We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food good -waitress surly”
Review of Clarke's Restaurant - CLOSED

Clarke's Restaurant
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Food good -waitress surly”
Reviewed June 7, 2012 via mobile

Had Chicken Alfredo. Positive - massive portion & tasted good. Negative - prices are on the high side particularly for wine & waiteress seemed uninterested & surly until we paid. Overall though the best place to go here in Tropic!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TrudiLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

804 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    296
    247
    68
    53
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fruit Heights, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in Bryce!”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

If you head to Bryce Canyon, this little gem is well worth the trip, about 7 miles SE of the entrance to Bryce, in a very small town named Tropic. Great down home menu choices, and trust me, you won't leave hungry. I recommend it over anything in the Bryce Canyon area.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank CoupleOfNuts2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Food wasn't anything special and a little overpriced

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyThomas123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Province of Trapani, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Only decent meal for miles”
Reviewed May 31, 2012

The only decent meal for miles was at Clarkes restaurant. We were hiking/camping (no cooking equipment) through Bryce canyon and by 6-7PM totally starving. We drove the extra miles to Tropic in order to avoid the overpriced fare and tour hordes eating in Rubyville. A couple volunteering for the Park Service recommended Clarkes stating, 'they always treat us right'. They did good by us as well.

Wholesome, proportionate meals are on offer, served by a friendly staff of locals. Burgers, ribs, salads, pastas, wine, beer, all on offer. Especially tasty are the buffalo wings.

Get there early (around 6) during high season, otherwise be prepared to wait.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank supergaggle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Springs, FL
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“perfect stopping point”
Reviewed May 30, 2012

We went to the Mossy Cave trail outside of Bryce Canyon and decided to head to Tropic for lunch afterwards. Great little family restaurant where the food was good, fairly priced and good service. Would definitely recommend. They also have a small grocery store that has anything you might need and the prices were not bad. We bought some great fresh fruit to bring back to our cabin.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jwfla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clarke's Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing