We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven in Vermont at the Fan House”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barnard
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fan House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 4 Barnard B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Toronto
1 review
“Heaven in Vermont at the Fan House”
Reviewed August 19, 2007

We had a wonderful stay at the Fan House.The town is small and perfectly situated in the lust Vermont countryside. Quaint. Delicious and hearty breakfast and most of all, a wonderful host.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jqb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    2
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
34
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 30, 2006

We won a weekend at the Fan House in a contest on NPR. My sweetie decided to plan his marriage proposal for that weekend. So we arrived, met Sara, the owner (she's SO lovely), dropped our things in the elegant Fireplace Suite, and went off for a hike along Silver Lake across the street where I received that proposal at sunset! Sara ran to the door when we got back, having known through e-mails with Drew (my husband) that this was going to be spectacular moment for us!

This April we are going back to celebrate the second anniversary of that proposal. We can't wait for that bedding, the room, those fireplaces, the breakfasts, the unbeatable hospitality! The Fan House is perfectly romantic!

  • Stayed April 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizzyfromBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 1, 2005

Quiteness, hospitality, cleanliness and friendliness. We were on honeymoon from Italy and The Fan House was the best way to step into the States. It is an extremely good base to visit Vermont. We were there for the Foliage and we could reach each corner of the state in a while. Sara is an excellent guest and it we had very nice talks in the warmth of the fireplace (thanks Sara!). And what about the Fireplace Suite? Simply... lovely! As the rest of the House! (Alberto & Chiara)

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
1 review
Reviewed October 11, 2005

We stayed at the Fan House in July with our two girls - and we all had a wonderful time.
The rooms are fabulous - done with the best taste.
The house is a gem.
The garden is almost Monet-like.
Our host Sara is the most charming, interesting, warm person I have met for a very long time.
The girls were warmly welcomed.
The breakfast was a real treat - fresh berries, eggs, granola, baguette etc.
The surroundings are so nice - with just a church, the local fire brigade (!) and a general store with everything to offer - even a café. But we spent most of our time across the street at the beautiful Silver Lake. We cannot give enough praise! This place is fantastic.
Within close range you have the charming town Woodstock, Killington Ski area, Billington Farm etc...
We hope to be back - and will plan to spend more than two nights! We were so relaxed after our stay here that it was better than a top-expensive spa!

Helpful?
Thank BHaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 6, 2004

My husband and I took a trip through New England with my parents, and our most relaxing stay was at The Fan House. Sara was a gracious hostess and a wonderful cook. We wished that we could have stayed longer. There is no doubt we will return.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 7, 2004

We first met Sara and the Fan House on our first wedding anniversary. Sara was so wonderful to us. Our room was fabulous and you can't beat her breakfasts! We return to the Fan House every year. It's wonderful!

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairfield, ct
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2004

I have been going to the Fan House since it opened and in all seasons. It was love at first sight and never a disappointment with the place or service. Anyone with good taste would admire how it was restored and how it is appointed. Right away, it felt like home away...from home. Now, whenever I think of taking some R&R from a very busy life, I immediately think of the Fan House and go there whenever I can get away.

By the way, I am a very demanding and critical person but I also learned to compliment when deserved. Last but not least, thank you Sara for all your grace and for making each of our stay a wonderful experience each time.

Helpful?
1 Thank akaristos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnard
9.2 mi away
Sleep Woodstock Motel
Sleep Woodstock Motel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
300 reviews
9.1 mi away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#3 of 6 in Woodstock
401 reviews
0.5 mi away
Maple Leaf Inn
Maple Leaf Inn
#1 of 4 in Barnard
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
The Shire Woodstock
The Shire Woodstock
#4 of 6 in Woodstock
491 reviews
9.0 mi away
Woodstock Inn and Resort
8.9 mi away
The Charleston House
The Charleston House
#6 of 16 in Woodstock
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fan House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fan House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Fan House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 6297 VT-12, Barnard, VT 05031
Location: United States > Vermont > Barnard
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Barnard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious, European style rooms and suites. Exquisite fine decorating, exceptionally comfortable beds with 300+ thread count linens & down comforters. Located just minutes from Quechee & Woodstock Vermont. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fan House Bed And Breakfast Vermont/Barnard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing