We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good chicken and rib combo.”
Review of Clarke's Restaurant - CLOSED

Clarke's Restaurant
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good chicken and rib combo.”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

The chicken and rib combo was good. Breakfast the next day was good too. Service was average/better than average. Prices were ok.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank MadDog25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

804 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    296
    247
    68
    53
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Plenty of room, good food”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We dined here while staying at the Stone Canyon Inn. This restaurant is cozy inside and offers a pretty good choice of dishes. The staff was very friendly and the food was well prepared and tasty.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank AchimW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
165 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“very disappointing”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Advertised as "home cooked", our meal consisted of frozen entree and frozen vegetables, which was not too great. Also, the price was high for what you got.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank 1jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food close to Bryce”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We ate dinner here both nights we were at Bryce, just down the road in Tropic, and enjoyed both meals greatly. Barbecue dishes are fantastic; we split a half chicken one night, took home leftovers, and had another portion the next. Sirloin steak was cooked perfectly, but not the best quality - regret not springing for NY strip, or trying the ribs. Leave room for desert, the caramel apple pie is fabulous. Very good by-the-glass wine list, including local (Moab) Castle Creek, usually only available in bottles.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank DerBogen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kt. Bern
Level Contributor
112 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“OK but...”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We ate there two times for dinner. The first receptionist shoud not be placed at such an important place. We didn't really have a "welcome-feeling". No smile at all. Who knows what her problem was. The first evening we were seated near the air condition. It was very cold. The server was veeery kind an friendly. The so called Sirloin Filet we ordered was (compared with all other Sirloin Filets in 3 Weeks) never a Sirloin Filet. It looked like a steak. The side dishes were ok. We wanted to make a reservation for the next evening, but this was not possible. So we went early and we asked to be seated at the right aisle, just after the entrance. This was much better, no cold wind from the AC. After the mediocre Filet the evening before, we ordered Pasta. These were really good, we appreciated. The Clarke's was recommended by a lady in the Welcome Center of Bryce Canyon. We stayed in Cannonville, so this was on the way to our hotel.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clarke's Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing