We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best dim sum in Utah”

Red Maple Chinese Cuisine
Price range: $8 - $12
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Lunch, dinner, dim sum all day from the menu. Sat and Sun 10:00 am to 2:30 pm serving Dim Sum Carts. Authentic Cantoneseand Szechuan style food.
Farmington, UT
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best dim sum in Utah”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

I love this place! About time that Utah had a great dim sum restaurant. Love the owners and staff. Excellent variety and execution.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Paige R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    13
    8
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Not your typical Chinese”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Husband and I have eaten here several times now, the varied and innovative menu is rewarded with a faithful clientele. Quality of food excellent, manager gives personal attention to guests. We like Red Maple!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MJHBlack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, UT
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Dim Sum!”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

This restaurant is no longer on Redwood Road, but on 4700 South about 2700 West. Regardless of location, this place has the best Dim Sum in the valley. They have a very large selection of dishes being wheeled around the restaurant in steam cart. If you want something different than what you see in the carts, the staff is quick to get it to you. My family all enjoy eating at Red Maple, even my picky eater. In fact, today's visit was her idea.

The only negative that I have to offer is that some of the staff don't speak English well enough to describe the dish that they are serving, but that's not a big deal as there is always someone near who can translate.

Dim Sum is served on Saturday and Sunday 10a - 230p.

Red Maple serves Dim Sum on Saturday and Sunday from 10a - 230p.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Hogwild752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“I am so happy that they were able to reopen”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I have eaten at this restaurant numerous times. When they had to close and relocate, I was desperate for genuine Chinese food. I am from NY and am willing to bet that I have consumed more Chinese food in my lifetime than any Caucasian Utah native except for perhaps John Huntsman Jr. People who are unfamiliar with authentic Chinese food and who would even think of describing Panda Express as Chinese food, should not go to Red Maple. If you want the real thing at Red Maple, request that Bronson the manager make some menu suggestions for you. Don't be put off by the sound of things you don't understand. Take a chance. You might actually like something new and learn something new. To be perfectly honest I have had some disappointments at Red Maple with some dishes that were less than spectacular. However I continue to believe that it is worth it for me to drive to the west side to get my Chinese food fix. Over the years I have introduced Red Maple to numerous friends and family (former east coasters) all of whom have remarked that they were thrilled to find genuine Chinese food in this valley. There are three menu items that I must order whenever I visit. 1. the fried calamari and shrimp appetizer. 2. the special Chinese green vegetable in garlic sauce. It might be Chinese,broccoli, pea shoots, choy sum cabbage-whatever. I just ask the server to bring it. 3. steamed sea bass with ginger and green onions. It's a bit pricey, but worth it if you like fish. Granted service can be spotty at times and frustrating when the server does not speak perfect English as does everyone in Utah (not really). When something like that occurs, I suggest that you politely ask to speak to the manager, and everything will be taken care of to your liking. This not a super standardized fast food type establishment. It is for real people who enjoy eating authentic Chinese food. Perhaps the number of Chinese families that I see eating here whenever I am presents a tiny clue that this restaurant is for people who appreciate the real deal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelHoundUtah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Leyden
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fun graduation party”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I liked sharing the main dishes on the giant lazy susan. We were a party of 10 and everyone had plenty. Food was very tasty, service was attentive without being annoying. The walnut shrimp was a favorite of the whole table.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank snowyelaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Maple Chinese Cuisine also viewed

West Valley City, Wasatch Range
West Valley City, Wasatch Range
 
West Valley City, Wasatch Range
 

Been to Red Maple Chinese Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing