We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So beautiful!”
Review of Harvest Barn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Harvest Barn Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Halladays has an absolutely view looking out onto the Connecticut river and into New Hampshire! Homemade cookies were an amazing snack right after supper. Dan and Heather were awesome! Had questions and didnt feel like a bother asking. The breakfast made by Dan and Heather was to die for! Job well done! Cannot wait to stay next year!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nik4595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarvestBarnInn, Manager at Harvest Barn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Wow - thank you for your kind review - it was a pleasure to meet you and we're glad you enjoyed the cookies and the view. :) We love chatting with our guests and helping plan great dinners and fun adventures around Vermont. We look forward to welcoming you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (175)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 175 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2012

We are into the second week of a two week vacation, touring most every state in New England. After a few nights in chain hotels, and an Inn supposedly rated #1 in another state, we were sooooo glad to arrive at Harvest Barn. Unpretentious and charming, the simple design and decor make HBI a place to relax. No 3 course, internationally contest winning breakfasts. Just good, plain, down to earth breakfast foods that are not standard fare.

The innkeepers, Dan and Heather, are a delight. We invaded the kitchen several times in our stay there. Carry on conversations, listen to their stories and experiences as breakfast on the stove wafts through the rooms and up the stairs. Good coffee and friends and a simply relaxing place to stay give Halladay's the #1 spot for us!

Room Tip: The Orchard Room has its own exit out the side of the house. You'll have to go through the kitch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rocky L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarvestBarnInn, Manager at Harvest Barn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write such a thoughtful review - we had a wonderful time hosting your family and we're delighted you enjoyed your time at the Inn. We hope we'll get to welcome you again some time. Happy Autumn!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

What a great find, this B&B sitting on a hill, overlooking the river. What a sight! Walk a few yard to climb the mountain, stroll into town for lunch or dinner. The hosts are terrific, very helpful, and breakfast is delicious, different each day: frittata, Canadian bacon, baked apples, fresh fruit, fresh apple juice, cinnamon apple donuts, eggs poached in toasted bread cups, just imagine the variety! Our room overlooking the mountain was very quiet, the bed comfortable. The location is perfect, a short drive to Putney, Brattleboro, or across the border to Walpole.

Room Tip: We loved our Mountain View room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SweetTone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarvestBarnInn, Manager at Harvest Barn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review - we love hearing from such seasoned travelers! We're delighted you enjoyed your breakfasts here and were able to explore the mountains, rivers, and villages in this area. It was a pleasure to meet you both and we hope your adventures will bring you back to Vermont someday soon. All the Best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

A lovely experience, someone there is a designer as there is a visual delight around every corner. Artfully arranged flower arrangements, linens, Japanese prints, river views, vintage upholstery, mixed with hooked rugs and wide pine floors. What a treat to come down to a bowl full of fresh and warm apple cider donuts, and a gorgeous home-cooked breakfast served promptly at nine on a big harvest table with sweeping river views.

Rooms and beds are a trifle small; antique furniture and rooms can be like that.

Room Tip: All rooms ae quiet, front rooms have a sweeping river views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leafpeeper98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarvestBarnInn, Manager at Harvest Barn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

What great photographs you took, and such a kind review! Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay - we're delighted you enjoyed the Inn's atmosphere and the food - we love this time of year and all Vermont has to offer! All our rooms have queen-size beds except our smallest room, Birds' Nest (which is a full), and as you mentioned, some of the rooms are rather "cozy" - this seems to be the way with turn-of-the-century houses. We're glad you were comfortable during your time here and hope you'll come visit us again sometime. All the Best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

When you are greated in the kitchen, you can't help thinking you are in the right place. Young but energetic inn keepers Dan and Heather and evening hostes Joyce were there to make sure we had everything we needed. Warm cookies at night, Kurig coffee maker, great porch overlookIng the garden and Connecticut River, all nice. The rooms are simple, no flat screen here (except in the common room), but yet it emulates a calmer time 80 years ago, or a European inn style if you know what I mean. Really clean and comfortable enhanced by the caring staff and a truly memorable breakfast. Mattress was at first a bit soft for me yet I slept like a baby...must be those super soft pillow cases! Can it rain two of our three days and still have fun? Definitely yes.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joneye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarvestBarnInn, Manager at Harvest Barn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Wow - thank you for your wonderful review! We love getting feedback from our guests, and it means a lot to know that your stay was the restful, fun experience we work to provide. It was a pleasure to welcome you, and we hope you'll be able to visit us again soon. All the Best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I looked for a b&b in southern Vermont or New Hampshire and the unanimous "excellent" reviews helped me to decide.
I loved the fact that it had a lovely view of the Connecticut River. I stayed 2 rainy days and nights and
was glad that it had cozy common rooms and lovely guests to chat with.
Both Heather and Dan were friendly and accommodating to my requests for a slightly early and delicious vegetarian breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancysgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarvestBarnInn, Manager at Harvest Barn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

We're so glad you enjoyed your time here - we are always happy to accommodate our guests' requests. It was lovely to meet you - we did, indeed, have a fun group of guests that week!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We selected this Inn because of a large family gathering in the area. We hoped for comfort and quiet, and instead this remarkable Inn, with the superb hospitality offered by Dan and Heather, became a very special part of our trip. We stayed in the Orchard Suite, and enjoyed its sense of privacy, and the option of sitting on our own back porch. However, the chocolate chip cookies and front porch, with views of the river and hills, also proved enticing. The breakfasts were, quite simply, outstanding. Tipped off that Dan and Heather are both authors, we broke with our usual tradition of keeping to ourselves and had some wonderful conversations, all which went towards our sense that this is a place we'd like to visit again. Thank you, Dan and Heather, for your hospitality and for creating such a fine atmosphere for all your guests.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCB919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarvestBarnInn, Manager at Harvest Barn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review - we know you are both busy and we truly appreciate your gracious, thoughtful comments. We were honored and delighted to meet you and hope that your travels may bring you back to Vermont in the future. Happy Autumn!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellows Falls
8.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Springfield
17.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Keene
7.7 mi away
Grafton Inn
Grafton Inn
#1 of 1 in Grafton
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
The Putney Inn
The Putney Inn
#2 of 6 in Putney
38 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hartness House
Hartness House
#1 of 2 in Springfield
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvest Barn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvest Barn Inn

Address: 16 Webb Ter, 4th House on the Left!, Bellows Falls, VT 05101-3157
Location: United States > Vermont > Bellows Falls
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bellows Falls
Price Range: $106 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Harvest Barn Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harvest Barn Inn is a charming, casual, affordable place to stay in Southern Vermont, close to New Hampshire and Massachusetts. We offer gorgeous views, clean, quiet, cozy rooms and outrageously good breakfasts, all for about the same price as a standard hotel.We offer cooking and crafting classes, room for families to re-connect, and romantic getaway packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Harvest Barn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing