We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yet another oasis in the sun”
Review of Salt Flats Cafe

Salt Flats Cafe
Ranked #1 of 9 Restaurants in Wendover
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
NY
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Yet another oasis in the sun”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

The Salt Flats Cafe has saved me from starvation on many trips to Speed Week at the salt flats. Lets be honest, not a lot is going on in Wendover (or West Wendover for that matter). The food options for these towns are grim- Pizza Hut, Subway and nasty casino buffets. Since I won't touch a buffet and there is just so much Subway one can eat, The Salt Flats Cafe is such a welcoming and wonderful presence. The food is delicious, authentic and fresh. The staff is really personable and willing to adjust things to your liking. The prices are just right- not so cheap it scares you, but not breaking your bank either.

In all seriousness, The Salt Flats Cafe is fabulous and in many ways a life saver. You may think I'm exaggerating, but after 2 weeks of this town in August, you'll want to kiss these restaruant owners too!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JenniferNYC74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    34
    13
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
South Jordan, Utah
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Mexican!”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

We needed a place to eat after scuba diving in Blue Lake. Some friends recommended Salt Flats Cafe. Don't let the outside fool you- It's attached to a gas station. This place had really great, authentic Mexican food. CASH ONLY. There's an ATM in the gas station should you need cash. I finished everything on my plate, it was that good. (And I tend to be picky about my Mexican food, being a Houston-native.)

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cortney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
62 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican”
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Authentic Mexican, small but solid menu. We had the Huevos rancheros and the machaca. Both were very good. It's so nice to not eat at a chain when traveling and this place did not disappoint!

Helpful?
3 Thank JallyGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
261 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Very Good Steak Tacos!”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Stopped for lunch and had a steak taco and cheese enchiladas. The taco was one of the best I have ever had. The steak was browned and seasoned just right! The cheese enchiladas were tasty also. While I was eating a guy sat down with a guitar in the middle of the cafe and played some traditional Mexican music. There were several large families in there and everyone was having a great time. It was nice break from driving that day! It was very reasonably priced.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Road_Bear57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendover, Utah
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Do not miss the Salt Flats Cafe!”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

If you are in the Wendover area there is one place you chould not miss - the Salt Flats Cafe. Be prepared for a few little quirks but you will love the food. The locale is a bit run down from the outside but don't let that deter you. Also, be prepared for the fact they do not accept credit cards (as of my last visit) but there is an ATM in the gas station next door. Last warning - get there a little ahead of the lunch and dinner rush or you will be waiting a long time, it is that busy!

The food is very reasonably priced and you get big portions - I almost always find myself needing to stop before the food is gone. The Chli Verde, chicken and pork tacos, and burrittos are all awesome. they do have a kids menu and my kids love the quesadillas. A friend who had the menudo soup said it was really good as well - not my taste but I trust the review. Bottom line: I try hard not to miss an opportunity to eat here.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendovertom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salt Flats Cafe also viewed

 
West Wendover, NV
 

Been to Salt Flats Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing