We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding in every way”
Review of Maple Leaf Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maple Leaf Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Barnard B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2012

This was our second time at Maple Leaf Inn. Everything is done well here, making a stay a real treat: beautiful room with large and well-appointed bathroom, ceiling fan and cross ventilation, but when hot enough to require air-conditioning, a comfortable, user friendly system, delicious, healthy breakfast (lots of fresh fruit, whole grain pancakes), afternoon cookies, tea, soft-drinks, (even a complimentary beer or glass of wine to enjoy on the porch with its lovely view).
Mike and Nancy are delightful, accommodating hosts. We'll be going back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karly65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (438)
There are newer reviews for Maple Leaf Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

283 - 289 of 438 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2012

This was our third summer stay at The Maple Leaf Inn. How wonderful to sleep with the windows open to the delightful Vermont air! We relaxed and felt pampered with attention to all details. There were fresh flowers in the bathroom and a special gift on our pillow. New wide-screen TV's were added to each room since last year.

Nancy and Mike were so right in recommending The Barnard Inn for a casual dining experience in the tavern. The food was exceptional.

From the Maple Leaf Inn you can visit many sites. Some of our favorites include The New England Culinary Institute in Montpelier, Cabot Cheese Company, The King Arthur Flour Company, the village of Woodstock, Dartmouth University, Saint-Gaudens National Historic Site in Cornish, NH.
Hiking to the top of Mount Tom is available on an easy or more challenging trail.

We recommend staying at least three nights to feel relaxed and rejuvenated at this incredible inn.

Room Tip: All rooms have unique advantages. Check the website for details.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lfshampain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

From the minute we pulled up into the parking lot we were greeted and treated like it was our house. The owner Mike came out to our car and helped us with our suitcases. This is the second year that we have stayed there and it was as wonderful as the first. The place is immaculate and the breakfast that Nancy made was homecooked and amazing. We had the Winter Haven room and we just loved it. This B&B is not far from Woodstock which is a beautiful little town in VT. We would not stay anywhere else when we visit Vermont. This B&B is the most relaxing and the very best! We are already looking forward to our stay there next year.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Winter Haven Room but we are sure that all of their rooms are amazing.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vkmk54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We have stayed here on five different occasions. The Inn is immaculate, quiet, and peaceful. Nancy and Mike are great hosts. They made helpful recommendations for restaurants, activities, and relaxation. The breakfast is delicious, healthy, and plentiful. Some rooms have fireplaces which are a treat in the fall and winter. Most rooms have a lovely soaking tub.
We have experienced summer, fall, and winter at the Maple Leaf Inn and loved each season. The lake down the street is a refreshing place to swim. The area provides hiking including the Appalachian Trail. Snow trails in the winter accommodate skiing, snow mobiles, and snow shoeing. Spotting wildlife is a great treat. Barnard is a town full of literary history and close by Woodstock is steeped in history. We especially enjoyed a neighbor’s restaurant for dinner, swimming in the lake, visiting a Vermont cheese farm, the Simon Pierce store in the town of Quiche, exploring Woodstock and a couple of close by ski resorts. Don’t pass up this restful, delightful Inn. The Maple Leaf in will restore and recharge you.

Room Tip: Decide if you want a fireplace. Let them know if you prefer a soaking tub.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We have stayed here on three separate occasions. The Maple Leaf Inn is a beautiful property, set back from the quaint road that runs through Barnard. Inn keepers Mike and Nancy maintain the seven charming guest rooms with such care that you feel like you are the first people to stay there. So many things to recommend this place....the 3 course breakfast (served 8:30 - 9:30), the home made cookies that show up every day, an afternoon glass of beer or wine, plus some nice little surprises you will find at the end of your day. What really stands out about the Maple Leaf is it's beautiful setting, and the meticulous care that Nancy and Mike take with both their inn, and their guests.

Room Tip: We like Autumn Woods but you can't go wrong....every room is lovely in it's own way.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hallie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed at this inn for three nights. The rooms were clean and the bed was soooo comfortable with white soft sheets, pillows and duvet. Our breakfast was unbelieveable. Nancy made a three course breakfast every morning and it was fantastic. The inn keepers, Mike and Nancy were kind and pleasant people and very accomodating. You could not find better atmosphere than this inn! We will be staying there in the near future.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

If you want to be pampered yet treated like family, isolated yet near restaurants and many things to do, Maple Leaf Inn is your kind of place. Proprietors Mike and Nancy really know how to make their guests feel at home, providing whatever you wish or need often before you realize you want/need it. Sumptuous breakfasts start the day on a high note, as does the magnificent Vermont scenery. The silence at night is equally breath-taking. And for those of us who need our space, all rooms have king size beds, which seem to be few and far between on the bed and breakfast circuit. This was our third of more-to-come stays at Maple Leaf Inn. We cannot recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: We have stayed on both the first and second floors and found both to be lovely. Snacks and cold dri...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cubsfanforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnard
8.6 mi away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#3 of 6 in Woodstock
424 reviews
11.8 mi away
Kedron Valley Inn
Kedron Valley Inn
#5 of 6 in Woodstock
288 reviews
8.8 mi away
Sleep Woodstock Motel
Sleep Woodstock Motel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Woodstock Inn and Resort
8.5 mi away
Jackson House Inn
Jackson House Inn
#1 of 16 in Woodstock
451 reviews
8.6 mi away
The Village Inn of Woodstock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maple Leaf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maple Leaf Inn

Address: 5890 VT Rte 12, Barnard, VT 05031
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Barnard
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Barnard
Price Range: $175 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maple Leaf Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maple Leaf Inn is a 7-room Bed and Breakfast. We are AAA 4-Diamond and a Select Registry property located in central Vermont near Silver Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Maple Leaf Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maple Leaf Inn Vermont/Barnard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing