We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Maple Leaf Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maple Leaf Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Barnard B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed two nights at the Maple Leaf Inn this Fall (2012) came to see the falling leaves but almost got the falling trees due to hurricane Sandy. Had a wonderful time at the Inn. Mike and Nancy were very welcoming and the inn itself was superb. Our hosts seem to have thought of everything, the small touches made all the difference from the superb rooms to the very welcome evening 'tipple.' We would unconditionally recommend the inn and will certainly visit again when we make it back to Vermont and we will!
Hans & Anne (Teddington, London. England)

Room Tip: Any! Ours was lovely, I sure they all are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hans F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    16
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
41
330
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phillipsburg, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

It was wonderful being pampered with the beautiful accommodations, wonderful food, and kind and caring innkeepers. It is located in a beautiful and quiet area of Vermont. The sheets were amazingly smooth and the whole inn was immaculate.

Room Tip: We don't think there is a bad room at the Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookville, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

We had such a great time in Vermont at your beautiful B&B. You guys were great hosts, and the breakfasts were yummy! We will definitely return!
Mike and Nancy were very helpful with suggestions for sight seeing and dinner reservations. Loved the sheets on the bed. They were the best!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmingdale, New Jersey
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

It is impossible to say how wonderful The Maple Leaf Inn is in just 200 words!! Mike and Nancy know how to do it right! I am extremely demanding and I could not find one thing that wasn't perfection at this lovely inn. Every detail, want and need is tended to. So inviting! We spent our wedding weekend in the cozy Country Garden in May and could not have been happier. We brought our "wedding party" and Nancy & Mike even helped set up their rooms with some gifts. I cannot say enough about the rooms, the food, the hospitality and just the total warmth you experience being there. Nancy is a fabulous cook/baker...and she even shares recipes! I was in heaven! We are looking forward to returning for our anniversary if not before. I totally recommend a stay. You will be impressed without a doubt!

Room Tip: We stay in the Country Garden room on the first floor. The headboard of the bed is an adorable white...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seekonk, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

We have come to expect, an adequate space to sleep, a nice breakfast and friendly people when staying at a bed and breakfast inn. To go from an expected experience to an appreciated experience you have to juice it up a bit. Larger rooms,TV in the room, comfortable beds and restaurant quality breakfasts.
What Mike and Nancy Boyle provide their guests at the Maple Leaf Inn in Barnard Vt. rachets up your experience from appreciated to distinguished! Comfortable nicely furnished rooms, ours came with a firplace that Mike made match ready each night complete with 2 hours of wood to burn. Comfy beds boardering on being decadently plush. Nancy's breakfasts were beyond restaurant quality all the way up to fine dining. Best of all Mike and Nancy were the prototypical innkeepers providing impeccible service as well as hospitality well beyond the expectations of any reasonable person.
Thank you Mike and Nancy our week with you guys at your beautiful Inn was the best Bed and Breakfast experience ever!

Room Tip: Plan in advance as this place is popular!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank perl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billund, Denmark
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

2 South Africans on an American vacation, visiting 9 states and as many hotels, and this is by the far the best of the best!
In fact, it felt like staying with family! Nancy and Mike are the perfect hosts... I wanted Mulled Cider, Nancy whipped it up in 2 minutes flat. They also gave us wine each night, loads of advice on the area, and great conversation! The inn itself is beautiful, and in the most amazing setting surrounded by trees. Our room was fantastic, with the best linen i have ever slept in... we wanted to buy some but the sizes in SA are different... there really wasn't a single thing we wanted for. I think the only bad thing about it was that we had to leave! You know somewhere is good when you just want hug the owners when you leave, and we did just that! Book this place today!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Notyetfamous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mentor
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Our stay at the Maple Leaf Inn far exceeded our expectations. I made our reservations early and while pleased to get the last available room for Columbus weekend, I was a bit apprehensive about staying on the third floor in what appeared to be a smaller room. As it turns out, we had nothing to worry about. The room was plenty big enough; it had a huge comfy bed; was beautifully decorated; had a very big bathroom; and, most importantly, had a flat screen TV with satellite reception for my sports fanatic husband. It simply could not have been nicer. We would stay in "Sweet Dreams" again in a heart beat! Breakfasts were gourmet feasts and had it not been sprinkling outside we would have joined the other (very friendly) guests at the bonfire. Mike and Nancy were the perfect host and hostess for our first leaf peeping trip to Vermont. They were extraordinarily welcoming and helpful. We've stayed in many B&Bs around the country and this one tops the list.

Room Tip: Book early! Third floor room was very quiet. Did not hear a peep from anyone else and the inn was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnard
8.6 mi away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#3 of 6 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
11.8 mi away
Kedron Valley Inn
Kedron Valley Inn
#5 of 6 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
8.8 mi away
Sleep Woodstock Motel
Sleep Woodstock Motel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Jackson House Inn
Jackson House Inn
#1 of 16 in Woodstock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
1.3 mi away
Twin Farms
Twin Farms
#2 of 4 in Barnard
5.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
8.6 mi away
The Village Inn of Woodstock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maple Leaf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maple Leaf Inn

Property: Maple Leaf Inn
Address: 5890 VT Rte 12, Barnard, VT 05031
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Barnard
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Barnard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maple Leaf Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maple Leaf Inn is a 7-room Bed and Breakfast. We are AAA 4-Diamond and a Select Registry property located in central Vermont near Silver Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maple Leaf Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maple Leaf Inn Vermont/Barnard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing