We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a little gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Popolo

Popolo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $35
Cuisines: Italian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Popolo serves Italian-inspired farm-to-table cuisine in a casual setting at the Windham Hotel in Bellows Falls. We work to create a varied, affordable menu using mostly locally-sourced ingredients and an exciting drink and wine list. We also promote a wide variety of events including concerts, movies, and parties. The menu of food and conversation is ever-changing as Chef John-Michael Maciejewski's untethered imagination presents dining specials almost every day and night.
Claremont, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
69 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“What a little gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

This is a wonderful little gem of a restaurant in quaint Bellows Falls, VT. The restaurant itself is in an historic building with lots of charm. Big farm tables, white tablecloths, comfy sofas to gather at in front of the fireplace and a lively little bar, all make a wonderful atmosphere. There is a very nice fixed generally Italian menu specializing in organic local produce, dairy, and meats. There is also always a large variety of scrumptious daily specials to choose from that are always intriguing and unique. My favorites are their fresh pea and ricotta ravioli, their noche pasta with spinach and walnuts, and their wonderful desserts. Servers are always extremely well versed in every menu item and hold themselves to a very high standard. Definitely one of the best restaurants to be found anywhere in southern VT & NH.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank zicheryzachery1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    25
    14
    10
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wedding celebration”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

All of the food was amazing! From appetizer to dessert! The service was great too! Our waitress even wrote us a little note to congratulate us on getting married the next day!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
174 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Above average Italian food, one of the best options in the area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Popolo is one of the best options for dining in the eastern Southern Vermont area. The food is Italian farm-to-table, meaning that things taste fresh. Some of the highlights included the carbonara, hanger steak with gnocchi, and Rhode Island calamari. Not everything was great, though - my pork tenderloin was pretty bland, and the bolognese was pretty average. In addition, the restaurant is quite loud because it's in an old building and there is no separation between the tables and the bar area.

Still, if you're in the area and want a nice place to have a sit-down meal, Popolo is a strong option.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank traveldoc42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
69 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent, off-the-beaten-path Italian fare”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

We visited Popolo a couple weekends ago while staying in Bellows Falls at Halladay’s Harvest Barn Bed and Breakfast (see separate review). Their web site states “Popolo serves Italian-inspired farm-to-table cuisine in a casual setting...We work to create a varied, affordable menu using mostly locally-sourced ingredients and an exciting drink and wine list,” and that’s an accurate description. Though we were en route to a concert and dressed for the occasion, you wouldn’t find yourself out of place in more casual attire. As to the menu — innovative, fresh, ample portions, and well-prepared would describe our selections. There’s something for everyone on the menu, from antipasti to entrees, including pizzas, meats and poultry, and vegetarian selections, too. It would be simple to choose several appetizers/small plates to make a meal, something we often do, as the menu provides many choices and options. Popolo is worth seeking out if you’re staying within driving distance of Bellows Falls.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank EloiseMac524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious dining in Vermont!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

We went for a family dinner the night before we took our daughter to camp. Unsure of what to expect, we were greeted by a chic, well light interior. Our server, Laura, was warm and well versed about the locally sourced food. Not only was everything we ate delicious, but it all came from within a five mile radius of the restaurant. The desserts were amazing, too! A gem.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Popolo also viewed

 

Been to Popolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing