We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kudos to the Innkeepers!”
Review of Maple Leaf Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maple Leaf Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Barnard B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 9, 2008

This 10 room inn, a 15 minute drive from Woodstock, was a delight, thanks to the hospitality of Nancy and Mike. Although we made a reservation by phone for a particular room, Mike invited us to take a peek at any of the unreserved rooms after we arrived. He let us choose an alternate room (we didn't need a whirlpool tub after all) and we were delighted with "Summer Retreat" which was $20/night less expensive. Cookies and lemonade were on hand each afternoon, turndown service and chocolates each evening and delicious breakfasts both mornings. Nancy is a marvelous cook and when we exclaimed about the homemade granola she gave us a plastic bag of it as we were saying goodbye. We ate at Max's Tavern which was next door to the inn the first night and at The Prince & the Pauper the next night. Both meals were very good. Nancy and Mike work very hard at what they do and I hope future guests will be as pleased as we were.
Kitty & Bob, California

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank kitkinglg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (448)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

431 - 437 of 448 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2008

My husband and I were looking for a getaway from basketball season (my husbands a coach), and just time together. The Maple Leaf inn was absolutely beautiful, clean and wonderful. Mike and Nancy went above and beyond. The breakfast was the best breakfast we had ever had at a B&B, and we are picky about the quality of our food. The rooms were perfect in every way. We were able to look at all of them because we were the first ones to arrive. We cannot wait come back next year and hope this time to get a room with a beautiful fireplace. The location was great, near woodstock about 10 minutes away. If you are into snowshoeing they have trails in the back of the house. We loved everything about the Maple Leaf inn and could not say enough about it.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Loralie30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2007

They say when one sense is deprived, another gets enhanced. At the Maple Leaf Inn, sounds of silence permeate the hall (due to the inn's location far off a not to busy road and the fact that the inn, although made to look like a 19th cenutry farmhouse, was actually constructed in 1994) and visions of quaint country retreats, smells of fresh baked scones and stuffed french toast and the feel of heated bathroom tiles all put this inn in a league all of it's own. Some would quibble at the cost of perfection and remark that somehow character is lost. But if you consider nightly personalized notes, perfect ready to light real wood fireplaces, Butter in the shape of maple leafs, and hosts ready to make their guests most every whim a reality all a problem, then this is the wrong place. It is certainly a refined experience without being exuberant. There is no rarefied air...only peace and quiet. This is not a Type "A" vacation...enjoy the inn and the surrounding countryside where life truly moves in the slower lane.
Also, one more note: We came from NY and arrived after Mdinight to a smiling and gracious Mike. With advanced warning, they were fully prepared for our late arrival.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelethan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2006

We've just returned from our leaf peeping visit to New Hampshire, Vermont and the Berkshires in Western Massachusetts. While all of our stops were excellent, the Maple Leaf Inn was certainly the one that left us with the warmest feeling - Janet and Gary are truly wonderful innkeepers. One would think you are their only guest and this is their first experience, not having done this for the past 12 years. I can't imagine how they keep everything so fresh and warm. Great place - even the bathroom floor is HEATED! How good is that!! We will definitely return when we are in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank itchin2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2006

A marvelous, relaxing 3 days at the best inn we've ever stayed in. The hosts could not be more accomodating and every little detail was taken care of - snacks on arrival, bed turndown, fireplace ready (we had a cold spell), heated bathroom floors, wonderful 3 course breakfast accomodated to my husband's restricted diet, and beautifully furnished and decorated with lots of personal touches. The inn is set back from the road and you don't hear any street noise. They recommended and made reservations for us for dinner which was also great. We can't wait to go back again and would highly recommend the inn to anyone who is looking to enjoy a B&B.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diane&steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
San Diego
210
Reviewed November 26, 2005

While travelling througout New England this summer by car, my wife and I tried to stay at the Maple Leaf in August. We called to make reservations that day we wanted to stay because we never new how far we were going to get on any given day. I had previously reviewed the inn on their website and was quite impressed.

When I called, I was told check-in was from 3-6pm. I indicated it would be closer to six by the time we would arrive. Unfortunately, our travels did not allow us to make it to the inn by 6:00, so we called. We estimated an arrival of 8:30-9:00pm. Thats when we were told not to bother coming because that would be too late for the innkeepers. Worse, the innkeepers were upset with us for even requesting to show up at 8:30 or 9:00 at night. A true innkeeper does not turn guests away. You can imagine how bad I felt for my wife given the descriptions I had given her of the Inn. She was truly looking forward to our stay, even if just for a night, as we had never stayed in a place like this before.

Given that the innkeepers run an inn with many rooms, I find it absolutely ridiculous that they would expect their guests to adhere to such a rigid check in policy. Further, nowhere on their website do they say anything about not wanting "late arrivals," nor did they say anything about turning us away if we could not make it their by a certain time period. In summary, be forwarned if you want to stay here.

As it turned out, it ended up being a blessing in disguise as we found the Grist Mill House in South Woodstock, Vt. Please see the reviews for this fine bed and breakfast.

Stayed: August 2005
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mapleleafinn, Qwner/Innkeeper at Maple Leaf Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2006

Regrettably, we cannot make everyone happy, no matter how hard we try. The guest who wrote the "Not so fast..." review did not get a chance to experience our hospitality or enjoy our facility. We try to make it clear to those who make a reservation that we have a specific check-in time and make sure that they understand that condition before accepting/confirming the reservation.

Our inn is just not suitable for people whose travel plans require that they arrive late at night. We are a small "Mom & Pop" operation and do not have a night clerk or staff to greet late comers. The check in person is also the one who gets up at 4:45 AM to start breakfast so a late arrival is just not practical for a place like ours. When guests need a place that can accommodate a late arrival, we recommend one of our local motels or larger hotels that do have a night clerk.

As I recall, we made it clear to the "Not so fast..." reviewer that we expected them between our normal check in times and that was not a problem at the time of the reservation. Later, on the day of their arrival when they called at 8:30 PM to say that they were not even in the area yet and were stopping for dinner before they continued their journey, it would have been impossible for them to arrive before 11:00 - 12:00 midnight.

We are a very small homelike property and the noise of having someone check in that late is disruptive to all of the other guests who have already gone to bed expecting to enjoy a quiet evening. We realize that we cannot be all things to all people so we try to be the best at what we can do and let those guests go on to other places where a late arrival may be accommodated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2005

Gary and Janet served up a little slice of Heaven at the Maple Leaf Inn (located in Barnard, VT about 9 miles from Woodstock). The rooms are large, very well appointed and immaculate. The 16 acre parcel on which the inn is situated, is georgeous and, once again, immaculately maintained. The inn is 11 years old, but you would think it was built yesterday. Gary, an engineer in another life, left no detail unattended and his wife and business partner, Janet, served breakfasts that all six in our group decided were the best we have experienced in our 25 or so years of B&B travels.

To add to the experience, Gary and Janet's assistants, Addison and Scott, doted on us at coffee hour and breakfast and attended to our every need - often in anticipation rather than in response.

Gary also spent much time with us arranging routes for the day's travels which included some of the most beautiful scenery Vermont has to offer.

I highly recommend the Maple Leaf. (We dined at the Simon Pearce in Quechee - fabulous food and Wine Spectator rated wine list. And the flatbread pizza at Firestone's - yummy....)

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hays14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnard
8.6 mi away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#3 of 6 in Woodstock
447 reviews
11.8 mi away
Kedron Valley Inn
Kedron Valley Inn
#5 of 6 in Woodstock
296 reviews
8.5 mi away
Jackson House Inn
Jackson House Inn
#1 of 15 in Woodstock
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
The Village Inn of Woodstock
8.5 mi away
Woodstock Inn and Resort
8.5 mi away
The Shire Woodstock
The Shire Woodstock
#4 of 6 in Woodstock
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maple Leaf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maple Leaf Inn

Address: 5890 VT Rte 12, Barnard, VT 05031
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Barnard
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Barnard
Price Range: $162 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maple Leaf Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maple Leaf Inn is a 7-room Bed and Breakfast. We are AAA 4-Diamond and a Select Registry property located in central Vermont near Silver Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Maple Leaf Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maple Leaf Inn Vermont/Barnard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing