We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“O.K. Mexican food”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of El Paisa Grill

El Paisa Grill
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Authentic Mexican food and MOLCAJETE Supreme, it is what we specialize in. We are a sit down restaurant that offers live entertainment on weekends and now we have included a Sports Bar & Tequila - Cantina area which offers a large variety of tequila. We are the largest Tequila Bar in the Valley! We have a wonderful family atmosphere, customers of all ages welcome! Founded in 1999, El Paisa Grill was established in 1999 by the Orozco Family from Guadalajara, Jalisco Mexico. Our delicious recipes have been passed down from generation to generation, bringing the best Mexican food and entertainment to Utah. We have shared this authentic meals with you ever since the opening, 12 years of business says it all! El Paisa Grill is a fun place to celebrate with family and friends.
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
45 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“O.K. Mexican food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Me and my husband came here and both got the lunch taco bar. The taco's were like street taco's but I didn't think they were memorable. I did like being able to pick different types of meat and toppings, and for $8.99 it was definitely not a bad price for the value. I don't think I'd eat here again, due to the food being average and having to wait forever for our check.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Courtney O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    13
    9
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Molcajete in SLC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

The Molcajete is incredible. the lunchtime all you can eat taco bar is also outstanding.. Its the mini taco truck style taco's with at least 6-9 different choices of meats.. Full Bar, lost of authentic and different drinks as well. I know Red Iguana is always at the top of every ones list... but when the wait there is 45 minutes, which it usually is.. Drive 7 minutes away and try El Paisa. Very authentic Mexican even the atmosphere makes me think I am in Mexico.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Pcully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
95 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Molcajete! Karaoke & Full Bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

This is my favorite Mexican restaurant. If you come on Karaoke night, sit in the back. It's super loud but good.
The Molcajete is the house special. You simply must. The horchata is also very good. The menu is huge. The service is always great but the secrets out so you may have a wait at peak times of weekend evenings.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoutah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stansbury park, utah
Level Contributor
262 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
“Authentic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Went with some Hispanic friends for a birthday party. Great atmosphere...kareoke fun. Didn't understand a word said, but the food was good. Don't pass on the molcajete.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kingofsling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerville, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Mexican Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

I love this restaurant, they have an authentic mexican food eks in SLC, Utah, hard to find. The service is a little bit slow, last time the server even forgot about us and keep apolozing that he had forgotten that we're in his section. But the price is kinda pricey expensive. One appetizer and 2 meals and 2 sodas the bill came back almost $50. I was like..wow.. but you cant denied the taste of the foods. Eventho was pricey but on weekend it was packed!!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bwisastra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Paisa Grill also viewed

West Valley City, Wasatch Range
West Valley City, Wasatch Range
 
West Valley City, Wasatch Range
West Valley City, Wasatch Range
 

Been to El Paisa Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing