We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent dining”

Stone Hearth Grille
Ranked #2 of 9 Restaurants in Tropic
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $38
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Our restaurant is open for the 2017 season. We are a casual fine dining restaurant that has views few others in Utah can match, with an atmosphere as friendly as our dress code. We serve all natural, fresh, hormone free entrees and everything is made from scratch. Our quality of food and knowledgeable wait staff makes the Stone Hearth Grille a popular destination in Southern Utah. Relax and unwind after a day in the canyon with fine wine and memorable food.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent dining”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

My niece and I dined here after an ATV ride at the suggestion of our guide Justin. What fabulous luck for us. It was our final night in Tropic after a four-day stay and a fitting end to a lovely vacation. We splurged and ordered the tiger prawn appetizer, plus the chicken pasta entree and a huge steak and took turns tasting each others' dishes. Then we took home a slice of the famous coconut cake. Everything was completely delicious and satisfying. The chef had obviously taken great care to make sure everything would bring compliments from his diners. We couldn't have been happier with our meal.
If we'd discovered the restaurant sooner in our trip, we'd definitely have returned!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    323
    123
    64
    29
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Julian, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Exceptional dining experience!”
Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I had dinner here while visiting Bryce Canyon and the surrounding area. A bit off the beaten path but definitely worth the four extra minutes to drive there. The food will dazzle your palate! Flavors were flawlessly balanced. The vegetables, pasta, and steak we had were cooked to perfection. Would recommend to anyone traveling in the area.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kmsnectar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wicked Awesome”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

I knew it was going to be a great meal when the first car in the parking lot was from Massachusetts. The service was exceptional and the meal matched. Extremely friendly staff, the chef came to our table and asked our opinion, both good and bad. Small but beautiful, the view looks out over Bryce Canyon Valley I had the prawns which were perfect in every way. Wine was very reasonably priced. Heartily recommend the Stone Hearth Grille if you're in the neighborhood of Bryce Canyon National Park!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pmac46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pdx
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Top quality restaurant”
Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

Delightful meal in a quiet setting. Not the usual western faire you find in many of the roadside restaurants but high quality ingredients well prepared and tastefully arranged. My wife had the Pasta Alfredo and I had the Tiger Shrimp. We loved both dishes. Steaks are a specialty which come from a local source and watching the served made me wish I had ordered one. Vegan options were also in the menu. This place is a 2 miles off the main road in Tropic but well worth the trip. It is a great addition to the culinary scene in the area that I hope is successful. Not to be missed if staying near Bryce Canyon.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank peachiepooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Location and Food”
Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

We were recommended this place by our B&B host on our first night and we ended up eating there both nights we stayed in Tropic. We perused most of the local menus and this was far out the closest to our taste. Its a little off the beaten track but we had a warm welcome in appealing surroundings. We can recommend the New York Steak, Fillet Steak, Pork Cutlet and Beef Salad - all were extremely well cooked and presented perfectly. I cant say anything about the desserts as we were too full from the mains but they certainly looked delicious as they were delivered to other tables.
The wine and beer list is not huge but there is a good choice and the selection we had was excellent. Sure the service was still in early days but this did not detract in any way from an overall enjoyable couple of meals.
If we were staying longer I am sure we would be back!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mebrown1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stone Hearth Grille also viewed

Bryce Canyon National Park, UT
Bryce Canyon National Park, UT
 

Been to Stone Hearth Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing