We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good and not so good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bullberry Inn B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tropic
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bullberry Inn B&B
Save
You added Bullberry Inn B&B to your Saves list
412 South Highway 12, Tropic, UT   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Tropic B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lake City, Florida
Level Contributor
418 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“Good and not so good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

First, the good. The owner/innkeeper is very hospitable and friendly. The breakfast was very good, eggs cooked to order, bacon, hash browns and toast, juice and coffee or tea. Now, the not so good. We stayed in the part of the inn that was outside the original house, it was added on at some point. The walls were, very, very thin and you could hear everything from the room next door and above. The plumbing from the adjacent rooms was very loud, every flush and shower. The wifi was practically non existent in our room. If you could ever get a connection, it would only last a minute or two. The location is good for visiting Bryce, just a few miles away and I'm sure a better choice than staying at Ruby's in town.

Room Tip: Try a room in the main house, may be quieter with a better wifi connection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travlingal51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    67
    5
    5
    0
See reviews for
45
200
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bettendorf, Iowa
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Nettie and Wally will make you feel at home. Delicious and ample breakfast. Convenient to Bryce and other Hwy 12 attractions. Very clean rooms with great views. This should be your stop if in the area!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paorch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Nettie and Wally are the loveliest most down to earth hosts you could meet in the B&B trade. They are extremely accommodating of their guests' needs and dietary requests. We got to pick exactly what we wanted for our cooked breakfast and when, which was simple and tasty. Their house has panoramic views, as do many of the rooms. You can watch the sun rise on one side and set on the other. Nettie upholds a very high standard of housekeeping. Wally is a font of old time stories. It is superb value. This place is well on its way to an excellent rating and I have stopped short simply because (a) we found the mattress on our bed very soft and difficult to share, leading to poor sleep and (b) the location (fine for access to Bryce, but we struggled to eat a remotely decent meal in the town of Tropic). But don't be put off by these subjective issues: note that other guests raved about the comfort of the beds and the restaurants in town! Overall, this place is an excellent option for the Bryce vicinity and I would recommend it highly.

Room Tip: It looked like the ones with access outside the main house would be more private, if this is your pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Veronica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I have stayed in many fine B&B in many places throughout the world. Bullberry tops the list. Nettie and Wally are perfect hosts, the rooms are spacious and the bed comfortable. Breakfast is a treat that makes lunch optional. The location near Bryce and less than two hours from Zion and near Kodachrome and Capital Reef is very handy. We highly recommend the Bullberry Inn as a more than great value.

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank indolawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annecy, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This place is a dream! I spent 3 weeks driving across the south-west, staying in 16 different hotels and B&Bs, and the Bullberry takes top prize. Nettie & Wally are perfect hosts and offer not just professional B&B but genuine hospitality as well. Rooms are large and comfortable. From the front door you can see the rim of Bryce Canyon (10 minutes drive away) and if you walk back from town after dinner (take a torch, it's very dark) the unpolluted night sky is just jaw-dropping. Not much happening in Tropic but it's a nice small town and you can eat well.

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank anglofrenchtravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Just the perfect place to stay when visiting the Bryce Canyon area. Wonderful clean room, great food and the perfect hosts. We stayed there 2 nights in October of 2012 and from the moment we stepped inside we were treated like family.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkby Lonsdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

This place is a real down home, Mom & Pop style B&B. Nettie and Wally are great hosts - when we arrived Nettie was busy cooking up a batch of salsa and the whole place smelt heavenly. Our room was great, large enough, clean and cool. We had a porch swing just outside which made a great place to have drink and watch the sun sink. Breakfasts are served in the diner style breakfast room and set you up for the day. Wally is a mine of great stories - get him to show you the photos of picking the Bullberries they use to make the divine jam served at breakfast. Nettie's collections of Coca Cola memorabilia and black bears are fun too. Tropic is 5 minutes by car or walkable if you want, but you will need a torch to get home in the dark. The restaurant at the town store is great, and you can pick up all your supplies for hiking the next day at the store - prices are very good considering this is the only game in town. The Bullberry makes a great alternative to the tourist trap of Ruby's and it is only a 15 minute drive to the Park in the morning.

Room Tip: There is a ground floor room if you are less mobile.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scareybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tropic
5.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bryce Canyon Grand Hotel
1.8 mi away
Stone Canyon Inn
Stone Canyon Inn
#1 of 5 in Tropic
4.5 of 5 stars 564 reviews
5.1 mi away
Bryce Canyon Lodge
Bryce Canyon Lodge
#1 of 1 in Bryce Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ruby's Inn
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ruby's Inn
#1 of 1 in Bryce Canyon City
3.5 of 5 stars 3,837 reviews
0.8 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Bryce Valley
0.6 mi away
Bryce Pioneer Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bullberry Inn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bullberry Inn B&B

Property: Bullberry Inn B&B
Address: 412 South Highway 12, Tropic, UT
Location: United States > Utah > Tropic
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Tropic
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Bullberry Inn B&B Tropic, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing