We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Bryce visitors”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bybee's Steppingstone Motel
Ranked #3 of 6 Tropic B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2011

A small, family run motel on the road to Bryce with nice appointments. There are stores & restaurants a short walk away. Mossy Cave is on the left side of the road on the way to Bryce, and it is worth a look. Wi-fi worked fine, and we had TV, microwave, hair dryer, & fridge. Very clean! Friendly folks.

Room Tip: We reserved a room at the back (to avoid vehicle noise)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keinhund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (264)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 264 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2011

I was staying here for 3 nights while visiting Bryce. The room was larger than it looked from the outside and there were a number of pleasing touches. The fixtures were all new and well thought out. Even the soap smelled good. But what really counted was when I had a serious problem and the owners Rick and his wife helped me out. They saved my butt ! That counted big-time and I am grateful.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank netrapture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Small , but very clean, efficiently run BB. Very quiet, everything works as expected. Stayed 2 nights - no problems encountered. The only minus is no breakfast provided, Very good for access to Bryce - takes only 10 min to get there.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingWithFriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

We traveled for two weeks and this may have been our favorite motel. We didn't think so, when we first drove up however. In fact, you might be in for a shock when you drive up and see this little row of 7 or 8 motel rooms. We immediately thought, we better find another place and just lose a deposit. It also was a bit troubling when there was no one in their office and you had to pick up a phone to get someone to come there. But, I am glad we did that. The women who came was nice and I guess this is a family owned motel. When we entered the room all previous fear changed dramatically. It is a very nice room, clean, and the beds were very comfortable. The bathroom was equally clean and they have flat screen television and it was a perfect choice. There is no pool, but you will be spending your days elsewhere anyway.

The town is very small but you can walk to Clarke's restaurant a block and a half, or a Pizza place across the street. Clarke's served full meals, complete breakfasts, and seemed the best restaurant anywhere in the overall Bryce area. Plus, you are not that far a drive from Bryce Canyon with no crowds. When you drive to Bryce, maybe it is 20 minutes at the most, but when you go by Ruby's, you will see the crowds and be thankful you are not stuck amongst them or the touristy lower end restaurants, etc. You get to drive into Bryce and even though it was crowded we never had one problem finding parking from where we might have started a hike. Also, on the way is the Mossy Cave Hike (about halfway betwen Tropic and Bryce). I did not think this was anything that special but it isn't very far and it worthwhile nevertheless. Plus, the drive to and from Bryce has great scenery too. Trust the reviews, stay here if visiting the Bryce area and you have a car.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank truly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2011

We stayed in a LOT of motels in our road trip round the south west US, and Bybee's Motel was one of our favourites. Our room was a good size, very clean, very quiet and very comfortable. The decor was also more homey and unique compared to a lot of places we stayed. We wished we could have stayed longer. Tropic is a really tiny town but it has a general store and it's in a brilliant setting - driving to Bryce Canyon early in the morning was very quick.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cat23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2011

We stayed 2 nights in this little motel while visiting Bryce NP. Nice clean room and even some chairs outside to enjoy the sun. And a good working internet connection. So I can realy recommand this place.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank krollebol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2011

Booked based on reviews here. The room was spotless. It's a little dated and old but has everything you need. Pretty quilt on bed. Toiletries. Fridge and Microwave. The price was great - very reasonable. It's just a short drive from Bryce and in our case we were heading East. There is not much in Tropic. The only other thing you could do was head further East in Escalante where there is a new Prospector Hotel where we had breakfast. Or if you have time head past Escalante to the Kiva Koffee House which has a unique Cozy Cottage.

Room Tip: Book early because they only have 7 rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank petsitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tropic
5.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Bryce Canyon Grand Hotel
0.1 mi away
Bryce Pioneer Village
4.1 mi away
Grand Staircase Inn
Grand Staircase Inn
#1 of 1 in Cannonville
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn
Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn
#1 of 1 in Bryce Canyon City
5,326 reviews
18.9 mi away
Quality Inn Bryce Canyon
Quality Inn Bryce Canyon
#3 of 14 in Panguitch
576 reviews
0.2 mi away
Red Ledges Inn
Red Ledges Inn
#3 of 5 in Tropic
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bybee's Steppingstone Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bybee's Steppingstone Motel

Address: 21 South Main Street, Tropic, UT 84776
Location: United States > Utah > Tropic
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Tropic
Price Range: $83 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bybee's Steppingstone Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Bybee's Steppingstone Motel, your Bryce Canyon motel of choice. This motel is located in Tropic UT and provides you with a clean, comfortable and unique room while you visit the beautiful area surrounding Bryce Canyon. Each of the rooms here is individually decorated with artwork created by the owner. At this Bryce Canyon motel we pride ourselves in offering our guests the cleanest rooms around that are a little different from your average motel room. Come and enjoy the relaxed atmosphere that we provide and book your room online today, we look forward to serving you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Bybee's Steppingstone Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bybee`s Steppingstone Hotel Tropic
Bybee's Steppingstone Motel Tropic, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing