We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely place to stop”
Review of Zion River Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Virgin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Zion River Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 12, 2007

a very well kept, friendly resort on the doorstep of zion national park. a nice setting next to the virgin river with swimming pool, a well stocked shop and friendly staff .full hook ups with level sites makes it a great place to stay, we also had great pancakes for breakfast! i would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gomms13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (334)
There are newer reviews for Zion River Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

305 - 311 of 334 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2007

We stayed at this campground two years ago. At that time a smell of raw sewage would waift through our campground throughout the day. When we decided to travel this area again I contacted Zion River Resort by an email that asked if they had addressed the issue. I received no response. After about a week I decided to call. The Zion River Resort representative stated that the smell is not a problem as long as the temperature is below 95 degree fairenheit. When we arrive late at night the temperature was in the 70's at the most. Right away we smelled the terrible odor of raw sewage. Everyday, everynight we were there we had to deal with this horrendous odor. I will never stay at this facility again because of the way we were mislead and mistreated by the staff there.

Stayed: October 2007
Thank rickster_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2007

Wonderful place ...planned to stay there a week in August ...but they just got washed out by a flash flood and the park is covered in 4 feet of mud ....wonderful staff called us that night to apologize that we couldn't stay there!

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank r0llinr0llinr0llin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2006

This place is in Virgin, about 10 miles from the west entrance to Zion. During the summer, only the park shuttle will take you into Zion (but Hi 9 is open). So you'll take a shuttle in any case, but by staying at Zion Canyon, you could walk to the shuttle stops.

We drove to the Zion Canyon resort which is also mentioned in reviews. Zion Canyon is much closer, but I'd give it a mere 2 stars from just the looks. Dirt sites, uneven, not the cleanest, but OK none the ness. Shuttle parking is available at many of the roadside businesses without a charge.

Zion River is one of the best campgrounds I have ever stayed at. VERY clean, fantastic office and sites. Great office people.

I give it 5 stars....

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RDibbxsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2004

Stay here if you intend to hike in the remote Kolob section of Zion, but not if you plan to visit the main section of the park. Those going to hike the subway might find this property handy. Stay in Springdale or the East side of Zion if you want to enjoy the park. Springdale is good for those that like a small city atmosphere, but for those that come to the park for quiet and solitude look at Mt. Carmel Jct. and other east side hotels.

  • Stayed: October 2004
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank doulfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Irvine, CA
11
Reviewed September 12, 2004

Actually, Zion River Resort (ZRR) provides a shuttle service for people who are staying at their resort and wish to tour the Zion. Yes, you can travel through a portion of the Zion which is a major highway, but the part you actually want to see is not opent to vehicles.

ZRR has no interest in misleading people into thinking you have to stay at their park to drive through the highway portion of Zion. Besides, the vast majority of people traveling to see Zion already know that the highway portion is open to travel.

  • Stayed: January 2004
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2004

We toured Arizona, Utah and Nevada in a motorhome a few weeks ago and loved the Zion River Park. The people were very friendly at the front desk and the campground was very well manicured. Nice pool and well stocked camp store.

Zion National Park is trying to cut down on the traffic through the park and there are several areas that you cannot get to in a personal car. Take their advise. park your car and take the shuttle. It's free and convenient.

1  Thank PSUalum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Virgin
5.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Zion West Hotel
7.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Hurricane Near Zion National Park
9.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Springdale - Zion Natl Pk Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springdale Zion National Park
5.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites La Verkin - Gateway to Zion
10.2 mi away
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
#4 of 16 in Springdale
1,927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zion River Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zion River Resort

Address: 551 E Sr 9, Virgin, UT 84779-7726
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Virgin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Virgin
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only 5-Star Resort in Utah. Just thirteen miles from Zion National Park, we are ideally located for easy access to one of the nations most beautiful parks. Zion River Resort is also the perfect base camp for day trips to Bryce Canyon National Park, Grand Canyon North Rim, Cedar Breaks National Monument and many other of the Southwest's most popular destinations. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Zion River Hotel Virgin
Zion River Resort Virgin, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing