We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, fresh place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hollow Inn and Motel
Ranked #3 of 4 Barre B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 12, 2007

I've stayed in this hotel for 8 days both last summer and this summer while attending herb school. The hotel reminds me of childhood motel stays. The rooms in the newer section are spacious, clean, and include a frig and microwave. The bathroom fixtures have been updated.
For people that eat the standard American diet, the breakfast in the morning is more than sufficient. For those of us that don't, the frig and spaciousness of the room, allow us to bring our own food.
Of all the motel choices in the area, the Hollow is by far the best choice.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank 50statetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

135 - 140 of 140 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2007

Guest computer in lobby. Good continental breakfast. Energy saving lights in rooms which are very very spacious, as are the bathrooms. Pool area with jacuzzi is nice. Quiet area. Thin walls between rooms, though. Free daily paper, and TV guide. Thick pillows, nice bedding and window treatments. Most rooms have fabulous balconies. Clean!

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank tank_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2006

Had to travel from Florida to Barre recently for a family funeral. After reading the awful reviews of local hotels on TripAdvisor, I called my cousin who lives nearby and they recommended The Hollow Inn. I was a little worried since AAA listed it as a two-star (the same as the Days Inn which even the locals say to avoid!) but it's closer to a three-star than a two. That's why I rated it as above average. The gentleman who checked me in was very pleasant and directed me to the common computer available to guests when I mentioned that I hadn't brought my laptop. Each room has internet access if you need it. It was a pleasant surprise to find a small sink, microwave and small refrigerator in the tiled entryway. The room was spacious with nice furniture and was clean!! The bed was quite comfortable. The bathroom was average in size but was also very clean. I had a room inside the Inn which was good since I was traveling alone and was just steps away from the desk and morning coffee. They also have a two-story wing with additional rooms. The Inn sits up on a hill and all rooms have large picture windows and balconies or outside seating areas. Near the check-in desk, there is a windowed cafe area with tables and seating where you can enjoy a complimentary self-serve continental breakfast with pastries, bagels (and toaster), cereal, heated waffles, etc. and really good coffee! I wasn't surprised to see a "No Vacancy" sign when I left in the morning. When you exit I-89 for Barre, go down the hill to the stoplight at Rt. 14 and turn left. There will be a McDonald's and a grocery store/pharmacy on your right. The Hollow Inn is less than a 1/2 mile. If you're looking for a place to stay in Barre that's clean, affordable, and pleasant try the The Hollow Inn! Ask for directions to the Hilltop Restaurant if you'd like some really good home-style Italian food. It's not fancy but it's where the locals eat.

  • Stayed: October 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank Florigal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016
Thank Andrée-Anne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrehollow, Owner at Hollow Inn and Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cathyjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrehollow, Owner at Hollow Inn and Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Luis p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barre
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Barre/Montpelier
4.4 mi away
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
#1 of 4 in Montpelier
512 reviews
6.7 mi away
Capitol Plaza
Capitol Plaza
#2 of 4 in Montpelier
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Waterbury - Stowe
21.2 mi away
Commodores Inn
Commodores Inn
#15 of 24 in Stowe
453 reviews
4.3 mi away
Twin City Motel
Twin City Motel
#1 of 3 in Barre
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollow Inn and Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollow Inn and Motel

Address: 278 S Main St, Barre, VT 05641-4829
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Barre
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Barre
Price Range: $66 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hollow Inn and Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hollow Inn Barre Montpelier Vermonts best choice for reasonably priced comfortable and clean accommodations with friendly hospitable service We have all of the amenities to make your stay in central Vermont charming relaxing and enjoyable Each room comes furnished with a TV VCR microwave refrigerator coffee maker iron ironing board and hairdryer and we also offer a nice selection of videos for your movie viewing pleasure Enjoy a fast connection with our Wireless High Speed Internet Access from your room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hollow Inn and Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hollow Hotel Barre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing