We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like a good stomach cramp? Go here...”
Review of Golden Corral

Golden Corral
Ranked #15 of 60 Restaurants in Vernal
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Vernal, Utah
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Like a good stomach cramp? Go here...”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

It amazes me that in the state of Utah, you are required to carry a Food Handler's Permit to work around food. The reason for amazement is food safety is not often enforced at least from my experience.I don't know why they even require the permit because managers I have showed the permit to shrug when you have it. They don't even want to see it and it costs $20.00! As an employee working in a Vernal food establishment, I have seen salads being made on a raw meat(red) cutting board and served,(!) wearing gloves as a second hand, and generally doing things (not providing soap in employee bathrooms, storing leftover food in cans...) that would get you written up or fired elsewhere but seems to be A-OK here. When calling attention to these things, the manager somehow becomes threatened I am trying to steal their job away and so causes unnecessary drama. That being said I have had raw chicken at Golden Corral in Vernal on two separate occasions.Raw as when blood gushes out the top when pierced. No apologies, no attention to the problem, just blank stares by the wait staff and then walking away both times, seven years apart(yes I never ate here for seven years from the first incident and then went back and the chicken was raw again.). Sorry, staring is not going to make it magically delicious. Cooking it might.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank kell221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    21
    17
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Grantham, Lincolnshire, UK
Level Contributor
55 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Hmmm - not the best”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Golden Corrals are all equal but some are more equal than others and this isn't one of them. The food wasn't very well-presented - they seem quite content to leave dried-up tubs of soup on show, for example. I saw one diner pick up a new plate only to see dried-up food on the back of the plate below. He pointed this out to a passing waitress who said 'well, it's not my fault' and walked off, doing nothing about it. If you see forks in the dispenser, make sure you grab one because it might be the last you'll see for a while - they don't fall over themselves to keep on top of the washing up.The whole aura is of a slightly grubby canteen. No-one expects GC to be the Ritz but this is a relatively dirty example of the chain and we have eaten in many far better examples. Food was no better than adequate.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank WelbyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinez, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stay away!”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

There isn't much dining in Vernal so we decided to try this. The health department needs to take over! The aprons the staff wear look like they haven't been washed in weeks. There is food all over the floor. Almost slipped twice on food left on the floor. The choices were bad buffet style. Had hair cooked into a piece of fish. The carpet hasn't been steam cleaned ever. Overall GROSS!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank B H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Falls
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't go!”
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Old building...fine, but it was dirty. Food was not good. Place was busy, but why??? $11 for adult plus drink. Nothing like Golden Corral's I have visited before. This is something to pass on.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Cloebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Not up to Golden Corral standards”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Not a lot of variety. Lots of deep fried, non healthy choices. New plates where brought out and stacked wet. Teenage hostess was more interested in flirting with guys than attending quickly to customers. Over all not a pleasant experience. I won't be going back to this sub standard Golden Corral.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TWK435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Golden Corral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing