We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable and quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bybee's Steppingstone Motel
Ranked #3 of 6 Tropic B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 26, 2014

This is a very small motel with around 8 rooms. Our room was clean, comfortable and quiet - simple but perfectly adequate. There are two restaurants a short walk from the motel and Bryce Canyon is only a short drive away. Note - the latest check in time is earlier than many motels as there is just a small office on site; no resident receptionist - so alert the owner if you plan to arrive late. I would certainly recommend this small motel.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back open on to a small lawned area - very peaceful and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1953DaveH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (263)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 263 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2014

The Stepping Stone Motel was an excellent choice! The room was very clean and quiet. The shower was wonderful, just what we needed to wash away the red dust of Bryce Canyon. The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PellaDutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We were extremely pleased with our room at Bybee's Steppingstone. After staying for two nights in a less-than-desirable motel at the Grand Canyon (for which we paid a fortune), this place was refreshing. It was one of the cleanest rooms we have ever stayed in. We had a room on the back, and it was quiet as a mouse. We slept soundly. Water pressure was good in the shower, and there was plenty of hot water. Linens were nice and fresh. As others have said, there was instant coffee, tea and instant oatmeal in the room along with a hot water boiler to heat the water. There was also a microwave and fridge. TV was a flat screen with many channels. Also, internet connection was good. The king sized bed slept great!

The pizza from the restaurant across the street was very good (we ordered the supreme). Although that restaurant was not open for breakfast, there was a restaurant just up the street toward Bryce Canyon that was open and we had a hearty breakfast before our 10 minute drive to Bryce.

We would stay at this motel again in a heartbeat, and highly recommend it for its cleanliness, price and location.

Room Tip: Rooms on back are away from road, although there is not much traffic in this small town--especially...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luvsnorkeling60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Tropic is the next town to Bryce Canyon City (way closer than some of the other places you may see as "nearby".) This motel has everything you would need - clean, comfortable bed, enough light to read by, simple charm, refrigerator etc. There is both instant coffee and instant oatmeal provided (& a restaurant across the street if you want a large breakfast.) Highly recommended. Alert the owner if you will be arriving late. This is a small motel and they will eave you the key etc.

Room Tip: Half the rooms face the road and the half in the back (quieter) faace a small garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ready2Go2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We ended up here as there was no room in the inn across the road. So glad, it was excellent. It isn't 5 star luxury, but what it does do it does very well. This includes a comfy bed, extremely clean room and bathroom, porridge for breakfast and a kettle. We're from the UK and miss having kettles in our hotel rooms. Would stay there in the future. Great location for Bryce Canyon too.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank SAWM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

It's only about 8 miles away from Bryce Canyon, so quite handily placed. The town of Tropic is extremely quiet, and there isn't much open past 8:30pm.
The room had everything I needed. The accessible bathroom was brand new, and very comfortable with great water pressure that didn't lead to a room flood like most powerful showers tend to do.
There was a fridge and microwave, so if you are there for more than a day or two, you can store and prepare stuff quite easily.
I liked the DISH tv system. Unlike most hotels / motels, it was possible to look ahead and see what was on.
The bed was extremely comfortable, and I slept all night.
The owner / manager was a friendly guy who spent time chatting to me as I was sitting outside my room relaxing with a beer after a day of touring. That hasn't happened anywhere else I have stayed, so it is nice to say that there is an added personal touch.
I would definitely stay there again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank handicappedtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

I didn't expect to find such a cute place in a very small town of Tropic. It was a pleasant surprise. Room is nicely decorated, it looks like this place has been recently renovated or very well kept. Beds have beautiful linen and many pillows. There are middle size fridge, microwave, electric teapot, TV, AC and heater in the room and all kinds of toiletries in the bathroom. Also there are 3 small folded tables near the beds and one dinner table with tea-coffee-sugar and even oatmeal on it. Both room and bathroom are sparkling clean and very comfortable.
Location is very close to Bryce - 10 minutes drive. Across the road from motel there is a small grocery store and gas station.
We were one hour late (came around 8 p.m.) and the guy at the reception waited for us. Thank you very much!! We greatly appreciate superb service and grateful for our pleasant and comfortable stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back, not facing the road, it is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank artirin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tropic
5.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Bryce Canyon Grand Hotel
5.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn
Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn
#1 of 1 in Bryce Canyon City
5,123 reviews
0.2 mi away
Red Ledges Inn
Red Ledges Inn
#3 of 5 in Tropic
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bryce Pioneer Village
1.6 mi away
Stone Canyon Inn
Stone Canyon Inn
#1 of 5 in Tropic
649 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bryce Canyon Inn
Bryce Canyon Inn
#2 of 6 in Tropic
1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bybee's Steppingstone Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bybee's Steppingstone Motel

Address: 21 South Main Street, Tropic, UT 84776
Location: United States > Utah > Tropic
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Tropic
Price Range: $88 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bybee's Steppingstone Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Bybee's Steppingstone Motel, your Bryce Canyon motel of choice. This motel is located in Tropic UT and provides you with a clean, comfortable and unique room while you visit the beautiful area surrounding Bryce Canyon. Each of the rooms here is individually decorated with artwork created by the owner. At this Bryce Canyon motel we pride ourselves in offering our guests the cleanest rooms around that are a little different from your average motel room. Come and enjoy the relaxed atmosphere that we provide and book your room online today, we look forward to serving you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Bybee's Steppingstone Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bybee`s Steppingstone Hotel Tropic
Bybee's Steppingstone Motel Tropic, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing