We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This was our Companies Summer Party this year!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dinosaur River Expeditions - Private Day Tours

Dinosaur River Expeditions - Private Day Tours
Ranked #6 of 14 things to do in Vernal
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Dinosaur River Expeditions offers RIVER RAFTING adventures on premier COLORADO RIVERS and UTAH RIVERS. The trips we offer are on the GREEN RIVER through the Gates of Lodore Canyon and the YAMPA RIVER. The one day river rafting trip is in the Flaming Gorge Recreation Area. Are WHITE WATER RIVER RAFTING trips are all inclusive, we provide the necessary safety gear, guides, transportation do all of the cooking and give you an all around excellent trip. Dinosaur River Expeditions has been a leader in white water rafting trips since 1979. We are proud to be the only locally owned and operated outfitter in Vernal, Utah. This give us that little edge to make your trip even better.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Roy, Utah
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“This was our Companies Summer Party this year!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

Each year our company invites all of our employees and their families to a Utah Activity/Attraction. This year we did the half day Green River 7 Miles Rafting Trip. I was the person in charge of arranging this for our employee's. Dinosaur River Expeditions (Ty and Jen) were so great to work with. They were so helpful and accommodating for our large group. We had adults, children, people who had experience and those that had never been on a river before and the guides were so good to each and every one of us. The information the guides provided to us about the area as we floated down the river was amazing. We stopped along the river for a lunch that our guides provided for us...it was yummy. As the organizer, I had so many great compliments and not ONE complaint. Everyone wants to do this trip again. I highly recommend Dinosaur River Expeditions! Go...you will have a great time.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    1
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous Raft Trip with Dinosaur River Expeditions!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

We went on the 4 day 3 night rafting trip down the Green River July 6th (2014) and it was most excellent! Tyler and Jan, the owners, are friendly, helpful, and want to you have a great experience. Much of DRE's procedures (menus and food, dry bags, readily available water) are very much like other raft companies- so rest assured that they have every aspect of the trip figured out. If you take time to look around their website, you will find a wealth of information to guide you. The river guides are a blast and they will see that you get anything you request. They had many fun things for us to do around the camp fire at night- some were absolutely hilarious. There are parts of the Green River that are flat water- never a raft company's fault- that gives you time to take in the beauty of the area. One more thing about the owners- I found myself in a glitch where the internet marketing company had sold me 1 trip but the trip had sold out before the 2nd trip (my husband and I) I purchased went through :-( I called Jan and bingo! We had the trip for 2 at the same rate as the marketers quoted. They are really wonderful people and you will enjoy your trip. We plan to return next year to take the trip down the Yampa River. PS- Ladies, I suggest bringing a wide mouth cup so you can "pee" in the night without having to go down to the river. :-)

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uintah, Utah
1 review
“THE best time ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

We can't stop talking about our river trip!! What has taken us so long to do this?! Already talking about our next and much longer trip! Food was FANTASTIC! Guides were AWESOME! Scenery was INCREDIBLE! Water fights were HILARIOUS! Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! Dinosaur River Expeditions for THE best time!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tafni L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
“As good as it gets : Rafting the Gates of Ladore (Green River)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

I can't imagine a better trip : incredible scenery/geology, one of the more remote areas of the country where everyone must unplug and unwind, super refreshing river that wasn't too cold like some alpine environments, pristine campgrounds with beautiful sand beaches, whitewater fun for all ages, gorgeous desert climate, a bunch of historical significance, and last but most definitely not least: great people!

Everyone from the owners to the people on the river are genuinely devoted to working hard with a smile to ensure you have a great experience. The guides were really awesome: fun, knowledgable, safe, and happy.

Very cool that they offer a better discount for children (versus their competitors)...it's a phenomenal family play (provided you aren't vehemently opposed to camping.)

We were very glad we did the four day (versus the three day).

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tommy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norton Shores, Michigan
Level Contributor
184 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A little bit boring for rapids!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

Friends and I booked this trip. We were given little information about what to bring and wear, when we tried to contact the company the morning of our trip we could not get through.

Upon arrival we had to pay the remainder of our trip cost (less $25 deposits) and the company didn't have change for those of us that paid cash! Then we were told we should have brought water and sent to a gas station across the street, we did not end up needing this water. Some people brought their own coolers and the company put them on the rafts for them.

Once at the location and all checked in and waivers signed, there is a 30+ minute drive to the put-in location. On the way there the guides give you lots of information about local hiking areas and attractions. Once at the put in location that is your last chance to use the bathrooms! This led to me not drinking any water during our lunch stop. The lunch is very rustic, but lots is provided (except for seats!).

After lunch, the trip goes very quickly and before you know it you are done! But luckily, there are bathrooms at this area. If you are considering booking the easy rapids, don't, it is hardly rapids at all. Being in the kayaks makes it slightly more fun, but I would suggest just booking the next up trip. Dry bags are available to store your valuables, although you really don't need to bring anything other than a waterproof camera. Life vests are provided, and a safety talk is given. Helmets were not provided (or needed) on our trip.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dinosaur River Expeditions - Private Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing