We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and welcoming”
Review of Popolo

Popolo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $35
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Popolo serves Italian-inspired farm-to-table cuisine in a casual setting at the Windham Hotel in Bellows Falls. We work to create a varied, affordable menu using mostly locally-sourced ingredients and an exciting drink and wine list. We also promote a wide variety of events including concerts, movies, and parties. The menu of food and conversation is ever-changing as Chef John-Michael Maciejewski's untethered imagination presents dining specials almost every day and night.
Vermont
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Warm and welcoming”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Everything we have had is delicious, and the atmosphere is so great. Warm and glowing with beautiful exposed old brick and wood. Sit by the fire for cocktails, to peruse the menu, and spend time with friends. It's our favorite place to go when we go out with other couples. There's a great restored movie theater across the street (Bellows Falls Opera House) with the largest movie screen in VT, so dinner and a movie is a great option.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank VermontAvidtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    25
    14
    10
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlestown, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Imaginative Sunday Brunch”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

It all starts with the staff, who are outstandingly welcoming and professional. We have been there four times for Sunday brunch and have enjoyed every visit. The rustic Italian menu is imaginative: From the eggs baked with tomatoes and cheese (al forno), to the fantastic eggs benedict with prosciutto, to the ginger gelato, you won't be disappointed in the food or the service. We hear that the place gets very loud at lunchtime, but it hasn't been a problem for us since so far we've only been there for Sunday morning brunch.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NHeditors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
122 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great Find”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

What a delight to find this hopping, locavore-friendly restaurant tucked away in revitalized Bellows Falls, VT. The menu is extensive, and while everything we sampled, including a variety of antipasti, entrees and dessert, was very good, the simple marinara pizza was excellent - easily the best we've had anywhere outside Italy. Our experience overall was very smooth. Making a reservation (highly recommended, probably essential for weekends evenings based on what we saw) over the phone was smooth, we were greeted promptly and made to feel welcome upon arrival, and the service was very good. It wasn't completely even throughout the multi-course meal, but nothing inappropriate for the relaxed venue. We enjoyed the mix of people dining: young, old, families, friends. The only bummer was that the high ceilings and unadorned services made it quite loud in the restaurant. I'm not sure I'd sacrifice the charm of the current decor with drapes and the like, but it's not a place for intimate conversation. It's a bit more raucous and fun. This is a unique and much-needed spot for the area.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heather086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westmoreland, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food, fun atmosphere”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We have eaten here three times now and we have enjoyed each time. The food is fresh and locally sourced which we appreciate. The atmosphere is bright and unfussy. The service was very good. It would be nice to see more variation of the specials but the overall experience was very good.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AER345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alstead, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
95 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“new eatery in Bellows Falls”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

The atmosphere is modern and bright but much too loud. The bar area is not separate from the restaurant and even people with good hearing cannot carry on a conversation when the place is full of people. The food has high points and low points. the pizza was a big disappointment as the crust was soggy even though there were good ingredients. We will try it again though in hopes that things will improve.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank dfuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Popolo also viewed

 

Been to Popolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing