We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable & convenient with a subtle dino theme” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Dinosaur Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Dinosaur Inn
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Vernal
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Comfortable & convenient with a subtle dino theme”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

We wanted to add to our dino-themed vacation through Utah by staying in a hotel with a dinosaur theme. Our 5-year-old loved the giant brachiosaurus sign out front and the little dino figures that come with the bath soaps. The place is in the middle of renovation but quickly moved us from a 2nd floor room to one away from the construction when we asked. And everything was quiet between 5 pm and 8 am. You can also walk to the Utah Field House of Natural History from the hotel. We would stay here again without hesitation.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank primroseLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    161
    50
    23
    15
See reviews for
140
134
21
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Northfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

Even though they were in the midst of a remodel, our room was not one of the ones completed. Yet, I can not complain. It was clean and we slept well. The wi-fi was good. There was the typical BW free breakfast. There are two BWs in Vernal - this is DINOSAUR - closest to Dinosaur National Monument.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Northfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaysville, Utah
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

This hotel is currently undergoing a huge renovation. I love the retro feel with all new amenities. We stayed in a family suite and loved it. We have a large family and the family suite has three beds in it. I prefer that to two beds and a pull out couch. You never know what you may get with a pull out. The beds were comfortable, the room clean, and the breakfast was hot! We also enjoyed that they played up on their name and the fact that they are right next to the Dinosaur museum by putting little toy dinosaurs in with the complimentary toiletries.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Tina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

We chose the Best Western dinosaur Inn for it's location, but really enjoyed the room and the new beds. We didn't want to pay the higher price that others in town, but decided to because of the newness of the room/bed. Everything was really nice.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Harold E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylorsville, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

I have stayed here many times with no problems. This visit was a problem from the time I got there until the time I left. I had requested a lower floor room, because it is hard for my wife to do stairs. They had put us on the 2nd floor when we got there. I had the desk attendant look for something else. He found a room, and gave us a key. It looked as though the previous occupant had left 20 minutes prior. The bed was a mess, and the shower was still wet. We returned to the office and told the attendant. He said he had no one to clean it, but would find another room. We had to leave for a couple of hours, but he said he would have a key for us when we returned. We got back...no key. There were now a couple of girls attending the desk. One of them said she knew about it, and was going to give us a key. The key coder would not work, so one of them had to walk us to the room and let us in. About 20 minutes later, they brought the key. Shortly after 7:00 the next morning, workers in the room directly above us started hammering VERY HEAVILY, as they were working on something, and woke us up. This went on for about 40 minutes. I have stayed here MANY times, but they will have to step up their game to get me to continue. Once more like this, and I will never stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

Road warrior here. Spend 3/4's of the year on the road. Been staying at Best Western Dinosaur Inn, in Vernal, Utah, for almost 3 years. I'm on an expense account, and could stay at the Marriott properties, or the Holiday Inn, or others. The entire staff at BW Dino are most likely some of the friendliest - and genuine and know how to make you feel comfortable - folks you could ever know; from the girls who do the breakfasts, to the housekeepers, to the maintenance guy (Julio) to the front desk clerks, and the manager and the owner's son-in-law who works the property. It's been a great experience. They have a swimming pool - get this - that's actually outside. What a concept, right? It's located so you get the Spring and Summer sun all through the afternoons and early evenings. BW Dino has larger-than-normal rooms and suites available. Ask if one is available upon check-in. The beds and pillows are very comfortable. The hotel is located in the middle of town. Dinosaur National Monument and the roads up to Ashley National Forest are all nearby. Flaming Gorge is about a 45 minute drive. There are good restaurants within walking distance; try Vernal Brewery a couple blocks away; they have good burgers and offer Utah's weak beers but also hi-octane brew pub beers. Watch out for those 14%'ers. Could be a rough day when you wake up. The parking behind the pool is a bit tight, otherwise parking is no problem. The oil business is booming now, so the prices in the area can be a bit high, but still, if you go to the Marriott or Holiday Inn properties, well, you'll pay a lot more $'s for their name. Personally, I find the value per $ = more at BW Dino. And you get the same/greater comfort you'd find at other hotels in the area. And comfort is what we all want in a hotel room at the end of the day. I recco joining BW rewards program; you may find some deals on there that you won't on travel sites. Finally, no, not an employee of BW or its affiliates or associates. Not getting paid for this. Honest, from-the-heart critique here.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
3 Thank Jeffrey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

We have stayed at Dinosaur Inn on 5 separate occasions in the past 18 months during all seasons. If you're in the Vernal area this place is one of the top places to consider. Staff is incredibly accomadating and friendly, the facilities are excellent with large rooms and the pool is nice and cool in the summer. It's also close to 2 of the best restaurants in town. Lots of fun things to do in this area as well.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
3 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vernal hotels
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Vernal-Dinosaurland
0.9 mi away
Ledgestone Hotel Vernal
Ledgestone Hotel Vernal
#5 of 17 in Vernal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
3.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 17 in Vernal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Vernal
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Antlers
BEST WESTERN Antlers
#7 of 17 in Vernal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.1 mi away
Landmark Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Dinosaur Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Dinosaur Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Dinosaur Inn
Address: 251 East Main Street, Vernal, UT 84078
Location: United States > Utah > Vernal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Vernal
#6 Family Hotel in Vernal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Dinosaur Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your BEST WESTERN Dinosaur Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Vernal
Vernal Best Western
BEST WESTERN Dinosaur Inn Vernal, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing