We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They will rip you off !”
Review of Sage Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sage Motel
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Vernal
Athol
2 reviews
“They will rip you off !”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I initially stayed on the 2nd floor. The rooms are run down and the toilets take two or three times to flush down. The wind turbine on the roof was squeaking horribly all night long. The beds are old and they keep them usable by putting foam cushions on the mattress.

They charge you in advance for your entire hotel stay, which is unconventional. I stayed for 20 days. I left one day early. They refused to refund me my unused day because I didn't give them 24 hours notice. What a way to reward a 20 day stay.

There is a smoke shop in the hotel. The people behind the desk are manning both the smoke shop and the hotel counter. Most of the time you have to wait around in the unmanned lobby until the receptionist gets done with her smoke shop customers.

Very unprofessional, very unpleasant, I will never stay there again. One of my worst hotel experiences ever.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William A J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sagemotel, Front Office Manager at Sage Motel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Sage motel has a cancellation / refund policy, and always honor refund for notice given 24 hours. The neccessity to reserve room is also for the convenience of our guests. Sage motel discloses this policy to all guests prior to room booking and upon check in.

The sage motel had charged this particular customers 7 seperate occassions due to his request for extension of stay (which is contrary to his statement). If he had notify us of his cancellation earlier, ie. 24 hours in advance his refund would have been honored.

For the comfort of our guests, most beds are memory foam. There are a few rooms that use memory foam topping, only when existing bed is in good condition.

The toilet flushing issue has been addressed. This customer have visited front desk, who we occassionally asked him, how was his stay? His remark were "everything good" and "be back". This review caught us by surprise. We value all inputs and always strive to do better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    27
    17
    6
    12
See reviews for
14
26
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I drove by this motel on the way into town thinking no way. After checking tripadvisor, which I do in every town before I book a room, I found that prices in town were a little high except for the Sage Motel. After reading the reviews we went back. We were very pleasantly surprised. While the hotel is older the rooms are very nice. The bed is the best one we have slept on so far on this long road trip. The bathroom is very small & doesn't work well for a handicapped person, but we managed that too. There is a very large flat screen in the very clean room. You do hear the traffic, but by 10:00 everything had died down. Save yourself haalf of what the other hotels want and stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mprther35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I stayed here March 19-20 for a job interview with Baker Hughes. The price is great for getting a big screen TV, king size bed, microwave, and fridge. There are Resturaunts, coffe shops, and book stores all around. The manager was extremely helful as well as the front desk clerk. Check out is 1200pm and my Greyhound bus doesn't come untill 540 pm. They let me stay in the front lobby so I didn't have to walk aroud town in the cold with nothing to do or wait at the Bus stop which is outside with nothing around. They are extemely friendly and helpful. I'm not sure why they would get a bad review like the one below. My stay was excellent and I have not one complaint. I would defintely stay here again and would highly recomment anyone to stay here.

Michael Stevens. Bakersfield, Ca.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank miken661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

I stayed here and was miserable. I was in town for a funeral and planned to stay 3 nights after 1 night I decided to try and beat the impending storm. I went to the front desk at 7am to let them know. I was told I would still be charged for another night due to the 24 hr cancellation policy. If check out is 11 I believe I was well within the policy limits. So needless to say I feel like I was held hostage to stay again. The storm rolled in and am still checking out and am going down the road to a different hotel to wait out the storm. If you like sleep dont stay here paperthin walls and lots of stomping from workers upstairs. Wont stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank littlesadmky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vernal hotels

Peoria, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

For an older room was very comfortable, beds with memory foam, nice bedding, big 52 in flat screen, front desk nite, very nice and helpful. This is occupied with lot of oil/ mine workers, which they were nice. They all get up and go to work early, fine with me. Will stay here again. And price was decent and breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marlene o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

This is a really nice hotel. Beds are Super cozy. the apartments are affordable and spacious. Plus the have a very modern kitchen. Appliances are new and the oven is awesome. Only place i will stay in vernal....i love anna and Sarah at the front desk. There so nice even when i lock myself out of my room 3 times

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crissyhagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Beside the crappy tube that would not shut off completely and the fact that there so called wi-fi internet real sucks as far as tv nothing good at all but a few channels. The Hispanic front desk clerk is alittle to friendly!! Which is very disgusting!! Saw her outside of the office later in the night with one of the 3 men that were staying in a room near us they obviously working somewhere out in the area since they were in a company vechicle. It was cold outside so they were both almost on top of each other yeah what a way to represent your company. Then the next day when i went to go get breakfast elsewhere because theres sucks i saw her saying her good-byes to this gentlemen outside of the office again!! No wonder all those oil rig workers stay here! Then my roommate asked her if breakfast was not available at 6am when hes on his way to work her response is "ohh i feel asleep" almost stating would you like to awake me. This place should be renamed the skank motel.. We will never stay here again down the road there is other hotels that are way worth your buck!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank yo2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sagemotel, Owner at Sage Motel, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
bath tube faucet are being inspected and repair. We provide continental breakfast such as: delicious muffin our trade mark you should try, cereal, oat meal, waffle,Fruits,toasts, Oj, milk, coffee,tea. We believe these are good selection for healthy breakfast. Our doors normally open by 6AM for breakfast, if you already by the door and we haven't open, you are welcome to buzz the bell.
In regard to the clerk we reviewing the video starting a week from your comment but not sure what you mean? As an owner, we do supervise our facility and will not tolarate any illegal or bad behavior from the employees nor the guests. We encourage our employees to be always curtious and friendly but not like you describe, but thank you for the comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vernal
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#4 of 17 in Vernal
86 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ledgestone Hotel Vernal
0.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Downtown
Econo Lodge Downtown
#10 of 17 in Vernal
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Vernal-Dinosaurland
2.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Naples Vernal
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Antlers
BEST WESTERN Antlers
#6 of 17 in Vernal
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sage Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sage Motel

Property: Sage Motel
Address: 54 W Main St, Vernal, UT 84078-2502
Location: United States > Utah > Vernal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Vernal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sage Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sage Motel & Restaurant promises to provide our guests with a uniquely flexible, full service hotel where you will be as comfortable planning a private business conference as you will just stopping by for a cup of coffee.The Vernal area is rich with history. From Butch Cassidy & The Sundance Kid, to ancient Indian cliff drawings & prehistoric dinosaur fossils. What ever your interests are, we are full of local knowledge, and is always ready with maps & information to make your stay both rewarding and pleasurable.* Newly Renovated Rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HRS, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sage Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sage Hotel Vernal
Sage Motel Vernal, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing