We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed with Our Room..Steep Prices for Poor Construction”
Review of Harvest Barn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Harvest Barn Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We traveled to Bellows Falls in October, a beautiful time of year there. We loved the little town as well as the little towns that surrounded it. We stayed at Halladay's Harvest Barn Inn and found the innkeepers Kathy and Phil to be great, friendly, helpful and accommodating.They do everything in their power to please their guests. Phil made his special orange stuffed French toast on our second day there by special request and we so enjoyed it, it was delicious! The only thing we could really criticize about the food service was the coffee or maybe we should say the lack of coffee. It seemed that the pot was always empty when we got to it and we had to use the Keurig and drink pod coffee. :-( Being coffee lovers, we were not too happy about this but took it in stride. We just bought ourselves a good cup of coffee at the little market in town when we headed out each day. We had envisioned staying in a beautiful old country inn with charming, beautifully decorated rooms but this was not the case at Hallaway's, at least not with our room. The inn itself is a beautiful old farmhouse with a lot of natural character. It has an incredible view of the CT River and the mountains and it has a big old front porch with rockers to enjoy the beautiful view. But, as sorry as I am to say this, we were very disappointed with our room which appeared to be an add-on to the original house. We took the "suite" on the back of the house (paying more and thinking we were getting the biggest nicest room in the inn) since it is portrayed that way on their website..a "suite". It even has a bridal gown strewn across the sofa in the photo. If I rented that room for my honeymoon, I'd be ready to kill someone! On the positive side, the room was quiet and private and pretty clean. It also had it's own deck overlooking the mountains and woods in the backyard although it was much too cool to use it when we were there, it also overlooked a small backyard pond. The room was on the second level of the house near the innkeepers quarters away from the other rooms in the house and was extremely quiet but the quality of the construction in the room was so poor, we were so very disappointed. This was NOT a charming room by any definition. Nothing could make up for the poor workmanship in the room and the lack of color on the walls. We truly felt that we could have done a lot better elsewhere. NO character! The sheetrock taper was obviously an amateur and some areas in the room were very poorly painted or not painted at all. The carpentry work also left something to be desired. Shoddy work. Who wants to lie in bed and look at a big ugly cracked tape line running down the ceiling over their head? We personally do not find that charming..that is neglect! Part of the bathroom had been added on and was a very odd lay out with a lot of wasted space, poor lighting, a shower curtain that needed to be changed out (soiled around the bottom) and very poor water pressure. It was also cold and had shoddy workmanship as well. The paper in the bathroom, both the Klenex and toilet tissue were so stiff and rough they felt a lot like sandpaper. They certainly do not pamper you! And..the toiletries that were offered were shared with past patrons, small half bottles of lotion, shampoo and conditioner left in a small basket for the next person to use. Ewwwwww! No thanks! Also, the skylight over the toilet was dirty and had debris and mildew growing in it. The original rooms in the house appeared to be better constructed and were more attractively painted judging from the couple of rooms we saw from the entry way. But, we did observe that one of the two rooms we saw appeared to have a curtain instead of a door on the bathroom door opening. I suppose this is assuming that people that are staying in a room together are married and do not want or need their privacy. Yikes! With that said, this is in no way the fault of the innkeepers who are NOT the owners of the inn, they were great, I can't say that enough. Kathy's afternoon cookies were yummy and Phil's suggestions for area attractions were both helpful as well as amusing at times. BUT...we would NOT go back to Hallaway's. We felt that we paid far too much for the quality of the room we stayed in and this most definitely took away from an otherwise enjoyable trip. The owner needs to address these issues. The inn has so much potential, so much untapped character, it could be absolutely beautiful with a little TLC and some better decorating choices. Somehow, Pottery Barn furniture just does not fit the character of the inn and does not do it justice. Sorry Kathy and Phil..I'm sure by now you have guessed who we are and like we said, this is no fault of yours..you were both lovely.

Room Tip: Avoid the "suite" on the back of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Exptraveler2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarvestBarnInn, Owner at Harvest Barn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Thank you for your suggestions. We value each guests' input as a way to continually improve our inn.
We are a 100 year old farmhouse, which has had many owners throughout the years. 90% of the inn has had major renovations in the last 3 years. Updating and continual renovations are always in progress in an old home. We will add your concerns to our to do list.
The inn is completely furnished with hand-picked antiques and guests love the updated yet vintage feel especially in the suite, our most popular room. We are sorry it was not to your taste. Our desire is that each guest have a perfect stay. We are so glad you enjoyed Phill's cooking, the hospitality at the inn and our beautiful area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 175 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2013

We passed through Bellows Falls on our summer vacation and we found this gem. It's located on a bluff overlooking the Connecticut River and is the embodiment of picturesque New England beauty. The innkeepers were sweet and attentive (also great cooks). The decor was wonderful, giving that quaint country feel that we were looking for when we escaped the city. Generally I am not a big fan of bed-and-breakfasts because I feel like I'm intruding on someone's home, but that didn't even cross my mind here. It was like visiting the Norman Rockwell country home that I always wanted to have.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarvestBarnInn, Innkeeper at Harvest Barn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Thank you so much! We are flattered that you enjoyed your B&B experience. It is always great to see our guests relax and unwind. Have a good winter and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Friendly innkeepers, great service, EXCELLENT breakfasts and evening snacks. Halliday's is a perfect spot to stay as you browse through Vermont. The innkeepers have a wonderful knowledge of what there is to see in the Bellows Falls area and surrounds. What more can you want? We highly recommend Halladay's.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Solvay-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarvestBarnInn, innkeeper at Harvest Barn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write. Once again, we have to say it is so easy to be nice when you have such wonderful guests! We are glad you enjoyed the breakfast as you know P loves to cook. We hope to see you again in your travels. P.S. I found the sweatshirt!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

My review is SO overdue as we visited back in May but here it is, finally.

I must start out to say that this was the most enjoyable stay I've ever had anywhere, whether it be a B&B or otherwise. I didn't want to leave.

I brought my mom to Bellows Falls as a surprise trip for her to see our family, visit her childhood neighborhood & home and as well to visit her mom's (& other family members) grave. This trip has long been on her bucket list and I at last was able to bring her. Needless to say, this was a very meaningful trip in & by itself. However, our stay at Halladay's Harvest Barn Inn really put our trip over the top.

The personal touch that we received there was awesome! The never ending supply of fruit water, coffee and our afternoon cookies, crackers & cheese. The way they genuinely listened and conversed with us. The daily room refreshers & water decanter refills. All of these things made our stay very enjoyable. Besides all of that, the ambiance of the Inn is fantastic. It is very warm and inviting, not to mention comfortable. You feel like it is home away from home. You feel as if you are visiting family or long time friends.

The location is great too, offering wonderful views of the Connecticut River.

We booked & stayed in the Orchard Suite which has it's own private deck overlooking the back yard & pond. This room has a nice comfortable queen size bed with a hide a bed couch. While it wasn't cold enough to use the gas stove, it does have this as an added perk. We LOVED our room! My cousin came over from Main to visit with us and he booked the River View room. This too was a spectacular room, even offering it's own private deck.

On top of everything else, every one of our meals were superb, plentiful, and oh so pretty. Every morning, I rolled away from the table completely stuffed and satisfied.

I would not hesitate for a single moment about booking another stay here. I know my mom feels the same way as she still keeps telling people how she felt like royalty with the way she was treated while staying here.

This trip is one that we both will cherish & remember for our lifetime and it is part due to the hospitality we received at the Harvest Barn. So thank you for that.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarvestBarnInn, Innkeeper at Harvest Barn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Wow, what a review! As much as you enjoyed being here, we enjoyed having you. As we waved good-bye, it was just like seeing family off. The picture of your mom on the porch reflecting on her childhood home is one we shall keep in our memories. Priceless. Thank you for being so kind. We will see you soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

This was a beautiful B & B. Unfortunately due to our flight being delayed we arrived later than we had planned and had an early start the next day. This resulted in us not getting to enjoy it as long as we had hoped.
We had a very nice porch and the view was very nice.
Kathy was wonderful and accommodating. She had cookies out for our arrival and since we had to leave so early in the morning. She had bread put out in the morning and offered to make a breakfast sandwich for us before we had to depart (which my husband really appreciated and enjoyed).
We look forward to another trip to VT and the opportunity to enjoy another night at this lovely Inn.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KandBsALT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarvestBarnInn, Innkeeper at Harvest Barn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We are hoping the rest of your anniversary trip went well. It was our pleasure to provide with an early breakfast. We never want anyone to leave on an empty tummy! Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed one night in late August while attending a reenactment across the river in nearby Charlestown, NH and our stay could not have been better. The innkeepers were warm and welcoming, the inn was beautifully remodeled, the food was fabulous, our room was extremely comfortable, the river view from the front porch was great, and the grounds in the back with fruit trees and a pond were serene and beautiful. We are definitely coming back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarvestBarnInn, Innkeeper at Harvest Barn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

We loved having you here!. It is not too often we have a British soldier and his wife from the Revolutionary War stay with us! It is one of many stories we will share with our other guests. Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We much appreciate it.

Enjoy the beautiful fall!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We had a lovely one night stay at the Inn while in VT for a wedding. The Inn is beautiful and the rooms are every bit as lovely as they appear on the Halladay website. The rooms were really well appointed, the beds comfortable and Kathy and Phil had clearly thought of everything to make their guests feel welcome.

As nice as the Inn is it would be worth staying the night just to taste Phil's wonderful orange baked French Toast -- it was the best French Toast we have ever tasted and two weeks later we are still talking about it.

Our only regret was that we couldn't stay longer!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anita427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarvestBarnInn, Innkeepers at Harvest Barn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

We are so happy you enjoyed yourselves here and of course, Phill is thrilled you loved his French toast! It was very kind of you to take the time out to write a review and we much appreciate it. We love to take care of folks! Hope to see you again soon. Enjoy our beautiful fall scenery!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellows Falls
8.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Springfield
17.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Keene Hotel
7.7 mi away
Grafton Inn
Grafton Inn
#1 of 1 in Grafton
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Keene Downtown
17.7 mi away
Chesterfield Inn
Chesterfield Inn
#1 of 2 in West Chesterfield
315 reviews
4 mi away
Bellows Walpole Inn
Bellows Walpole Inn
#2 of 4 in Walpole
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvest Barn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvest Barn Inn

Address: 16 Webb Ter, 4th House on the Left!, Bellows Falls, VT 05101-3157
Location: United States > Vermont > Bellows Falls
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bellows Falls
Price Range: $106 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Harvest Barn Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harvest Barn Inn is a charming, casual, affordable place to stay in Southern Vermont, close to New Hampshire and Massachusetts. We offer gorgeous views, clean, quiet, cozy rooms and outrageously good breakfasts, all for about the same price as a standard hotel.We offer cooking and crafting classes, room for families to re-connect, and romantic getaway packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Harvest Barn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing