We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easily one of the nicest hotels ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites St. George North-Zion
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Washington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 5, 2008

Arriving in St George on a very rainy Friday evening, we tried a few of the local hotels and found them to be fully booked. One hotel recommended the Holiday Inn Express, which was a bit of a distance from St George central, but we drove through the rain and we were extremely glad we did. We couldn't have been more pleased.
The staff at check-in was very friendly and helpful and gave us a good discounted rate. We had traveled through Oregon and California staying at other Holiday Inn and Holiday Inn Express and none could compare. The lobby was upscale and impressive. The rooms were large, very clean, smelled fresh and the beds and pillows were a dream. There was a very large, well equipped gym and a business centre available.
In the morning we had our breakfast in a beautiful, large breakfast room complete with fireplace and balcony overlooking the breakfast are. The usual Express meal was available with excellent choices (some even healthy) with eggs, bacon, cereals, bagels, rolls, toast, biscuits, yogurt, choice of skim (hurray) or 2% milk and fresh fruit, including oranges.
Would we stay there again? You bet!!!!! We loved it!!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Sanpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (306)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

287 - 293 of 306 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2008

We were in St George and for some reason or another all of the hotels were full. The only hotel that was left was the Holiday Inn Express about 10 miles out of town. We had read a negative posting about the hotel on this site and we didn't want to stay but we really had no choice.

Just to set the record straight; I am in St George quite often and I have stayed at most of the motels in the area; this is by far the best hotel in southern Utah. The rooms are large and clean, the staff is polite and charming and the pool was heated and clean.
Shenise at the desk gave us information on all the parks in the area and gave recommendations on ways for my wife to kill some time while I was at meetings. Later in the evening Thomas recommended a great restaurant and even told us whose section to sit in. The only complaint I would say I had was the breakfast was a bit sparse; it was more like a Fairfield Inn breakfast but the staff more than made up for it.

We will never stay anywhere else in St George.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank LoganFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2007

So, here is the set up. I live in SLC but I frequently go down to the St. George area. This time, I had a business meeting in St. George on Saturday, but Sunday I wanted to go out on Sand Hollow reservoir with my boat. So, since I knew that there was a new HIE (Holiday Inn Express) motel (I think they just opened this month) at the Zion's exit, I thought I would give it a shot since I know that they usually have great value (price:offerings). Normally I would have stayed in St. George at some place like The Abbey Inn.

So we roll up and I enter and ask if they have a room. I knew they did because the parking lot was at best 1/8 full. Then I asked what the rate was..."$119" she says. I thought I must still be groggy from the drive so I asked again..."$119". I could not believe my ears...just so all of you know, the range for motels/hotels in the St. George/Hurricane area is $39 for the dumps to $139 for the Marriotts and Hiltons. And, there was not an availabitlity issue as they were at best 50% occupied. So I told her that and then they offered it down to $100 then to $92. I told them it was still not competitive and then left.

I then started out to my business meeting but received a call that it was cancelled. So, since I was going to Sand Hollow, the HIE was the most convenient so I went back, and checked in after all at the $92 rate.

I will say that the hotel is very nicely architected and the rooms are a cut above most HIEs that I have stayed in.

That night, we settled in and I opened the window to get some air. The window was capable of opening full wide and there was no screen. Nice child danger here.

We then crawled into bed. Well it seems that this hotel was so new that the sheets had never even been used and had that first use, unwashed itchy, dry, rough feel...I am sure most of you know what I mean. I was too tired to complain and get a bed change so I just lived with it.

So, 6:20 AM rolls around and I wake up and go to take a shower. I run the water and fiddle witht the control for 10 minutes but I can't get any hot water...its maybe 90 degrees at best. I check the faucets...same deal.

I then call down and speak to Bryce (nice Utah name). I tell him about the water and ask if it will be fixed soon, he says "I doubt it". I tell him about the sheets too and he says he will "Take care of it". I am so miffed I just hang up and get ready for the day...without a shower.

So we finally go downstairs for breakfast and I go to check out. The front desk lady is nice and says that it looks like Bryce "took care of it" by cutting my rate in half. How nice. So, basically bad sheets and no shower for my family still costs $50. If they wanted to win me over at this point, they should have comped me 100%.

The last topper was the breakfast. Now, given this is a "high-end" HIE, I was expecting them to go the extra mile. Sorry, no great breakfast here. It was good, just not great. I mean, I would have at least expected the real belgian waffles via those cool machines...but no, it was the usual toaster (toaster waffles) and cereal fare. Even the juices they could not keep full.

I realize that this place just opened up, and will have issues, but that is why you prepare the PEOPLE to know how to deal with the inevitabl speedbumps and give them the freedom to let these first guests leave with a great impression.

In summary, the value in St. George is much better and if you are coming up fromt the south I strongly urge you to try the Abbey Inn (Best Western). They give a full breakfast buffet (eggs, bacon, waffles, the works) for a value price of around $89/night.

This HIE would best reconsider their pricing as well as the staff training and lattitude they should give them to make happy returning customers.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank thefu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Express_Coral_Canyon, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites St. George North-Zion, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2011

Thank you for your response. When the hotel opened in 2007, rates were higher than the market dictated. Today, all rates are competitive to simliar hotel properties in the St. George area. Please accept my apology for the negative experience that you encountered. I am confident that you will enjoy the changes that we have made over the past four years.

Best Regards,

Drew Heaps
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
Thank Marco33G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank VerenaGroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, traveled with family
Thank Eva C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2016, traveled with family
Thank Leon v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washington
8.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Hurricane Near Zion National Park
10.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Zion West Hotel
10.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites La Verkin - Gateway to Zion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Springdale - Zion Natl Pk Area
9.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Abbey Inn
4.9 mi away
Quality Inn I-15 Red Cliffs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites St. George North-Zion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites St. George North-Zion

Address: 2450 North Town Center Drive, Washington, UT 84780-2469
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Washington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Washington
Price Range: $92 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites St. George North-Zion 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Washington, Utah, is the Gateway to Zion National Park and other southern Utah destinations. Our hotel, located in North Saint George, is in a unique location sitting among beautiful views of Red Rock Mountains, Desert Bluffs, and an array of landscape colors. Travelers benefit from our close proximity to many national and state parks, including Zion National Park, Bryce Canyon National Park, Sand Hollow State Park and Grand Canyon National Park North Rim. Your family is sure to enjoy exploring Zion National Park, located just 30 miles from our St. George area hotel. The park offers winding hiking trails with rare geological formations. Snow Canyon State Park, a favorite rock climbing spot for locals, is also located just 20 minutes from the hotel. If shopping is your preference, visit the Zion Factory Stores, an outlet mall with 30 brand name shops and restaurants. And golfers can tee off at 1 of 12 St. George area golf courses within 10 miles. The Holiday Inn Express & Suites, Washington, Utah, also offers business travelers ideal amenities such as spacious meeting rooms, catering services, large work desks and free high-speed, wireless Internet. Corporate travelers will appreciate our close proximity to local businesses such as Wal-Mart Distribution Center, Dixie Regional Medical Center and Dixie State College. All travelers will enjoy a free hot breakfast, served each morning in our spacious 'Great Room,' which features such as an upscale lodge-style lobby with Frank Lloyd Wright-inspired decor and eco-friendly bamboo flooring. Guests can also relax in our outdoor heated pool and whirlpool hot-tub, or maintain their exercise routine with our 24-hour Fitness Center. All this, and more, is available at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Washington, Utah. Safe travels, and we hope to see you soon in southern Utah! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites St. George North-Zion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Washington
Holiday Inn Express Washington
Holiday Inn Washington
Washington Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites St. George North-Zion Washington, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing