We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect one night stop”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Dinosaur Inn
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Vernal
Certificate of Excellence
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
244 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Perfect one night stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2008

On approaching Vernal, the city advertises its beautiful Main Street. And this is with justice. A miles long street with american flags and beautiful flower baskets on every lamp-post.
The Dinosaur Inn lies along this Main Street.
From the outside the different hotel aisles are not so attractive in an outfashioned white stone. But the rooms are very spacious, very clean and offer a lot of space for luggage. A pleasant detail: rooms were already cooled upon arrival.
The outdoor pool lies amidst the complex and luckily not along the rather busy road.
Breakfast can be ordered in an annex building of the hotel. It's a rather unattractive and badly maintained local. You feel rather in a gasstation than in a hotel with a Christmas tree in a corner (end of July) and singles on the walls. Very cheap interior and rather poor quality of breakfast.

  • Liked — Location and spacious rooms
  • Disliked — Breakfast room
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank harmonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashleebru, Manager at BEST WESTERN Dinosaur Inn, responded to this review, April 14, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to review our motel. We hope to see you again at the Best Western Dinosaur Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    161
    50
    23
    16
See reviews for
140
134
21
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2006

We stayed at the Best Western Dinosaur Inn on June 18th. It was an oversized, bottom floor, corner room that was fairly quiet. It had 2 pillow top double beds, one king pillow top bed, and a pull out sofa. There was a microwave, coffee maker, and a hidden refrigerator. They also had a pull out, sheer curtain between the king bed and doubles (for some privacy?) It was nicely furnished, except for a chair at the vanity mirror. The housekeeping may need a little work, because my child found a toy turtle stuck between the sofa cushions. Otherwise, it seemed fairly clean. The bathtub and toilet area was adequate. If they had offered a simple continental breakfast, I would have rated it a little higher. But, it was a large quiet, comfortable room for a reasonable price. We would stay here again.

  • Liked — Large, quiet room with pillow top beds
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveler from CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashleebru, manager at BEST WESTERN Dinosaur Inn, responded to this review, April 14, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We hope that we will be your stop again when you travel through the Vernal area. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrison City
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2006

My family stayed here 1 night and everything was just fine. The room had a refrigerator and microwave, which was a huge bonus since we have a 2 and 4 year old. The room was also huge with plenty of space for them to run around. Overall we had a pleasant experience with no problems. They have an attached restaurant which was very good since they didn't offer a free continental breakfast.

Helpful?
2 Thank SLWillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashleebru, Manager at BEST WESTERN Dinosaur Inn, responded to this review, April 14, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We would love to see you again at the Best Western Dinosaur Inn. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2005

We stayed three nights here and enjoyed our stay. It was busy and a bit noisy one of the nights - which was not the hotel's fault but other thoughtless guests.
The pool and gym room was ideal for the kids. Service was friendly and helpful. Our room was very clean and a good size. The bathroom was needing a bit of paint - but it was not dirty. Average for the money, we would visit again.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashleebru, Manager at BEST WESTERN Dinosaur Inn, responded to this review, April 14, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our hotel. I hope that the next time you stay with the Best Western Dinosaur Inn we can make your stay execptional with the improvements we have made. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2005

Arrived on a Friday evening after a long drive from Bryce Canyon, and found our room smelled like urine (human or animal, I don't know). Front desk clerk checked on it and proclaimed it as "new furniture smell" and that all their rooms smelled like that. Since it was Friday night, there were no other rooms available. Clerk sprayed Fabreeze (fabric softener?) in the room to cover up odor, and offered to allow us to check out without penalty. After an hour checking on alternatives, we decided to get a room at the Econolodge next door, which had a basic but clean room at a lower rate. When checking out, clerk turned hostile, saying that we've been in the room for "over an hour"! After I reminded her that she allowed us to check out, she saidthat she could have rented out the room had we decided to check out earlier. Yeah, right! This motel does not deserve to be a Best Western.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank onshortfinal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashleebru, Manager at BEST WESTERN Dinosaur Inn, responded to this review, April 14, 2010
I am very sorry to hear that your stay at the Best Western Dinosaur Inn was not up to standards. We have taken the opportunity to improve on our hotel and hope that you may stay with us again. Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, ca
Level Contributor
57 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2005

We found this hotel very disappointing, and complaints to Best Western fell on deaf ears.

Although we booked a non-smoking room, we were given a smoking room. Manager said take it or leave it - but in the middle of summer tourist season, the other motels in town were full, leaving us no other choice. Due to hot weather when we visited (July), we had to run the air conditioner full blast, but it was very noisy and kept all of us for much of the night. When the sun came up in the morning, we couldn't leave fast enough.

The joke of it is that AAA rates this place 3 diamonds. Yes, there is a telephone in the bathroom, which must count for a couple of diamonds on the AAA rating scale. But our experience left us few reasons to recommend this place.

On the positive side - the pool was refreshing, and the museum next door was very interesting.

  • Stayed July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank brucegary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashleebru, Manager at BEST WESTERN Dinosaur Inn, responded to this review, April 14, 2010
Thank you for the review on our hotel. We have taken your comments and used them to improve on our accommodaion we offer our guest. Thank you and we hope to see you again at the Best Western Dinosaur Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2004

We expected a pretty nice motel because AAA had rated this place 3 diamonds but we certainly didn't get anything special. The room was adequate but nothing special. Outside was mainly blacktop -- virtually no landscaping or grass and the pool (the main reason we booked the place) was closed. It didn't even have water in it. There was really no place to sit and have a quiet drink outside.
Breakfast was pretty plain and the breakfast room was hidden away above the gift shop. (There were lots of nice gifts though.)
We stayed there in Mid May. The weather was hot (85 degrees). We should have got a special rate because the place wasn't fully opened but none was offered. No more Best Westerns for us.

Helpful?
11 Thank LeonardGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashleebru, manger at BEST WESTERN Dinosaur Inn, responded to this review, April 14, 2010
Thank you for the review that you submitted we have taken that oppurtunity to improve our hotel to meet our clients higher expectations. Thank again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vernal
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Vernal-Dinosaurland
0.9 mi away
Ledgestone Hotel Vernal
Ledgestone Hotel Vernal
#3 of 17 in Vernal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
3.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#7 of 17 in Vernal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Vernal
1.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Naples Vernal
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Antlers
BEST WESTERN Antlers
#6 of 17 in Vernal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Dinosaur Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Dinosaur Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Dinosaur Inn
Address: 251 East Main Street, Vernal, UT 84078
Location: United States > Utah > Vernal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Vernal
#5 Business Hotel in Vernal
#6 Family Hotel in Vernal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Dinosaur Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your BEST WESTERN Dinosaur Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Vernal
Vernal Best Western
BEST WESTERN Dinosaur Inn Vernal, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing