We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B in Barre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Maplecroft Bed And Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Barre B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 17, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed two nights at the Maplecroft a few weeks. We stayed in the Tower Room, which fulfilled a childhood dream of staying in the tower of a Victorian house. The bed was probably the most comfy hotel bed I've ever slept in - perfect softness, great linens, and I may have peeked at the pillows to figure out what brand they were. Breakfast is served family-style and it was delicious. Dan and Yasunari are fantastic hosts. Thanks so much!

Room Tip: The Tower Room is on the 2nd floor of the main house and has a queen bed, two desks, and closet. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 106 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

My husband and I recently had the pleasure of staying at this fine establishment in Barre Vermont for two days/nights while enjoying the fall color. . The owners were most gracious and provided everything we needed for a wonderful experience. The breakfasts were fabulous. The room was comfortable with luscious fragrant soaps and lotions and luxurious bath towels. Maps were available but the owners were willing to share points of interest and driving directions. I can't wait to repeat the experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Currpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We chose this inn for its location as we drove through New Hampshire and Vermont. We discovered that it was one of the best rooms we would find on our ten day road trip. The inn has been restored beautifully. We stayed in the Mary Mackie room. Those pillows on the bed were divine. The bathroom was very spacious and filled with any amenity you would need. We discovered the Vermont oatmeal and lavender soap - ended up buying some to take home. The room was immaculate. At night, from about 7:00 to 9:00, Yasunari played the piano downstairs. In the morning, we joined the other guests for a delightful breakfast in the dining room before heading out again. We were not there long, but I would definitely go back if I had the chance.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Never2MuchTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

My wife and I stayed here one night on our way to NH. The breakfast in the morning was scrumptious and tea on the front porch afterwards made it a great way to start a rainy day.
Lovely location that lent itself to walking into town for dinner.

Sam Hendricks, author Fantasy Football Tips

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam_Hendricks_author
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

My friend and I were looking for a cozy B&B to stay at for the night while we explored Northern Vermont over the course of two days. Maplecroft was just what we had hoped for. From the moment you check in, Dan is a welcoming host, and Barney the dog is excited to meet you. We stayed in the George Mackie room, and it was perfect, the bed was King and very comfortable after a long day of driving, and we found out our bathroom had once been the walk-in closet! I couldn't tell, it was a perfect fit. You can tell this B&B is maintained with love from its owners. In the morning we were treated to Yasunari's amazing breakfast, lemon riccotta pancakes, roasted veggies, Vermont pork sausage, and fruit salad. Along with delightful conversation with the other guests and warming coffee, this was probably the best breakfast I've had in a while. Maplecroft was a perfect place to call home for the night, and I plan on going back!

Room Tip: Rooms that face the street do have a bit of street noise during the night, but fans and AC are provi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmilyTravels81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

The Maplecroft B&B is a lovely Victorian house with sweeping front porch. The owners, Dan and Yasunari, have thought through everything and made it all just right. Included is an excellent breakfast at a shared table (I found most congenial co-guests). The B&B is located a short walk from the main intersection of Barre. The downtown has undergone a vigorous revitalization, and it was a pleasure to shop at thriving local businesses.

Barrie is Granite City, and granite sculptures adorn the handsome buildings and parks. Within driving distance is the Granite Museum and Rock of Ages Visitors Center, with fascinating tours of the working quarry from the latter.

Room Tip: Rooms all seem very good - I wanted to try the turret room, but it was taken.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterBrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Being from Barre originally, I was pleasantly surprise on the location and the beauty of this home. I have found my place to stay when i return to Barre to visit family. There is a lot of history for me in this location, as i went to high school next door and i was born across the street! I had past this house may times going to school, never thought i being sleeping there. Very happy that it has happen!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RRV65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barre
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn Barre/Montpelier
4.0 mi away
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
Comfort Inn at Maplewood
#1 of 4 in Montpelier
505 reviews
6.0 mi away
Capitol Plaza
Capitol Plaza
#2 of 4 in Montpelier
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Firehouse Inn
Firehouse Inn
#2 of 4 in Barre
43 reviews
5.6 mi away
Betsy's Bed and Breakfast
Betsy's Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 4 in Montpelier
107 reviews
3.7 mi away
Twin City Motel
Twin City Motel
#1 of 3 in Barre
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maplecroft Bed And Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maplecroft Bed And Breakfast

Address: 70 Washington St, Barre, VT 05641-4209
Location: United States > Vermont > Barre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Barre
Price Range: $135 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Maplecroft Bed And Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Maplecroft Bed And Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing