space.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Brad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    85
    26
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Always interesting items”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

You can tour the pottery or shop for decorating items like furniture, mirrors, pillows or all sorts of tea towels, pottery items, food stuffs etc. Plan to spend some time browsing. There are lots of things to see and buy.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank 1superlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson River Valley, New York
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Not as spacious as the Burlington store”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I had been to Bennington Potters North in Burlington last summer and wanted to see what the original one was like so took a longish day trip to explore it and a few other places. I enjoyed seeing the working pottery in the back of the yard and thought some of the pottery sold in the store was beautiful. The trigger handle mugs especially appealed to me. I didn't enjoy the non-pottery section as much as I had in Burlington, which may have been a function of the slightly less spacious layout. It is certainly a lovely store to include on a southern-Vermont trip, however.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Grayhill102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
526 reviews
162 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Interesting pottery tour and store”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

If you like cool pottery then definitely worth a visit. The self-guided tour is short, but worth doing. Overall, worth visiting if you are in the area and are into pottery.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Bay, near San Francisco
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Wonderful tour and shop”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

This is a self-guided tour, but you're "up close and personal" to the potters and the pottery. The shop has a phenomenal selection of wonderful things for the home in addition to a selection of Bennington Potters "seconds".

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MusicMajor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bennington Potters also viewed

 
Bennington, Green Mountains
 

Been to Bennington Potters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing