We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and solumn”

Bennington Centre Cemetery
Ranked #7 of 23 things to do in Bennington
Attraction details
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Quiet and solumn”
Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

I enjoyed this cemetery very much. It is well kept and easy to explore. The sound of birds chirping and the beautiful landscaping makes it an enjoyable place to visit.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank BrentJensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    14
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Earlton, New York
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“I went solely for Frost.”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

The graveyard is extremely fascinating, and I could have spent a good part of my afternoon here. it was amazing to see the old headstones, the family names, and the history of the area. I came to specifically see Robert Frost's grave. As other reviewers have noted, it is much easier to reach his grave by parking near the church and entering the cemetery there.

Robert Frost's site was beautiful, but so was the rest of the cemetery. Even after seeing his resting place, I took some time to peruse the other headstones and soak up some history.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Robert Frost's Grave.”
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Take note, this part of the cemetery is best accessed from the church, not the museum.

The cemetery is a peaceful and historic place to visit. There is a brochure posted but it's difficult to read. The oldest headstone I noted was from the early 1700's. Many are inscripted with lengthy epitaphs. Sadly, many are illegible now due to the forces of nature. The artful stones are fascinating and fun to see. Carved with cherub faces, weeping willow trees and other art forms of the past they are lovely.

Robert Frost had an interesting visitor when we were at his grave site. After a few minutes a dark gray cat came running to his stone. It rubbed and caressed it like a long lost friend. We all stayed for a while and looked up some of Frost's poems enjoying them grave side. The cat stayed as long as we did and disappeared (not kidding) from the cemetery.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DPD123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville
Level 6 Contributor
1,659 reviews
1,101 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,320 helpful votes
“Manicured final resting Place”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

It probably helps that Robert Frost is buried here as the entire cemetery is very well manicured. There are some very old headstones that make for interesting reading if you are into that sort of thing. We missed the church as it was closed. Check out the three covered bridges and Bennington Monument while you are in the area. A very nice way to spend the day.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaftsbury, Vermont, United States
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Always kept nice,”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I like the fact is it always kept nice,They say no fake flowers but I have seen some but not too bad.I have family layed to rest here

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Daisy05201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bennington Centre Cemetery also viewed

Bennington, Green Mountains
Bennington, Green Mountains
 
Bennington, Green Mountains
 

Been to Bennington Centre Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing