We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bybee's Steppingstone Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bybee's Steppingstone Motel
Ranked #3 of 6 Tropic B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed two nights. The room is very clean, has a flat screen TV, and the wifi speed is good. It has a kettle so that we can boil water for instant coffee and tea. The only problem is, the fridge doesn't seem to work, but we don't really need to use it anyway.
For the price we paid, it is definitely great value, and the motel isn't far from Bryce National Park. Compare it with other motels, this one is actually very good. I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank square-square
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    88
    22
    8
    0
See reviews for
37
129
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I was a little hesitant to stay here. I emailed another person who wrote a review and they had a good experience. We stayed one night here while we saw Bryce Canyon then headed east on Rt 12. The motel is fine. 8 rooms that are clean. The ice machine is outside and a little slow, but gave us the ice we needed. Nothing fancy, but a good nights sleep. Remember that you are in the middle of no where with not many choices. The 3-6 pm check in time is a little different. No one is at the motel otherwise. It is owned by a husband/wife team that live close by. The pizza shop across the street is decent, fair prices, decent food, service is a bit slow. There is a general store/supermarket/gas station down the street. 15 minutes from Bryce Canyon.

Room Tip: Half the rooms were on the street side and the other half on the other side of the building. We sta...
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank EdSaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The motel is situated really well in the town of Tropic. It took us within 20 minutes to drive from the motel to watch the most beautiful sunrise at the SUNSET point of the Bryce National Park. The motel was very cozy and warm and free from any noise / interruption. The room that we stayed was a good queen size bedroom, with a good view of good landscaping. We selected this motel because of its location, affordability and amenities provided. Even though the hotel did not have the coffee and condiments, you should be able to find it from a store nearby. Otherwise, you can bring your own instant coffee because the room had a hot water pot. You can boil the water from the outlets.

By the way, there were plenty of electrical outlets within the room. We did not have to scramble to locate regarding where they were.

If you bring your own foods, the room had the refrigerator and microwave. That should be plentiful to make your own breakfast / dinner or boiled your own coffee.

There were plenty of lodgings in the town of Tropic and at the Bryce Canyon’s entrance. The hospitalities that Bybee's Steppingstone Motel had provided us were more than we could even explain in words. They were distinguished, awesome and outstanding. Tyrell, the host, was exceptional in every way. He provided us with several recommendations of where and when to visit the park and what spots that we should not miss. In an addition to that useful information, he even pointed out the places that we could visit at the Grand Staircase Escalante National Monument as well as the visitor’s center in a nearby town.

This is a small, cozy and well-managed motel. We will not hesitate to visit and stay there again for many more nights when we visit Bryce Canyon National Park and GSENM in the near future.

If you have the opportunity to visit the Bryce Canyon National Park in the near future, you should give this motel a try.

The WIFI signal was strong enough to go on the Internet without any problem.

For us, we believe that this motel provided us the best value, comparing of what they offered versus the very expensive one at Best Western.

Can't wait to go back and stay here again.

Room Tip: * The rooms that face the west side might be warmer due to the sunlight. This might be good during t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamraks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This was convenient to the park. We have a new room that is very clean with nice big TV, ref and me. This was a great value, totally worth it. I will definitely recommend this place and I will stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CloeyLosAngeles_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

What a pleasent surprise as we did not know what to expect
our room was at the rear spotlessly clean and large with all the furnishings you would expect in a city hotel at half the price.
The only problem we had which we cannot blame the owners for was one noisy family in the two rooms either side of ours. When they finally settled down after midnight we were woken at 6 am with one of them knocking on our door mistaking our room for their friends room.

Room Tip: Room at rear is possibly quieter away from road
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tracolDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Level Contributor
105 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This 9 room motel is a gem. There is a hot pot to boil water but no coffee pot. There was a bedside clock and a power strip near ref I use a cpap which I need a bedside fortunately I travel with a long extension cord and my own minicoffee pot. It would have otherwise been easy to get coffee just down the street. I had a room in the back the outside sitting area was a wonderful plus. i would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seniortvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
88 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Beautiful little hotel. They even let us check in a couple hours early. Everything was neat as a pin. You can tell the owner's pay particular attention to cleanliness. The mattress was firm and comfortable. There are a couple minor items you might want to know before you stay here though. They don't have a bedside clock, and the electrical outlets are sparse (but just plan for that and you'll be ok).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PJinNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tropic
5.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ruby's Inn
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ruby's Inn
#1 of 1 in Bryce Canyon City
3.5 of 5 stars 3,992 reviews
5.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bryce Canyon Grand Hotel
4.7 mi away
Bryce Canyon Lodge
Bryce Canyon Lodge
#1 of 1 in Bryce Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Bryce Valley
1.4 mi away
Stone Canyon Inn
Stone Canyon Inn
#1 of 5 in Tropic
4.5 of 5 stars 576 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bryce Pioneer Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bybee's Steppingstone Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bybee's Steppingstone Motel

Property: Bybee's Steppingstone Motel
Address: 21 South Main Street, Tropic, UT 84776
Location: United States > Utah > Tropic
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Tropic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Bybee's Steppingstone Motel, your Bryce Canyon motel of choice. This motel is located in Tropic UT and provides you with a clean, comfortable and unique room while you visit the beautiful area surrounding Bryce Canyon. Each of the rooms here is individually decorated with artwork created by the owner. At this Bryce Canyon motel we pride ourselves in offering our guests the cleanest rooms around that are a little different from your average motel room. Come and enjoy the relaxed atmosphere that we provide and book your room online today, we look forward to serving you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Bybee's Steppingstone Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bybee`s Steppingstone Hotel Tropic
Bybee's Steppingstone Motel Tropic, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing