We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As Perfect As Always”
Review of Twin Farms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Twin Farms
Ranked #2 of 4 Barnard B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 3, 2010

My husband and I just returned from our third annual visit to Twin Farms. After reading some of the reviews we were apprehensive that the quality had suffered. However, we are happy to report that Twin Farms continues to provide exceptional food and service to its guests. All of the traditional amenities were still available. We had a great time and are already planning our return next summer.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelbug1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 142 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2010

My wife and I recently spent several days at Twin Farms. This was our first trip there, despite it being strongly recommended by a few friends for years who, we should have known, are familiar with the best of the best. Like them, we've travelled to top hotels in several countries but this, handily, beat them all. If you want glitz and 60 inch flatscreen TVs, then stay in the big city. If you want to get away from it all, and be pampered with gorgeous accommodations, incredibly good food/wine, personal service that simply isn't available in any big hotel, and the romance of Vermont activities at your doorstep... well, then, just go.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S_and_LK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2010

The experience does not come close to the amount of money you will spend here. The food is more about the description than the flavor. The staff is ok, not really happy to accommodate requests outside of their plan. There are choices for breakfast but lunch and dinner are set. The set dinner time and menu is odd for the money you pay and the hype. I would not return. There are too many great resorts in the US. Don't buy$$ into the hype of this place.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank LOL305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2010

Unlike many other reviewers, we’ve only been to Twin Farms this one time, so we have no comparison of the experience over time.

The accommodations at The Barn were large and comfortable (true to the web pic) with a beautiful view, a separate bedroom, a large, well-appointed bathroom and a very pleasant screened in porch. My only complaints would be the awkward layout, i.e. you must go through the bedroom to get to the bath and refreshment center which defeats the purpose of a separate bedroom, and they were chintzy with the “seasonal snacks” in the room (which they will restock when asked but you shouldn’t have to).

Unlike many reviewers, we found the food – both quality and quantity -- to be excellent. I grant you that the portions of the three-course dinners are on the smaller side but they are quite comparable to portion size in high-end New York restaurants and we never left hungry. Also, I feel that the overly generous portions at breakfast and lunch more than made up for any calorie shortages at dinner. While choices are not offered at dinner, you have many, many choices for breakfast and lunch. The non-reserve wines offered at dinner were fine but we would have liked the opportunity to view the wine list and perhaps select different wine. One of our dinners was served in the wine cellar (totally charming) and we asked for a bottle of Pinot Noir from the non-reserve list. We were happily accommodated with a grand bottle but it would have been nice if they asked about our preferences.

We found the service to be outstanding with all staff members very pleasant and responsive to any requests we made. The staff will deliver a picnic lunch to you anywhere on the grounds; they were helpful re activities; and our room was tended to at least 3 times a day. The grounds are quite beautiful with hiking trails and many other activities.

So, is it worth the crazy prices and would we go again? In the end, we loved the experience but would probably not return. We compared this vacation with past high-end experiences and found it to be at least twice the cost. Was it twice as good? I guess, in the end, the “value” of $2700 a day is in the eye of the beholder.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank egliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2010

In December, our son and his fiancee visited Twin Farms for a winter holiday. They live in London and have traveled extensively to many exotic and romantic destinations around the world. They were amazed at this gorgeous country property, with it's extraordinary cuisine, low-key style, and high level of service. Wanting to share the experience with us, we were treated to a long weekend certificate for a special anniversary by our children. Given the hefty nightly rate for this all-inclusive spa and resort, we felt some initial guilt going into this weekend, but that quickly faded as we explored the historic inn, viewed the "cottages",and wandered through the meadows of lupine and other June wildflowers. Everywhere you look you find unusual architecture, creative decor, and wonderful folk art of all styles...a feast for the eyes inside as well as in the natural surroundings. We stayed in a large house of Scandinavian country design.
The food was creative as well. Breakfast was our favorite with specialties and choices that were hearty. Lunch and dinner were the choice of the chef, with adaptations made for the individual's tastes via a preference survey completed before arrival. A true meat and potatoes person might find the offerings not quite as expected, but could ask at any time for an angus burger or any other preference.The multi-course dinner is a small plate, spa, tasting style, presented artfully and paired with good wine choices. Upon request, you can dine in the small wine cellar, which we did. Very romantic.
The essence of the magic of Twin Farms is the peace and tranquility found in the outdoor spaces and in accommodations designed to encourage disconnect from the everyday. Hugh soaking tubs that have private outdoor views, fireplaces that are continually set to be lit, screened porches to bring you outside even in the rain, down bedding to encourage napping, poor cellphone reception in the cottages allows you to disconnect for a bit. Spa treatments, a gym, and the option to use a furo or Japanese hot tub provide additional stress relief.
The key to the Twin Farms magic is the phenomenal team assembled by GM Michael Beardsley who maintain the high level of "service with a smile". They are multitasking everywhere; always with the utmost professionalism and discretion, but able to engage on a personal level that we found delightful. The economic times have drastically reduced their number of staff, but you wouldn't feel it as a guest. We were there on a half-capacity weekend, however. The number of repeat guests attests to the continuity in the quality of the Twin Farms experience. This is not a one-night stay inn. It would take a two night minimum to get the relaxation benefit and the sense of being a special guest at this lovely country estate. This was undoubtedly a one-time treat for us, but those with the requisite resources should consider retreating to charming Twin Farms Inn when looking for a special and romantic destination.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2010

From the moment we checked in till the second we left, the service was exemplary, the food was excellent, and overall it lived up to our very high expectations. I highly recommend this property to anyone looking for the right mix between high energy activities and super luxury. Well worth the small fortune it takes to stay there.

The one on one service reminds me of the 5 star service you get in the best safari camps. Very personal and attentive!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ruvboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2010

I’ve been turning over and over in my mind whether or not we will return to Twin Farms. We’ve been there three times in the last eighteen months (including one time last summer when we were almost the only people there) and I am no longer sure that it’s worth it.

As the reviewer below says, the prices keep going up yet service, amenities, and the fabric keep going down slightly. With tax and tip an average day here costs more than $2500 and at that rate I can think of many other ways to spend the money.

The first issue is the staff. While the staff has always been correct if slightly distant (the Manager rarely puts in an appearance and has never, ever responded to any email – even ones of praise – I have sent him, although he has mentioned them on subsequent trips) there have definitely been staff reductions that one notices, from more limited spa availability to (on our last trip) our room not being made up until the afternoon twice.

Second, there are the facilities. While the cabins can be spectacular (we have stayed in three) delayed maintenance is noticeable – for example, on our last trip the glass door on our fireplace was missing. We never had a fire but we could have wanted one. The closet (in Aviary) had a very musty smell, indicating that it had probably not been rented recently. Finally, the 2nd fireplace in one of the cabins (Orchard) is unusable because it smokes so much (of course, no one told us that and in the middle of a cold winter’s night we had to open all of the windows and doors…).

Third, the food is only adequate. I don’t care about quantity so much, and I am sure quality ingredients are used, but it is mostly pretty dull. Their gimmick is that there is no set menu – each person gets what he wants based on the preferences he has shown. In practice, everyone basically gets the same thing and most of it is not memorable. There’s a strained effort to introduce Asian spices, etc., but they would be better off sticking to classical cuisine artfully executed (which they pull off occasionally) and give up the silly “whatever you want” pretense. My wife and I – and many other fellow guests, I think – are sorely tired of it. I should add, by the way, that the hors d’ouvre service is a tired old thing and they should rethink it entirely. Tea also is pretty slim – cookies or cake, not a selection.

On wines, the wine steward and dining room manager will go out of his way to pull interesting things from his cellar for you and I have no complaints there. While he does not serve the most expensive wines, he is knowledgeable and really seems to like a challenge and appreciate interest in the wine area. Do you get your money’s worth in wines? Certainly not, but they are above average for a place where they are included. One problem, however, is that there is no house wine list (or at least one available to guests).

Finally, on activities, the activities director is nice enough (although Alex, who worked for her, was much more enthusiastic but has now left) but her suggestions for good hikes must be meant for those who really don’t like to hike. One can have a lot of fun at TF (swimming in Copper Lake and Silver Lake, etc.) but it won’t be because she’s suggested it. For example, she’s unable to suggest any more than one or two spots where they can deliver a picnic for you to find at the end of your hike. It is nice to be able to ski/snowshoe/etc. on the property although to be honest it’s not great skiing.

So, to sum up, is Twin Farms still worth it? Well, other places have definitively pulled ahead (anyone who has experienced the activities and food at the Triple Creek Ranch will know what I mean, and that’s less than half the price) and one does not feel the pull as strongly to go to TF. I think we will wait for the very frequent specials (3 nights for the price of 2) to go again.

By the way, they were selling certificates for three nights for the price of 2 at the end of last year, which could be used any time in the future. I didn’t buy any – I suspect we’ll see a closing and reorganization here. The prices are unsustainable with the present mindset and TF is just not so special anymore.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank BPDorrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnard
8.2 mi away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#3 of 6 in Woodstock
452 reviews
7.9 mi away
Woodstock Inn and Resort
1.3 mi away
Maple Leaf Inn
Maple Leaf Inn
#1 of 4 in Barnard
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
The Charleston House
The Charleston House
#7 of 15 in Woodstock
161 reviews
11.7 mi away
Killington Mountain Lodge
Killington Mountain Lodge
#4 of 13 in Killington
174 reviews
7.8 mi away
Woodstocker Inn
Woodstocker Inn
#4 of 15 in Woodstock
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twin Farms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twin Farms

Address: 452 Royalton Turnpike, 452 Royalton Turnpike, Barnard, VT 05031
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Barnard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Barnard
Price Range: $1,658 - $2,875 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Twin Farms 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in romance and folklore, Twin Farms is Vermont’s only luxury, five-star experience. With a sophisticated yet eccentric private art collection throughout 20 uniquely-designed accommodations ensconced in 300 acres, Twin Farms customizes every detail. Indulge in gourmet meals and fine wine. Pursue outdoor adventures. Retreat and relax. Engage in serious, contemplative work. Reconnect with people you love. Inspire yourself with possibilities. Savor infinite value. It’s all included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Twin Farms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Twin Farms Hotel Barnard
Twin Farms Vermont/Barnard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing