We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Family Activity - Great Value”

American West Heritage Center
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: A museum of folk life and living history from 1820 - 1920, the American West Heritage Center specialized in hands-on, interactive fun for all ages: youth – seniors. Through Daily Adventures in the summer and special events throughout the year, it is Logan Utah’s most populated attraction--a blending of arts, history, heritage, and old-fashioned fun. It boasts very friendly staff, pony rides, train rides, and a petting zoo, as well as many other attractions.
Herriman,ut
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Awesome Family Activity - Great Value”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Went to this in October on an impromptu vacation. They were advertising a Corn Maze so thought we'd let the kids do it. Turns out that the corn maze was just one of many attractions all included in the entrance price. We ended up staying and playing for several hours. We had kids ranging from 3 years old to 17 and they all found fun things to do. In addition to the activities, there were plenty of museum-type displays including my favorite, a working steam-driven tractor. Incidentally, the corn maze was very well done and actually quite enjoyable.
The volunteers were always very friendly and helpful if not terribly knowledgeable.
I would highly recommend the experience to anyone.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    11
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Layton, Utah
Level Contributor
375 reviews
148 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Baby Animal Days”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We went to Baby Animal Days on April 4, 2013 and I'm being honest when I say I've encountered smaller crowds at Disneyland. We arrived 15 minutes before opening time and had to wait in a line to park. We were directed to the furthest point on the paved parking area (they were also having people park in surrounding fields) and walked to the line to get tickets. We finally purchased tickets 45 minutes later. They only had 4 stations where you could buy tickets, but could have easily used double that amount. I noticed a very small line where you were supposed to stand if you'd bought tickets online. I didn't even know that was an option, but it would be a good tip for anyone planning to go.
Alright, so we made it through the first line and into the park. We were given a tip by a woman in line to go straight to the baby bears. We did this and waited an additional 30 minutes to see the bears. They were cute and half way through the line they had little turtles that you could hold. After we got out of the bear line, we could see that the line was easily double the size of when we got in it and when we walked by it 30 minutes later, it was triple the size.
We went on a hayride and watched some little kids ride sheep. Then we went to milk a cow, which my daughter enjoyed very much. Outside the cow barn, there were more lines for the opportunity to hold chicks, ducks and rabbits. Then we waited in line to pet sheep, goats, a donkey, baby calves, and baby pigs. There were baby lambs that weren't more than a day or two old, and baby quail hatched the day before. Darling!
You can picnic on the grounds, if you can find a spot. There was a train to ride, but the line looked like it was easily 40+ minutes wait. There were also pony rides, which would have been at least the same amount of time. There were people in period costumes roaming the grounds with more animals to pet. They were really good to answer questions and stay in character. There is a mountain man camp, a general store, a farm house, a root cellar, a smokehouse and a blacksmith shop all in working order.
We were there for 4.5 hours. It was $8 for adults and $6 for children with a $1 discount when you brought a can of food for the food bank.
Some things were wonderful but some things could be much improved. My daughter had a fantastic time. Even with the crowds, she was in heaven. I thought they could have done a better job with crowd management, like maybe advertising better that you could buy tickets online. Their map also could have been better and they could coordinate the special events so that you're not walking back and forth so much. I think it would be difficult for a person with a physical disability to navigate everything, as every spot was very crowded. They don't have any real bathrooms, but there are several port-a-potties on site. The grounds were clean and the staff was polite and helpful. Taking all that into consideration, I'd say we're at a "4". They can certainly improve, but the goal was to see baby animals and we saw lots of them and had a fun time holding and petting every one!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Go2theZoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Ogden
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Baby Animals days is a fun place to take the kids!”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Geared for the kids to see baby animals. Most they can touch or hold. Last spring they advertised too much and it was way too crowded, but we went for 4 years prior and lvoed it!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Lyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
75 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Baby animal days for kids to pet (Spring)”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

The bear cubs were the best, and you even get to touch them. Hundreds of geese, chicks, ducks, horses, cows, all kinds of farm animals.
Also other special events: Mountain Man Rendezvous, a mud run, chuck wagon dinners

Helpful?
3 Thank cjbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldport, Oregon
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“a taste of history”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

I used to volunteer there. Great for kids to experience the pioneer village. Volunteers bake in the ovens, horse drawn wagons etc. Halloween is very fun, also a good wedding venue.

Helpful?
3 Thank Sage1029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed American West Heritage Center also viewed

 
Logan, Wasatch Range
 

Been to American West Heritage Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing