We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be better on customer care”
Review of Four Chimneys Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Four Chimneys Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Bennington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Could be better on customer care”
Reviewed October 15, 2007

My wife & I stayed here for a couple of nights in late September. Great location and beautiful property. Sadly the service was not so great... Arrived late by arrangement with Innkeepers(10:30 pm) having driven up from New York. Nobody at reception to greet us, just an envelope sellotaped to the front door containing our room key and a breakfast list which we were instructed to leave outside our door for collection. List was still there the next morning and we were obviously not expected at breakfast as much consternation from breakfast staff. Unlike all other US B&Bs breakfast choice was restricted in that you are expected to choose from a list which does not allow cereal and a hot dish. It has to be just one.. I ticked V8 as a drink for the second morning and was questioned as to why I had also helped myself to orange juice! The place appeared to be run by a slighty frazzled older lady, who I believe was the mother of one of the Innkeepers, neither of whom made an appearance. One small bar of soap and one shampoo in bathroom, together with minimum towels. Dinner food was great but served in an unspiring room, with staff clearing up and stacking chairs around us as we finished eating at 9:15pm. This Inn could be perfect but attitudes towards customer care and service need major improvement first... Will not stay here again.

  • Liked — Location & beauty of house
  • Disliked — could not care less attitude of owners!
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Roadfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    31
    11
    7
    3
See reviews for
31
133
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2007

We came across this inn by accident while traveling thru Bennington to see the fall foliage. What a lovely surprise! Our room was very tastefully decorated with a modern bathroom & very comfy bed. Fireplaces in the rooms make a cozy stay for everyone as well.
If you are a fan of french toast, the stuffed french toast for breakfast is beyond amazing! It was just delicous!!
We would definately stay here again.

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank NatalieEllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2007

We turned up on spec and were shown round 3 rooms, all very reasonably priced considering their size and setting. There was no pressure to choose any one of them. The staff/owners were very friendly and helpful and mentioned they had a restaurant but could supply menus for nearby restaurants. We chose to eat in and were glad we did as the food was excellent (as was the breakfast the next day). The hotel was the perfect, tranquil, comfortable stop-over and we wished we had time to stay longer.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wardsabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2007

We booked a graduation dinner celebration at the Inn's restaurant which is a lovely New England setting. The food and service were above average and we enjoyed it. With reservations hard to come by in all surrounding towns for that weekend, I was surprised to find many empty tables, and a much too quiet atmosphere. The Inn is outstanding in its setting and beauty.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank smlhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 17, 2007

Had a wonderful stay. The room was lovely and just as advertised. Had both breakfast and dinner at the restaurant and thought that both were excellent. As neither of us drive, the owners were kind enough to volunteer to give us a ride to another restaurant for dinner one night when the weather outside turned a bit questionable which we both felt went far beyond the call of duty. We look forward to returning again in the future.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sdoherty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2006

My daughter and I spent one night at the Four Chimneys Inn while on tour of potential colleges in the area. The proprietors were pleasant and helpful in making our room arrangement. Our room was clean, comfortable and quite large. (Bathrooms were very clean, always a hotel litmus test for me.) The beds slept well, good mattresses. My one complaint, I like plumpier pillows. Prior to dinner we enjoyed talking with several of the hotel guests in the bar area while waiting to be seated for dinner. A little colder with a fire in the fireplace would make it a neat place to hang for a while. The quality of the dinner served surprised me. I was unsure what a small Inn would provide. The salads were crisp, my steak was prepared as ordered, and desserts were excellent. Before heading to bed we filled out our breakfast menu. The blueberry pancake breakfast was quite good and a great way to get an early start on our tour.

I do wish I'd had more time to explore the country around the Inn. Depending on the college chosen, I guess I may get that chance. A great change from the usual chain hotel along the highway.

  • Liked — Rooms clean and comfortable, breakfast ready for me in the morning, love the area of historical interest around the Inn
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Chief_Illiniwek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Oregon Coast
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2006

Before moving to the West Coast, we lived in Maine, we have been driving by this Inn for years, finally, when we went back to the East Coast, the 4 of us booked 2 rooms for the foliage in Oct 2004, we were thrilled with everything, well, almost,
the rooms with the woodburning fireplace, the dinner downstairs and the great breakfast the next morning, especially the BEST
stuffed French Toast, wow!
The only negative was the owners, they were very stuffy and not very warm, especially on the phone, if it was not on my list to stay there, I would not have made the reservation.
So we are happy to hear that there is a new owner and we will definitely stay again anytime we visit New England, we love the Four Chimneys Inn, its one of those "Grand Dame" but not old and dusty. VERY NICE!

  • Liked — Beautiful location, beautiful Inn
  • Disliked — The Ex owners
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay a couple nights
  • Stayed October 2004, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3foodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bennington
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Bennington
Hampton Inn Bennington
#1 of 8 in Bennington
718 reviews
1.1 mi away
Knotty Pine Motel
Knotty Pine Motel
#5 of 8 in Bennington
184 reviews
20.9 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
620 reviews
0.6 mi away
Paradise Inn
Paradise Inn
#4 of 8 in Bennington
297 reviews
1.6 mi away
Safford Mills Inn and Cafe
Safford Mills Inn and Cafe
#2 of 9 in Bennington
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Chimneys Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Chimneys Inn

Property: Four Chimneys Inn
Address: 21 West Road, Bennington, VT 05201-2145
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Bennington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Bennington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Four Chimneys Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our premier bed and breakfast in Vermont, offering year-round lodging, is located on 11 magnificent acres in historic Old Bennington VT. Our eleven uniquely appointed rooms blend modern amenities with old world charm. Each room features a private bath, high-speed wireless internet, TV, phone, and A/C. Wake up each morning to a hearty breakfast served in our beautiful dining room. Relax and enjoy a drink in our cocktail lounge open exclusively for our guests! Four Chimneys offers a warm and friendly atmosphere making it perfect for elopements, rehearsal dinners, anniversaries, or a romantic getaway in Vermont. Whether you're relaxing at our grand property, walking to nearby attractions, or grabbing a drink at our bar Four Chimneys is sure to become your new favorite bed and breakfast in Vermont! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Four Chimneys Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Chimneys Hotel Bennington
4 Chimneys Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing