We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional in Every Way!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maple Leaf Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Maple Leaf Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Barnard B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Castle Shannon, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Exceptional in Every Way!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2009

My husband and I recently stayed at the Maple Leaf Inn while vacationing in Vermont.
From the first day we arrived and Nancy greeted us with huge umbrellas because it was pouring outside, to when we left, our stay was exceptional.
The inn is located in a quiet wooded area that is just beautiful, yet it is not far from Woodstock and other area attractions. We stayed in the Sweet Dreams room - which was immaculate - and the bathroom was the nicest and roomiest bathroom we have ever encountered in our 10 years of staying at B&B's.
Nancy's breakfasts were wonderful, consisting of 2-3 courses. You certainly don't go away hungry! It was very calming sitting at the breakfast table looking out onto the lawn and garden and watching the hummingbirds that were outside our window.
Nancy and Mike are wonderful hosts, and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We would most definitely go back!! Next time though, we would spend more time sitting on the front porch to enjoy the beautiful scenery of the property.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveTravelling52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    16
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
40
330
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ft Lauderdale FL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2009

We just left the Maple Leaf Inn and want to return already. Nancy and Mike are the best hosts we have ever experienced - and we have traveled quite a bit. We were given wine upon our arrival and supplied with any of our requests. Mike made all of our dinner reservations for us while Nancy prepared the most fabulous breakfasts - crepes, fresh out of the oven ciabatta bread, roasted pineapple with sorbet, just this morning's breakfast along with a baked egg with vegetables. The beds have the loveliest of linen and comforters; we slept solidly, especially since the inn is set back from the highway. We will absolutely be back - there is no other place for us to stay in Vermont after experiencing the Maple Leaf Inn.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Laurel, NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2009

Hosts were very friendly and helpful. Room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was wonderful and served at a convenient time. Setting is wooded and rural. If we travel that way again, we will stay there.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PSUT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2009

We recently experienced a fabulous 3-day winter stay at the Maple Leaf Inn, which is located in a magical part of Vermont. The Inn is beautiful and impeccably clean, and the hosts Mike and Nancy immediately became two of our most enjoyable friends. There were lots of fun touches and treats. Nancy's cooking is out of this world, and she was more than happy to accommodate any special dietary needs such as gluten or lactose-free recipes. Our room had a fireplace, bathrobes, fine crisp linens on the big comfy bed, a heated bathroom floor, jacuzzi tub, and much more. The breakfast dining room is lovely with beautiful place settings, and each table has its own perfect spot in the room with window views of the scenery outside. We loved the area….there is so much to do! We visited the towns of Woodstock, Quechee, and Hanover (home of Dartmouth College), with their art galleries, general stores, covered bridges, historic buildings, rivers and gorges, local crafts and industries (such as cheese, maple syrup, pewter, hand-blown glass, etc.) and some fantastic restaurants and cafes. We tried and fell in love with snow-shoeing on the trail right behind the Inn, which was a highlight; also there is ice-skating, and there are many more winter and summer activities. We hope to return to the Maple Leaf Inn as often as we can

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SB1Seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2009

This was our second stay at the Maple Leaf Inn. Mike and Nancy are the hosts and provide warm, friendly and responsive service. The room was spacious, clean, nicely decorated and included a fireplace that was pre-staged to make operation easy. After yummy scones for breakfast, we toured a number of local sights recommended by Mike and Nancy - the Sugarbush Farm in Woodstock where they were making maple syrup and the Simon Pearce glass store in Quechee where we enjoyed a great lunch.

Great hosts, a romantic, quiet setting, warm, inviting rooms, I heartily recommend the Maple Leaf Inn.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarylandHal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2009

Mike & Nancy were excellent hosts -- adding all the small touches for one of our best B&B stays!! Delicious, filling breakfasts each morning along with yummy cookies and spiced cider in the afternoons. A well-stocked library with interesting current books as well as classics. Service was great and we enjoyed spending the time chatting with our hosts. The room was cozy, clean, and comfortable. In addition to suggestions on fun activities in the nearby beautiful VT countryside, we also received discounts to local activities/stores. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mindgame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester County, NY
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2008

This is the place if you want to get away and reconnect with your beloved .... Nancy and Mike make it easy to concentrate on each other, because they take care of every detail. All you have to do is show up and enjoy yourselves! We've come for a stay three years in a row, and it just keeps getting better. The Inn is beautiful, the rooms inviting and comfortable, the breakfasts are varied and delicious, the service is fantastic. Mike and Nancy are friendly and helpful -- it's a delight to spend time chatting with them, and they always have a treat for you! Look no further -- the Maple Leaf Inn is the perfect getaway.

  • Liked — It was the total package -- everything was superb
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mizkane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnard
8.6 mi away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#2 of 6 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
11.7 mi away
Kedron Valley Inn
Kedron Valley Inn
#5 of 6 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
8.7 mi away
Sleep Woodstock Motel
Sleep Woodstock Motel
#3 of 6 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Woodstock Inn and Resort
8.4 mi away
Jackson House Inn
Jackson House Inn
#1 of 16 in Woodstock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
8.6 mi away
The Village Inn of Woodstock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maple Leaf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maple Leaf Inn

Property: Maple Leaf Inn
Address: 5890 VT Rte 12, Barnard, VT 05031
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Barnard
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Barnard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maple Leaf Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maple Leaf Inn is a 7-room Bed and Breakfast. We are AAA 4-Diamond and a Select Registry property located in central Vermont near Silver Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Maple Leaf Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maple Leaf Inn Vermont/Barnard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing