We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hollow Inn and Motel
Ranked #3 of 4 Barre B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 2, 2009

Not a bad experience, but not a great one. This was a historic-ish property in a rural, one-horse Vermont town with gorgeous winter scenery.

PROS:

- HUGE room
- Clean
- Free, fast wireless
- Friendly staff
- Room had a kitchenette

CONS:

- Loud, noisy heater
- Bathroom could be in better upkeep, and was freezing, no matter how hot the room got
- Breakfast was almost inedible
- Not sure how to explain it, but there was a sort of creepy, X-files vibe to the place. Nothing bad happened. Maybe it's because we came at night. It was just a little...off.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Skiold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
There are newer reviews for Hollow Inn and Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 139 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2008

We were very glad to find the Hollow Inn and Motel in Barre late one evening. Even though the trees were all still green, many hotels were full because of the fall foliage season. We had tried several places before we finally checked at the Hollow Inn and Motel, and were pleasantly surprised by the friendly reception desk person and the room (which was fairly spacious, very clean, and had a small fridge). Even though the motel was quite full, judging by the number of cars, it was quiet, and we had a good night's sleep. The next morning, we enjoyed a very nice complimentary breakfast. The motel is very well maintained and has very well tended grounds and flowers.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank JJ503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2008

After reading the reviews on this site we opted to stay at Hollow Inn (There really isn’t a lot of places to stay in Northfield VT.) We were very wrong to assume judgment of other’s reviews! I feel sad to assume that others would really think this hotel was a great stay. Apparently people do not get out much. Let me begin my issues: Great confusion with the front desk about credit card usage when we decided to switch from original reservation card to another. Not only did they bill this card but the one we switched with as well. After trying to correct the issue they did it 3 more times with the same card that I never used! Finally we had to threaten with a Credit card Attorney to get involved, finally things were resolved; moving on: Coffee pot was not cleaned or emptied after the prior guests, rooms smelled of smoke and mildew, Continental Breakfast - Hahaha - we had to keep asking for things to make somewhat of a breakfast; cups, butter, more bread, batter for waffles, more coffee (it was 0700 in the am); the attitudes of the front desk was inappropriate / bothered by our & others requests for items that they ran out of, Soda vending machine did not work and no signs placed to show this, when brought up to the front desk they stated, "Oh yeah they haven't worked in awhile" - I told them the proper thing to do is to put a sign up! I would never recommend this to anyone. Stay at your own risk!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Tammy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2008

Not a good experienceat all at the Hollow Inn and Motel. We booked our stay well in advance of our trip based largely on the Hollow Inn website. Following is a partial list of our concerns.
Room was filled with a smoky, musty odor, even after opening the windows to try to let it air out. (We had requested a non-smoking room) Management would not change our room as they said there was a chuch group coming in the next day. Several of the towels provided to us were soiled. The carpet was not vacuumed in three days. Light bulbs were burned out and lamp shades torn. Toilet was plugged after housekeeping had supposedly cleaned the room. No plunger available. The blankets were riddled with either burn holes or moth holes, Several large burn holes in the bed spread. No ice available. No internet available. Room air conditioner extremely loud, made for difficult sleep unless you turned it off. Overall maintenance and cleanliness of the property was terrible. We cut short our stay after we were able to find another clean hotel nearby.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Frequenttraveler012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2007

This is an older motel,but is very well maintained,it is very clean, quite cute,the furnishing are very good,the beds are also very comfy.We would go back again for sure!

Stayed: August 2007
3  Thank bac74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2007

I've stayed in this hotel for 8 days both last summer and this summer while attending herb school. The hotel reminds me of childhood motel stays. The rooms in the newer section are spacious, clean, and include a frig and microwave. The bathroom fixtures have been updated.
For people that eat the standard American diet, the breakfast in the morning is more than sufficient. For those of us that don't, the frig and spaciousness of the room, allow us to bring our own food.
Of all the motel choices in the area, the Hollow is by far the best choice.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank 50statetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2007

Guest computer in lobby. Good continental breakfast. Energy saving lights in rooms which are very very spacious, as are the bathrooms. Pool area with jacuzzi is nice. Quiet area. Thin walls between rooms, though. Free daily paper, and TV guide. Thick pillows, nice bedding and window treatments. Most rooms have fabulous balconies. Clean!

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank tank_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barre
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Barre/Montpelier
4.3 mi away
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
#1 of 4 in Montpelier
499 reviews
6.7 mi away
Capitol Plaza
Capitol Plaza
#2 of 4 in Montpelier
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Waterbury - Stowe
4.3 mi away
Twin City Motel
Twin City Motel
#1 of 3 in Barre
106 reviews
1.0 mi away
Maplecroft Bed And Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollow Inn and Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollow Inn and Motel

Address: 278 S Main St, Barre, VT 05641-4829
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Barre
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Barre
Price Range: $69 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hollow Inn and Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hollow Inn Barre Montpelier Vermonts best choice for reasonably priced comfortable and clean accommodations with friendly hospitable service We have all of the amenities to make your stay in central Vermont charming relaxing and enjoyable Each room comes furnished with a TV VCR microwave refrigerator coffee maker iron ironing board and hairdryer and we also offer a nice selection of videos for your movie viewing pleasure Enjoy a fast connection with our Wireless High Speed Internet Access from your room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hollow Inn and Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hollow Hotel Barre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing