We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best campground we have ever stayed at!”
Review of Zion River Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Virgin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Zion River Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“The best campground we have ever stayed at!”
Reviewed July 15, 2011

This was by far the nicest campground I have ever stayed at. We stayed here three nights while visiting Zion National Park. The facilities were clean (the bathrooms were nicer than the ones at many hotels I have stayed at,) air conditioned, close and locked so only guests could use them. The store was nice and the prices weren't outrageous for the food items and souvenirs that they sold. Plus they had a wide variety of unique gifts (boutique gifts to be exact- perfume etc.) that you wouldn't expect to find at a campground. The campground is about a 20 minute drive from the south entrance of Zion and was well worth the $40 we spent a night to camp there. We received 6 tokens when we checked in and found that to be more than enough to shower with (each token is worth 5 minutes of shower time, which is an awful lot I you think about it.) As other reviews mentioned it seemed that everywhere we turned there was someone cleaning or making the place look nice. The spa and pool were very nice and they have evening activities such as wine and cheese tasting on Thursday night which was a nice addition to our trip and totally unexpected.

The only negative is that the campsite was on gravel- it was by the highway that goes by but we were so tired that we hardly noticed- plus the sound of the river behind us drowned most of that out. There was electrical hookup at this campground for the tent sites. The other thing that really stood out to us was their good customer service. The second night we were there there was a family next to us that took over part of our campsite, were very loud and told us they were going to park on our site. We told them that no, they weren't going to park on our site and that they couldn't utilize our picnic table and went to the front desk with our concerns. The front desk proceeded to send people to check on the site next to ours at 9:30, 10:00 and 10:30 at night. They were very concerned that we have the space allotted to us and we appreciated their attentiveness to the situation and as a result we didn't have any issues with the people next to us again. I would highly recommend staying here and we will continue to come back here!

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank eclipsethecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    74
    21
    5
    10
See reviews for
140
116
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cotati, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 13, 2011

Everything about Zion River Resort was beyond our expectations. Our "back in" RV spot was perfect. We were next to the river and had a large private area in rear to enjoy sitting around fire pit in the evening and plenty of space for barbequing and picnic table. The resort had a grocery store, showers/restrooms, game room and a wonderful swimming pool. In addition, each night they offered some kind of activity that you could choose to participate. It makes a perfect place to stay while visiting Zion National Park or surrounding area. We plan on visiting and staying at the resort again in the future and would recommend the resort to anyone looking for great amenities and friendly helpful staff.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank twinks2not1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

A++++ site.

Staff so friendly and helpful nothing but good things to say about this site.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riddle89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
1 review
Reviewed July 10, 2011

This RV park has a very nice, upscale ambiance. You do feel that you are on vacation and not just spending the night. The facilities are appealing, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Our site backed on to the Virgin River, which is separated from your site-line by a low berm, but pleasant to listen to. The sites are close to each other, which didn't bother us, as we enjoyed sitting out and visiting with the neighbors. We also enjoyed the swimming pool, which is nicely landscaped.. The included WiFi worked well. We were here three nights and would happily have stayed longer.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greg_in_san_mateo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2011

We came to this campground at the last minute, having spent enough time at Bryce. It is on the West side of the park, as we came thru the East tunnel from Bryce.

The park is on the Virgin River which is gorgeous. We are tent campers, this park is mostly for trailers.

They have a gorgeous pool, beautiful showers and laundry facilities. The grounds are meticulously maintained.

My only "gripe" would be that the park is monitored by the hosts via golf carts. That is great, but I felt they tended to be a bit invasive to our privacy. They literally stopped by every 15 minutes or so, checking in if you will. The morning after our arrival, they showed up at our tent at 7:15 am to see if everything is ok. I have no problem with the hosts making sure that we had everything we needed, but that early?

Overall, I would stay here again but just make it very clear that we are on vacation and not a social cruise.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BabsSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2011

This is what I expect of an RV resort in the USA. Friendly helpful staff, quiet location and a spacious, clean well laid out park.
Complimentary coffee in the morning is a nice touch.
Only has 7 showers though which not enough and in spite of being easily the most expensive place we stayed on our trip you are charged $1 for a 5 minute shower (they do give you 1 free).
Zion national park is 12 miles away and is simply breathtaking.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris1304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North River, NY
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2011

My husband and I took our camper to Zion River Resort for a short stay and ended up staying a whole week. It's only 12 mi. from the national park so very convenient for touring. The campsites are more spacious than average and each has a grassy spot and a gravelled spot for picnic table and fire ring. The campground is pretty and immaculate. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. Just after we settled into our site, someone came and welcomed us, told us about the campground and the area, etc. They have nightly activities and we especially enjoyed the wine and cheese party which gave us a nice opportunity to meet other campers and share experiences.
The pool is clean and lovely and the store has all the essentials plus some lovely souvenier type gifts. We'd highly recommend this campground.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaelford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Virgin
5.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites La Verkin - Gateway to Zion
5.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Zion West Hotel
10.2 mi away
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 16 in Springdale
1,856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Hurricane Near Zion National Park
9.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Springdale - Zion Natl Pk Area
6.7 mi away
EconoLodge
EconoLodge
#3 of 6 in Hurricane
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zion River Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zion River Resort

Property: Zion River Resort
Address: 551 E Sr 9, Virgin, UT 84779-7726
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Virgin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Virgin
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only 5-Star Resort in Utah. Just thirteen miles from Zion National Park, we are ideally located for easy access to one of the nations most beautiful parks. Zion River Resort is also the perfect base camp for day trips to Bryce Canyon National Park, Grand Canyon North Rim, Cedar Breaks National Monument and many other of the Southwest's most popular destinations. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Zion River Hotel Virgin
Zion River Resort Virgin, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing