We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
  
Reviews (527)
Filter reviews
527 results
Traveler rating
350
125
44
5
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
350
125
44
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rest stop rest area speed week speed records foot wash gas station race track miles and miles bucket list off the highway worth a stop take pictures fastest indian west wendover races speedway cars
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
334 - 339 of 527 reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2014

We stopped at the portion just off the highway and timed it for sunrise. Worth the pit stop off Interstate 80. Family walked out onto the salt flats and it was a fun adventure. Since it had rained heavily the night before there was no sense in going all the way to the speed trial area as driving on the salt wouldn't have worked. Beautiful views you can't find just anywhere. Rest stop had a pet area as well as bathroom facilities.

Date of experience: July 2014
2  Thank C F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2014

Bonneville Salt Flats is one of my 5 favorite places on earth. Its stark beauty has to be seen. You MUST go here at least once in your life. It's worth the drive from Salt Lake City.

Stop at the rest stop along I-80 on the way to the Salt Flats. There is a nice sign explaining the salt flats and you can walk out onto the snow-white salt to experience it yourself.

If you want to drive on the flats, follow the access road onto the salt flats and you can have fun driving around. When we were there, there were only 3 other cars out there so we had the place virtually to ourselves.

The salt is actually hard as concrete and slightly moist. It'll coat the wheel wells and bottom of your car with a thick layer of salt. We stopped at a car wash and cleaned the car afterwards. Also had to vacuum all the salt out of the interior due to the salt on our shoes.

Well worth the visit. The sun shining on the brilliant white salt is a surreal experience that you will want to see.

Date of experience: July 2014
1  Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

We drove out to the flats, only to find out when we got there that we could not go out on them because a race was going on. We couldn't even go on after the race unless we paid to join the club. We were confused because we thought it was a public use area. So, we were a little disappointed. It was neat to see, though-

1  Thank 304cherin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

One of the most exciting places to visit. It was an experience of sorts. A vast expanse of beautiful terrain, brilliant and scenic. Driving on these plains is awesome at the speeds which one can achieve.

Date of experience: July 2014
Thank Mani V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Stopped at the rest stop and played in the salt; the feeling was strange cool and hard, but felt like sand when wet. We found the little water there was. If, you have a car try to drive on it the experience is amazing!

Date of experience: July 2014
1  Thank MaddyLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews