We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Clarke's Restaurant - CLOSED

Clarke's Restaurant
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Melbourne
Level Contributor
76 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

Average sums up this place. The decor is a little odd, service was great & food was just okay.

We had the famed trout & it was overdone but had great flavour. The bread was definitely a little stale (as someone else said) & that's about it.

If you're in tropic & need somewhere it's fine but don't expect too much!

Also it closes as 9 as does the other restaurant in Tropic so keep that in mind if you arrive in town late!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Toriarose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

804 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    296
    247
    68
    53
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“How do they stay in business?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

We had been on the road for 2 weeks of our 4 week holiday, so had experienced many different eating arrangements. But I must say this was the most dismal place we ate at in our entire four weeks on the West Coast. So terrible service, we also waited in line to be seated for several minutes and was ignored by passing staff, our serving person actually threw our salad on the table. However, the interesting thing was that we could not purchase a bottle of wine as we were a couple and wine by the bottle , according to our very rude wait staff, can not be served to less than three people. Interestingly, I could but as many single glasses as I wanted. Which as you can imagine was very expensive. We also had the unpleasant ordeal of staying in the adjacent motel, with breakfast included. My advise eat anywhere else or just don't eat. This place smacks of discrimination, profiteering and over religious zealousness.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 704Deb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food & great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

The food wqas very good, much better than we expected. We mainly had sandwiches, but they were very good & quite large. The staff was very friendly and made us feel very welcoime and at home.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank art m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Handy, but nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

If you are staying in Topic this is a handy option but the food was average in every way. We had many better meals on our travels.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank 1953DaveH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
109 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Another person not understanding the great reviews”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

We stopped for a late lunch...a salad for me and a grilled chicken, ham and cheese sandwich for my partner. I think my salad was made yesterday. The carrots were dry and tough, the cucumbers were wrinkled and the lettuce limp. My partner asked for whole wheat bread...couldn't do it. His chicken was very grilled, the cheese processed....and we won't mention the bread. Our server was lovely and attentive...best part of the meal. No wifi access either.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Susiegirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clarke's Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing