We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Vermont Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Maple Leaf Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maple Leaf Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Barnard B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fabulous Vermont Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

We cannot praise the Maple leaf Inn highly enough. This was a special holiday to celebrate our Ruby Anniversary and our stay here was the highlight of our 3 week tour of New England. We were thoroughly spoiled by Mike and Nancy who are the perfect hosts making all their guests feel special. Our room was beautifully decorated, clean and with a very comfortable bed, with reclining chairs to relax in by the log fire and a spacious bathroom with underfloor heating. The delicious gourmet breakfasts were thoughtfully prepared by Nancy and were not only tasty but well balanced and nutirious. Mike and Nancy were always on hand to welcome us back after a day out with tea and cakes or wine and cheese and to make dinner reservations for us if required. The location is perfect for exploring Vermont and quieter than staying in the busy tourist hotspots such as Woodstock or Stowe. We would definitely include a stay here again if we were to return to New England and would highly recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: We stayed in Summer Garden which was on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LmKSussex_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    16
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
41
330
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South East England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Driving up towards the inn at dusk, candle light in every window, surrounded by autumn colours - our first view of The Maple Leaf Inn was just the beginning. Nancy and Mike met us at the door, Mike helped carry our bags to our beautiful room. I don't think we've ever experienced such a warm welcome on holiday. The room had every comfort and facility - beautiful bed with wonderful, soft sheets, comfy chairs to recline in, fabulous bathroom with underfloor heating, lovely toiletries - the room was so good we didn't want to leave it to go exploring. Delicious breakfasts were made even more special by sitting and chatting with other guests - we met some lovely people. Nancy and Mike are so attentive but not overpowering.

This was our first experience of American innkeeping and wow, what an experience. Nowhere else on the trip came close to The Maple Leaf Inn - it is definitely on our list to return to when we return to the States. Thanks Nancy and Mike!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen5551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

We felt completely spoiled at the Maple Leaf. We could not have asked for anything more. Our room was beautiful - a wonderfully comfortable bed with absolutely the most luxurious sheets I've ever slept in. The breakfasts were outstanding and the added afternoon treats (cookies, wine or beer, cheese & crackers) were wonderful. Mike & Nancy were great hosts - always greeting us as we came and went. They were always checking on what we needed and that we knew where we were going. A wonderful place to stay - all future vacations will be compared to the Maple Leaf standard. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MFC778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

This was our first visit to Vermont. Mike and Nancy are warm, welcoming hosts that have paid so much attention to detail to make your stay the best. Mike helped carry our bags and walked us to our beautiful room. Beds were turned down with chocolates left at the bedsides. Radiant floor heating in the bathroom. Coffee, tea, or a glass of wine? Our hosts would be happy to offer...They also have a small fridge with self serve beverages for guests that are complimentary. Nancy made a lovely breakfast and Mike gave us many recommendations for dinner. We only stayed one night between our travels, but if we ever had reason to be back we would and would definitely stay longer!! They have truly thought of everything at this place. A true GEM! Thanks!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CG1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

I don't even know where to begin! We stayed there last year and we have the BEST memories ever. First Nancy is an amazing Baker!!! :-) Mike and Nacy are so happy to give you recommendations for anything you are up to! My husband one morning got up and borrowed one of the bikes they have to lend. They are so friendly the rooms are so cozy . We met some wonderful new firends

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Il. USA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

The best experience we have had staying at a B&B . Nancy and Mike are truly the ultimate hosts. Lovely room, great breakfasts and advice on restaurants and So incredibly kind of Nancy to lend me her golf clubs. Loved our stay and hope to return.








Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chicagobil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

As soon as you turn into the long tree lined drive to the Maple Leaf Inn you know you are somewhere special. All the windows have small candle lights in them welcoming you in and as you step across the threshold, you are greeted by Mike and Nancy, your fabulous hosts. I could tell you so much about the special extra touches that they bring to your stay - home cooked breakfasts, fresh flowers, bed turndown and so much more - but it will spoil it for you. All I can say that my husband has promised me a weeks stay at the Maple Leaf in the future and I intend to hold him to it. There is a recliner chair, real fire and a splendid glass of Pinot with my name on it waiting for my return.

If you are looking for a little bit of home with added luxury and thoughtful treats, then the Maple Leaf Inn is just for you! Mike and Nancy have put so much thought into this little gem it's too good to miss. But remember the Spring Hollow room is mine!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnard
8.6 mi away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#3 of 6 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
11.8 mi away
Kedron Valley Inn
Kedron Valley Inn
#5 of 6 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
8.8 mi away
Sleep Woodstock Motel
Sleep Woodstock Motel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Jackson House Inn
Jackson House Inn
#1 of 16 in Woodstock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
1.3 mi away
Twin Farms
Twin Farms
#2 of 4 in Barnard
5.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
8.6 mi away
The Village Inn of Woodstock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maple Leaf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maple Leaf Inn

Property: Maple Leaf Inn
Address: 5890 VT Rte 12, Barnard, VT 05031
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Barnard
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Barnard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maple Leaf Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maple Leaf Inn is a 7-room Bed and Breakfast. We are AAA 4-Diamond and a Select Registry property located in central Vermont near Silver Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maple Leaf Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maple Leaf Inn Vermont/Barnard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing