We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Living Socially”

Dinosaur River Expeditions
Ranked #3 of 16 things to do in Vernal
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Dinosaur River Expeditions has been a leader in white water rafting trips since 1979. We are proud to be the only locally owned and operated outfitter in Vernal, Utah. We offer RIVER RAFTING adventures on premier COLORADO RIVERS and UTAH RIVERS.The trips we offer are on the GREEN RIVER through the Gates of Lodore Canyon and the YAMPA RIVER. The one day river rafting trip is in the Flaming Gorge Recreation Area. Our WHITE WATER RIVER RAFTING trips are all inclusive, we provide the necessary safety gear, guides, transportation do all of the cooking and give you an all around excellent trip. If you are looking for an incredible raft trip in Dinosaur National Monument we are your outfitter.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Reviewed July 25, 2013

A group of my friends went out to DRE this past weekend and had an awesome time. We (eight of us) purchased living social deals for a four day, three night trip with DRE back in April and so the anticipation had been growing for quite some time. Any and all expectations we had were totally surpassed! Jen and Tyler were beyond hospital from the get go at the first meeting encouraging everyone to pack and bring anything that would make the trip as enjoyable and comfortable as possible. For us, that meant a few 30 racks. For others, it meant utilizing multiple dry sacks for personal belongings.

Our guides were very personable and never made anyone feel like a burden. Anything you asked or even jokingly suggested at, they were there to accommodate. Each guide had their own personality and brought something different to the trip, including the cargo boats man, Young Buck. So I highly recommend that if you go on a multi-day trip, try to get on each of your guide's boat at some point.

I will be honest, we didn't know what to expect and were a bit reserved about the suggested dollar amount for the tip/person(customer)/day. At the end of the trip we felt the guides exceeded expectations and were beyond deserving of the recommended amount (just as a heads up when going to the ATM before departure).

The fun was abundant and the food was delicious! There is nothing that can be said about the trip that would make this review shine through other than you going and experiencing it for yourself!

Special thanks to A & C for their efforts in a medical emergency one of the other guests had. You really are in good hands and your safety is at the top of the guide's priorities from the moment you pull up to the load out to the moment you say your good-byes.

This is a trip we will never forget and can't wait to come back next year and try out the Yampa. To all you readers out there wondering who to go with on your river rafting adventure, go with Dinosaur River Expeditions, you won't regret it, you'll only regret you hadn't done it sooner!

Thank Amanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler C, Owner at Dinosaur River Expeditions, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Wow, what an incredible review. Thank you so much for taking the time to write it. It is greatly appreciated. Jen and I are very passionate about the trips we offer and are proud of the excellent job the guides do out there on the river. I can easily say we have the best staff in Dinosaur National Monument guiding river trips. We hope you will make it back for that Yampa River trip and Thank You again for such a great response to the river trip.
Tyler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 102 of 112 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2013

My wife and I spent 4 amazing days on the Green River through Dinosaur National Monument with DRE and will never forget it. Tyler, Josh, and the rest of the team was fantastic and showed how much they care about the safety and enjoyment of guests. The scenery is nothing short of spectacular and we would never be able to see it any other way. The guides made this trip fun and they worked really hard to ensure we all had great food and were comfortable. We had so much fun in the kayak we barely got back in the rafts. We both also got to SUP for the first time. This trip has the perfect combo of relaxing calm water and lots of fun rapids. We feel lucky to have experienced the river and canyons in a way that few people ever will. We will definitely go back for more trips and bring our families so they too can experience the Monument. And bonus, we also saw lots of wildlife including bald eagles, beavers, and a herd of big horn sheep that passed right through our camp! Keep up the great work Tyler and Jen.

1  Thank cadehoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler C, Owner at Dinosaur River Expeditions, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

It is so great to hear how much you enjoyed your river trip with us. It is always our pleasure to pass along our passion for the Green River and the many amazing things you will see along the way. Can't wait to have you back with your family, hopefully in the near future.
Thanks for the great review and we look forward to seeing you again.
Regards, Tyler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

My husband and I took a day trip this past weekend and it was amazing. Not only is the scenery beautiful but the guides were awesome. They were fun, outgoing and very professional. I was a little nervous about the rapids but Allison and Sean made me feel completely safe. This was the highlight of our trip!! Thank you all so much for showing us a great time!

Thank Heather F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler C, Owner at Dinosaur River Expeditions, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

We are excited to hear that you had such a great time on our river rafting trip. We feel very fortunate to have such incredible guides on our trips. Our pride is having the most experienced guide staff for white water rafting trips in the Vernal, Utah area. Hopefully you can make it back one of these days for a four or five day trip in Dinosaur National Monument.
Tyler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

There is too much to say and I need to get to bed after 4 incredible days on AND OFF the river! The guides were a BLAST-The scenery was magnificent-The food (yes who would have thought about that) was delicious-The camp sites were spectacular-The rapids... just enough-and the memories are unforgettable. Thanks to Tyler, Josh. Steve, LT and the rest of the guides at Dinosaur

1  Thank fraink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler C, Owner at Dinosaur River Expeditions, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Thank you for the great review. We are truly passionate about the river trips we offer and it is always a pleasure to know our hard work has paid off with our guests having an excellent trip. We hope you can make it back and take a Yampa River Trip with us in the near future. Tyler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We went on a three day family trip on the Green. The canyons were spectacular, the rapids were thrilling and the staff treated us first class. Great food, great fun.

Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler C, Owner at Dinosaur River Expeditions, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

It was an amazing trip having you and all of your family along. Thank you for providing the amazing photos that you took. We hope that the rest of your vacation was great and look forward to seeing you on the river again one of these upcoming summers. Tyler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dinosaur River Expeditions also viewed

 

Been to Dinosaur River Expeditions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing