We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best B & B ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Maple Leaf Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maple Leaf Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Barnard B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best B & B ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

I don't even know where to begin! We stayed there last year and we have the BEST memories ever. First Nancy is an amazing Baker!!! :-) Mike and Nacy are so happy to give you recommendations for anything you are up to! My husband one morning got up and borrowed one of the bikes they have to lend. They are so friendly the rooms are so cozy . We met some wonderful new firends

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    16
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
41
330
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Il. USA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

The best experience we have had staying at a B&B . Nancy and Mike are truly the ultimate hosts. Lovely room, great breakfasts and advice on restaurants and So incredibly kind of Nancy to lend me her golf clubs. Loved our stay and hope to return.








Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chicagobil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

As soon as you turn into the long tree lined drive to the Maple Leaf Inn you know you are somewhere special. All the windows have small candle lights in them welcoming you in and as you step across the threshold, you are greeted by Mike and Nancy, your fabulous hosts. I could tell you so much about the special extra touches that they bring to your stay - home cooked breakfasts, fresh flowers, bed turndown and so much more - but it will spoil it for you. All I can say that my husband has promised me a weeks stay at the Maple Leaf in the future and I intend to hold him to it. There is a recliner chair, real fire and a splendid glass of Pinot with my name on it waiting for my return.

If you are looking for a little bit of home with added luxury and thoughtful treats, then the Maple Leaf Inn is just for you! Mike and Nancy have put so much thought into this little gem it's too good to miss. But remember the Spring Hollow room is mine!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

The incredible breakfasts, treats and atmosphere of the inn were wonderful. Nancy and Mike gave us the best local advice for restuarants and sightseeing. The room was comfortable and inviting. We will be back.

Room Tip: Make sure to call ahead several months in order to reserve a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oyvey65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
100 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Maple Leaf last week. The moment you turn off the road up the beautiful driveway and see the grounds you know you are somewhere special. The gardens are well manicured, the setting of the forest around you and the gorgeous deck to sit on and have a morning or afternoon cuppa very perfect. When we stepped into the Inn we were welcomed by Nancy and Mike, truly lovely,friendly and inviting people.
This Inn is one of the nicest I have ever stayed in and I'm usually hard to please, after being a travel agent for 15 years. The Inn was meticulously clean and is impeccably presented, decor is gorgeous and homely and the rooms amazing. Even though we were on the top floor and had several bags, Mike assisted us up the stairs.
The room was spacious with everything you need from two beautiful large arm chairs, to luggage holders, TV, cable, windows that open and the spacious bathroom. The bath was large and extra little thoughtful gifts like a wattle bottle, bottled water, sewing kits, bath salts and complimentary soft drinks in the fridge to take as you please. Fresh cookies are baked for you each afternoon and coffee and tea available anytime.
The sheets on the bed were beautiful, along with the extremely comfortable bed.
Now the breakfast! The dining room was very sweet with lovely views outside and Nancy who is cooking away out the back. We had fresh fruit and blueberry pancakes (best pancakes I have ever had and all you can eat), fresh juice, yogurt and it was perfect.
Thank you Nancy and Mike if we are ever in this part of the world again we will defiantly visit and stay longer.
What an experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katalinbrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quinnesec, Michigan
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Thank you, Nancy and Mike. Your hospitality, treats, breakfasts, and accommodations are flawless. Sitting on your porch and listening to the quietness of the universe feels good. And the Sweet Dreams room with its abundance of windows and extra large bathroom is a delight.

Travelers visitng the Vermont law School or Silver Lake should especially consider the close proximity of this inn.

Susan and Tom, Cheeseheads

Room Tip: Sweet Dreams has an abundance of windows and a very large bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicopee, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

We arrived to be greeted on the walk up to the inn by Nancy, who owns the Maple Leaf with her husband, Mike. While this is a relatively newly-built home (1994), once inside it has the gracious ambience of an older inn. Our room was spacious and very comfortable, with two wonderful recliner chairs and a large bathroom. Nancy informed us that they offered their guests wine or beer in the late afternoon, so we grabbed our books and headed for the porch. It was a bit cool so along with our glasses of wine came Nancy with two afghans that she warmed in the dryer! That was the start of our wonderful experience at the Maple Leaf. Breakfasts were outstanding, hearty but healthy breakfasts with gourmet presentations. We will definitely return as this is one of the finest inns in New England.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnard
8.6 mi away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#3 of 6 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
11.8 mi away
Kedron Valley Inn
Kedron Valley Inn
#5 of 6 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
8.8 mi away
Sleep Woodstock Motel
Sleep Woodstock Motel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Jackson House Inn
Jackson House Inn
#1 of 16 in Woodstock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
1.3 mi away
Twin Farms
Twin Farms
#2 of 4 in Barnard
5.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
8.6 mi away
The Village Inn of Woodstock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maple Leaf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maple Leaf Inn

Property: Maple Leaf Inn
Address: 5890 VT Rte 12, Barnard, VT 05031
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Barnard
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Barnard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maple Leaf Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maple Leaf Inn is a 7-room Bed and Breakfast. We are AAA 4-Diamond and a Select Registry property located in central Vermont near Silver Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maple Leaf Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maple Leaf Inn Vermont/Barnard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing