We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vermont...Living the dream!”
Review of Maple Leaf Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maple Leaf Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Barnard B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 30, 2011

I can't even give justice to how beautiful this inn is. Mike & Nancy have captured the whole Vermont and B&B experience within their four walls. The littlest details were noticed and picked up, by them, through out the entire stay. The food! It was amazingly fresh, and abundant! From the stuffed French toast to the Dijon egg souffle, everything was amazingly delicious! Thank you for a glorious weekend!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doulachic6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (444)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

357 - 363 of 444 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2011

This was a fantastic b and b experience. Located in a small village among the Green Mountains, MLI is close to several towns and recreation facilities without feeling like you're among gads of tourists. Mike and Nancy have the b and b thing down to a fine art/science. They both greeted us outside when we arrived. They gave the full tour of the inn, including the library, computer, electric piano (!) and lounge. The bedding was among the best I've ever felt (we ended up buying a set from them), and the breakfasts were highpoint of each day - three- course creative, homemade breakfasts that took our food preferences into consideration. On top of all of this, Mike and Nancy are really down-to-earth, funny people who seem to really enjoy and take pride in hosting people in their home. You will be lavished by Mike and Nancy's thoughtfulness.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moonsammy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2011

We stayed at the Maple Leaf Inn for a brief one-night getaway. Mike and Nancy were welcoming and very gracious. We were planning to go snow-shoeing around the area, but it turned out that there is a cross-country ski trail just 100 meters from the back of their house, and Mike was nice enough to lend us their snow shoes. We also greatly enjoyed their fireplaces (both on the main floor and in our room), which were each prepped with firewood and just needed the strike of a match to start. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jakost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2011

The Inn was beautiful. The inkeepers were welcoming and could not do enough for us. They helped to make the stay a memorable one. We highly recommend the Maple Leaf Inn. We are definitely going back.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jocamas151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2011

This B&B was the perfect romantic getaway for Valentine's Day weekend. The innkeepers were always attentive and made us feel at home. Our room, Morning Glory, was clean and spotless. The bed sheets were so soft and comfortable that we are considering purchasing a set for our home. The breakfast each morning was delicious and so filling. We would definitely stay here again! Two Thumbs Up Mike and Nancy!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kshea610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2011

This review is mostly in response to the last review…

Every single thing was wonderful about this place. This includes the hosts. Mike and Nancy have a perfect balance of being entertaining, but not over the top. They were so helpful and it was wonderful to see how much they enjoyed what they do.

Barnard certainly does not have an extensive list of restaurants. We did eat at the Barnard Inn and enjoyed our meal. But if you want more selection, just take the 15 min drive to Woodstock!

The two breakfasts we had at the Maple Leaf Inn were wonderful! And it was the perfect amount of food! If you’re used to breakfast buffets where you stuff yourself with mounds of sausage and pancakes then you might want to try somewhere else. But if you want an expertly made three course breakfast in a wonderful setting, this is it.

The room was beautiful. Loved having a fireplace and a bathtub. And every one of our needs were taken care of.

If you’re looking for a top rate hotel for your vacation to Vermont, this has to be your choice!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rgbflawed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2011

Simply put, the Maple Leaf Inn was exactly what we were looking for.

After slogging through the first part of the winter at home, my girlfriend and I were looking forward to traveling up to Vermont not to escape the snow and the cold but to embrace it, and the Inn was the ideal home base for getting the most out of that most maligned of seasons.

The owners, Mike and Nancy, are absolutely terrific. They are kind, warm, good-humored, and more than willing to accommodate any needs their guests might have. They are always on hand to give you tips or suggestions and seem genuinely interested in the events of your day, but they are never intrusive or overly present. They even put up with my voracious appetite for firewood :)

The rooms are lovely, tastefully appointed, and each have a unique theme. Our room (Autumn Woods) had a fireplace, bathroom with a whirlpool tub and heated floors, and the most sinfully comfortable king-sized bed I've ever slept in. They have all the amenities one could want in an above average hotel room (satellite tv, free wifi, fluffy towels) with twice the charm and comfort. Not once did it feel like we were getting anything less than our money's worth. Almost everything provided at the inn is complimentary (snacks in the hallway icebox, small gifts on your pillow, a glass of wine or beer every afternoon) and these small touches create an atmosphere of serenity and contentment that I've never experienced staying anywhere else.

The rest of the inn is no less delightful. Breakfast is fantastic, and the food is both delicious and unique (egg puffs and maple scones!). There is a small library full of books to read and a sitting room with its own fireplace. The grounds outside the inn are beautiful, with a forest and numerous walking trails (we had a great time snowshoeing) and the inn itself is just a short distance from both a surprisingly extensive general store with a lunch counter and the sophisticated Barnard Inn tavern. There are a great number of exciting things to see and do nearby; we went shopping in Woodstock, sampled maple syrup and cheese at a local farm, and went on brewery tours at the Long Trail and Harpoon breweries.

I could go on and on about our stay, as there are so many things to appreciate about the Maple Leaf Inn. It's a truly great establishment and Mike and Nancy obviously take great pride in the way they run their business. I would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone looking for a well-priced place to relax and recharge, and we're looking forward to coming back again and again (we'd love to see the inn in the warmer months).

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fearfulsymmetry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnard
8.6 mi away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#3 of 6 in Woodstock
436 reviews
8.8 mi away
Sleep Woodstock Motel
Sleep Woodstock Motel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
334 reviews
11.8 mi away
Kedron Valley Inn
Kedron Valley Inn
#5 of 6 in Woodstock
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Woodstock Inn and Resort
8.6 mi away
The Village Inn of Woodstock
8.5 mi away
Jackson House Inn
Jackson House Inn
#1 of 15 in Woodstock
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maple Leaf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maple Leaf Inn

Address: 5890 VT Rte 12, Barnard, VT 05031
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Barnard
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Barnard
Price Range: $178 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maple Leaf Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maple Leaf Inn is a 7-room Bed and Breakfast. We are AAA 4-Diamond and a Select Registry property located in central Vermont near Silver Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Maple Leaf Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maple Leaf Inn Vermont/Barnard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing