We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True VT Experience & Hospitality!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Halladay's Harvest Barn Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“True VT Experience & Hospitality!”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

What a delightful place. Very clean, comfortable and surrounded by gorgeous hills and the Connecticut River. We were greeted by Dan who showed us around, told us a little bit about the property and made us feel very welcome. We stayed in the Orchard Suite, a cozy, quiet & very private room in the back of the building. The private porch is wonderful. Overlooking the back yard and pond, we decompressed from our drive by enjoying a bottle of wine accompanied by Vermont cheddar cheese and sausage. We then moved to the front of the property to sit and relax on the porch overlooking the river. We could feel the stress leave us as we gazed at the beautiful fall colors reflecting on the water. Fantastic!

After a great night’s sleep (what kind of mattress is it?!!) we were welcomed downstairs to a tasty breakfast - Spinach frittata with a hash brown crust, Canadian bacon, berries and fresh apple cider. Yes, it was as good and it sounds!

Dan & Heather do such a wonderful job of taking care of everyone. We will be returning and will make sure it’s for more than one night!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SalemLady07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarvestBarnInn, Manager at Halladay's Harvest Barn Inn, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for your kind words - it means a lot to us to know that you found the relaxing, restful atmosphere you were looking for! The mattress in the Orchard Suite is "Titan Plush Europa" from International Bedding and is similar to memory foam. It was a pleasure to meet you and we look forward to welcoming you again sometime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    19
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
37
85
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hamden, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We recently had a mini-family reunion for two nights mid-week at Harvest Barn Inn. Not quite peak fall color, but the views from the comfortable inn were stunning, accommodations met our needs -- one room had a tv and the other didn't, which was fine with both couples -- and breakfasts and hosts were delightful and food plentiful and well prepared. We also liked poking around in Bellows Falls, and learned about an unmarked hike across river in NH from waitress at Leslie's Tavern, who also staffs the Welcome Center.

Room Tip: Upstairs room in back has bathroom down the hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gigict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarvestBarnInn, Manager at Halladay's Harvest Barn Inn, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a thoughtful review - we're glad you enjoyed your stay and that you found time to explore Bellows Falls and nearby New Hampshire trails, too. We hope your travels will bring you this way again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Island, Nebraska
1 review
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Halladays has an absolutely view looking out onto the Connecticut river and into New Hampshire! Homemade cookies were an amazing snack right after supper. Dan and Heather were awesome! Had questions and didnt feel like a bother asking. The breakfast made by Dan and Heather was to die for! Job well done! Cannot wait to stay next year!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nik4595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarvestBarnInn, Manager at Halladay's Harvest Barn Inn, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Wow - thank you for your kind review - it was a pleasure to meet you and we're glad you enjoyed the cookies and the view. :) We love chatting with our guests and helping plan great dinners and fun adventures around Vermont. We look forward to welcoming you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We are into the second week of a two week vacation, touring most every state in New England. After a few nights in chain hotels, and an Inn supposedly rated #1 in another state, we were sooooo glad to arrive at Harvest Barn. Unpretentious and charming, the simple design and decor make HBI a place to relax. No 3 course, internationally contest winning breakfasts. Just good, plain, down to earth breakfast foods that are not standard fare.

The innkeepers, Dan and Heather, are a delight. We invaded the kitchen several times in our stay there. Carry on conversations, listen to their stories and experiences as breakfast on the stove wafts through the rooms and up the stairs. Good coffee and friends and a simply relaxing place to stay give Halladay's the #1 spot for us!

Room Tip: The Orchard Room has its own exit out the side of the house. You'll have to go through the kitch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rocky L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarvestBarnInn, Manager at Halladay's Harvest Barn Inn, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a thoughtful review - we had a wonderful time hosting your family and we're delighted you enjoyed your time at the Inn. We hope we'll get to welcome you again some time. Happy Autumn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Tn
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

What a great find, this B&B sitting on a hill, overlooking the river. What a sight! Walk a few yard to climb the mountain, stroll into town for lunch or dinner. The hosts are terrific, very helpful, and breakfast is delicious, different each day: frittata, Canadian bacon, baked apples, fresh fruit, fresh apple juice, cinnamon apple donuts, eggs poached in toasted bread cups, just imagine the variety! Our room overlooking the mountain was very quiet, the bed comfortable. The location is perfect, a short drive to Putney, Brattleboro, or across the border to Walpole.

Room Tip: We loved our Mountain View room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SweetTone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarvestBarnInn, Manager at Halladay's Harvest Barn Inn, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review - we love hearing from such seasoned travelers! We're delighted you enjoyed your breakfasts here and were able to explore the mountains, rivers, and villages in this area. It was a pleasure to meet you both and we hope your adventures will bring you back to Vermont someday soon. All the Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 419 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

A lovely experience, someone there is a designer as there is a visual delight around every corner. Artfully arranged flower arrangements, linens, Japanese prints, river views, vintage upholstery, mixed with hooked rugs and wide pine floors. What a treat to come down to a bowl full of fresh and warm apple cider donuts, and a gorgeous home-cooked breakfast served promptly at nine on a big harvest table with sweeping river views.

Rooms and beds are a trifle small; antique furniture and rooms can be like that.

Room Tip: All rooms ae quiet, front rooms have a sweeping river views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leafpeeper98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarvestBarnInn, Manager at Halladay's Harvest Barn Inn, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
What great photographs you took, and such a kind review! Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay - we're delighted you enjoyed the Inn's atmosphere and the food - we love this time of year and all Vermont has to offer! All our rooms have queen-size beds except our smallest room, Birds' Nest (which is a full), and as you mentioned, some of the rooms are rather "cozy" - this seems to be the way with turn-of-the-century houses. We're glad you were comfortable during your time here and hope you'll come visit us again sometime. All the Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

When you are greated in the kitchen, you can't help thinking you are in the right place. Young but energetic inn keepers Dan and Heather and evening hostes Joyce were there to make sure we had everything we needed. Warm cookies at night, Kurig coffee maker, great porch overlookIng the garden and Connecticut River, all nice. The rooms are simple, no flat screen here (except in the common room), but yet it emulates a calmer time 80 years ago, or a European inn style if you know what I mean. Really clean and comfortable enhanced by the caring staff and a truly memorable breakfast. Mattress was at first a bit soft for me yet I slept like a baby...must be those super soft pillow cases! Can it rain two of our three days and still have fun? Definitely yes.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joneye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarvestBarnInn, Manager at Halladay's Harvest Barn Inn, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Wow - thank you for your wonderful review! We love getting feedback from our guests, and it means a lot to know that your stay was the restful, fun experience we work to provide. It was a pleasure to welcome you, and we hope you'll be able to visit us again soon. All the Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellows Falls
7.7 mi away
Grafton Inn
Grafton Inn
#1 of 1 in Grafton
332 reviews
8.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Springfield
17.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Keene Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Chesterfield Inn
Chesterfield Inn
#1 of 2 in West Chesterfield
309 reviews
10.7 mi away
Inn Victoria
Inn Victoria
#1 of 9 in Chester
474 reviews
13.1 mi away
The Putney Inn
The Putney Inn
#2 of 6 in Putney
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halladay's Harvest Barn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halladay's Harvest Barn Inn

Property: Halladay's Harvest Barn Inn
Address: 16 Webb Ter, 4th House on the Left!, Bellows Falls, VT 05101-3157
Location: United States > Vermont > Bellows Falls
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bellows Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Halladay's Harvest Barn Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harvest Barn Inn is a charming, casual, affordable place to stay in Southern Vermont, close to New Hampshire and Massachusetts. We offer gorgeous views, clean, quiet, cozy rooms and outrageously good breakfasts, all for about the same price as a standard hotel.We offer cooking and crafting classes, room for families to re-connect, and romantic getaway packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Halladay's Harvest Barn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing