We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nothing special but okay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge Downtown
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Vernal
Lyon, France
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“nothing special but okay”
Reviewed September 7, 2007

At the first sight we thought that it'd be a terrible hotel.
Nevertheless the staff was friendly, the room was clean and quite big.
Moreover it offers a small free breakfast so we'd definitely stay there again if we'd like to go back to Vernal, which is a cute small town.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank buzzconseil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    38
    31
    10
    16
See reviews for
37
37
9
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Derby, UK
Level 6 Contributor
420 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 546 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2007

We were travelling Western USA on 3 week vacation. This was easily the worst hotel we stayed but I guess that some of the others gave such good value for money compared to what we get in England that on reflection pehaps this place wasn't TOO bad.
At first glance rooms seemed fairly clean but had a strange smell when you walked in; after a while we didn't notice it. The beds were firm (queen size) and fairly comfortable and the motel was quiet at night so we got a reasonable night's sleep except that the airconditioner was quite noisy especially when the room reached the right temperature and the conditioner kept switching on and off.
Two things need to improve. As other people have commented, the rooms and shower need a thorough clean to remove rubbish, hairs, paper from previous occupants. You don't notice this when you first walk in but after a while you begin to find stuff! The breakfast is really poor - a box of sugary donuts from WalMart and I think there was some Raisin Bran - all of which had to be taken back to the room as there is nowhere to eat it.
I noticed there was a brand new Holiday Inn Express in town and based on very positive stays in other H.E. Expresses I would look to stay there if I go back again.

  • Liked — Close to the town centre
  • Disliked — Rooms not clean and breakfast poor
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kmr1809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vernal hotels

New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2006

Since the Best Western motels were booked, I was forced to stay at the Econolodge. But it really wasn't so bad. A look at the exterior of the motel might give you cause for some concern, but once inside the room, the beds were in decent shape (firm and not creaky) and the air conditioner worked well. For the off the beaten path location that Vernal is, the motel did just fine. Some downsides were that there was someone else's hair on the bedspread (yuck) and the tv remote control was broken (I know, we had to get UP to change the channel! Can you imagine?).
Breakfast was all sweets, so if you are conscious of nutrition, bring your own oatmeal and make it with the water from the coffee maker.

  • Stayed August 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eileeneis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ca
1 review
Reviewed August 25, 2006

Econo Lodge is a place to stay in vernal walk in distance restaturant. good room and clean comfortable beds i rally enjoyed staying here i will recommand to stay here again good place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank vikram8987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 29, 2006

Warning!!! Don't stay here. Staff was cold and unfriendly. The room had a terrible smell. Continental Breakfast? What a joke! They had 1 dozen donuts for the entire motel. Unless you're up at 6:00 a.m. you are out of luck! It was overpriced, dirty and smelly.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 19, 2005

This place looked awful but I had hoped at least it would be clean! There was hair on the bathroom floor when we got in our room so I looked in the shower and -- you got it -- ---- hairs from who knows where. I only know who they didn't belong to. Don't stay there!!!!!!!!!!!

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vernal
3.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#4 of 17 in Vernal
87 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ledgestone Hotel Vernal
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Vernal-Dinosaurland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Naples Vernal
1.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Vernal
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Antlers
BEST WESTERN Antlers
#6 of 17 in Vernal
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Downtown

Property: Econo Lodge Downtown
Address: 311 E Main St, Vernal, UT 84078-2607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Vernal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Vernal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Vernal
Vernal Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge Downtown Vernal, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing