We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an oasis on the edge of Bryce Canyon”
Review of Stone Canyon Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stone Canyon Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Tropic
Certificate of Excellence
detroit, mi
1 review
“an oasis on the edge of Bryce Canyon”
Reviewed September 11, 2008

An unassuming road to the Inn, leads to an oasis on the edge of Bryce Canyon. The Inn was clean, comfortable and gorgeous; the inn keepers were extremely friendly and helpful. Given a little notice, they even were able to accommodate me with my food allergy to gluten. Their knowledge of the surrounding sites kept me busy for days hiking and biking. To my surprise, John, the inn keeper, was a professional guide and was able to lead me on a few hikes into the surrounding slot canyons and into Bryce Canyon. If you have never been to Bryce, or even if you have, you have to make this your next place to stay.

  • Liked — The rooms were comfortable, clean, and beautiful.
  • Disliked — leaving
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cliffbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    119
    41
    19
    5
See reviews for
146
366
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mt Vernon NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 10, 2008

I loved this place!! It is beautiful. The rooms are very comfortable.
Loved the deck. Views magnificent. Total peace and quiet.

Breakfasts were superb. I want the recipes. Inn Keepers Wendy and John were so welcoming and helpful with info about the area. OOPS almost forgot Teegan their daughter. She also was great!!
Ask about their favorite restaurant. It was fantastic!!

Definitely coming back!!!

  • Liked — Location, Warmth and Friendliness of Inn Keepers, Breakfasts
  • Disliked — Having to leave
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BigLouMtVernonNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix AZ
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2008

I was a little apprehensive about our arrival because there had been a mix-up (on my part) in the confirmation of our reservation. Although it had been corrected immediately, I didn't want any surprises when we got there. Also, earlier reviews expressed some difficulties with the innkeepers.
That was not our experience. Both John & Wendy were gracious, friendly and helpful. The inn itself is lovely, clean and comfortable. The breakfasts (served promptly at 8 AM) were tasty: generous sweet roll, yogurt parfait or smoothie and entree with juice and coffee or tea. Our three-night stay was delightful. We especially enjoyed the comfortable furniture on the large deck. It was great for pre-breakfast coffee, afternoon relaxation and evening stargazing.
We would definitely return if our travels took us back that way.

  • Liked — Pleasant, relaxing atmosphere
  • Disliked — Coffee not available early enough
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank allme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2008

We stayed here as part of our honeymoon and just thought this place was fantastic. So cosy and really luxurious rooms for a B & B. We had left the hub bub of Vegas and really didn't feel that the standard of accommodation had changed. (Still fluffy robes, towels, all the toiletries, TV/Cable etc). It was immaculate too and the owners were really lovely and welcoming, anybody who states any different about the whole place would need to challenged!!! We actually didn't realise that what we had booked included breakfast, so this was a nice surprise and it is 8am for all the reasons previously mentioned. It's a super spread, very very fresh and tasty and certainly wouldn't taste the same if left out for a 'couple of hours' like the dire food at Rubys' (one evening meal was enough there). The views from the terrace of the lounge and out of our bedroom window were just unbelievable.
THe owners are just great , each morning they ask if everybody is okay, and if anybody need ed any help with local walks or directions, John would also talk through the best hikes and veiwpoints. He also checked with the people checking out , to see if they were okay getting to their next destination. We also had a very nice general chat with them before we left , which almost made us feel like packing our bags, leaving the UK and the rat race which grinds us down every day!!
This is THE place to stay near Bryce, total Eutopia compared to the hum drum of the 'stack it high stodgy food, pile people in by the bus load chaos' of larger hotels in Tropic or nearby. As for the Bryce Canyon, this is just amazing!!!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMSLeicestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, fl
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2008

Love the Stone canyon Inn. We stayed in one of the cabins and found it quite accomodating for two couples. The extra room was a little smaller than the master, but it worked out fine. The room may be more suitable for children verse another couple. Cabin had full kitchen, stocked! We loved this, as there is not much to the town of tropic and it was much easier to cook at our place. I would definately stay here again, its away from the craziness of "Rubys" in bryce, which is just the way we like it :]
Kind and friendly staff, with a clean place to stay....doesnt get any better than that. I actually wish we would have stayed longer, as Bryce Canyon had to be the most spectacular place on our journey. We neglected to take pictures of our cabin, however, here are a few from Bryce.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Harr7855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2008

The perfect place to stay for a visit to Bryce Canyon. My wife and I recently returned from two nights at Stone Canyon Inn. We hated to leave. The Inn is charming, well maintained, quiet, rustic and isolated,with wonderful views of Bryce from our room and from the terrace yet only a few minutes drive to the town of Tropic, fifteen minutes to Bryce Canyon entrance.

Breakfast was wonderful as was our hostess Wendy. Her husband was out of town so we didn't get to meet him.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miamibobk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
1 review
Reviewed July 16, 2008

We booked a cabin for the Fourth of July weekend and were very impressed with the accomodations (the pictures do not begin to do it justice)! The "cabin" is very well appointed - everything you need to cook meals and to relax. The jacuzzi on the deck was an added bonus for the cool nights! The Inn is just a short drive from the Bryce Canyon park entrance (8 or so minutes) - we came back to the cabin for lunch, it was that convenient. All in all - I would highly recommend the cabins at the Inn!

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank krk987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tropic
4.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Bryce Canyon Grand Hotel
4.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn
Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn
#1 of 1 in Bryce Canyon City
4,733 reviews
1.6 mi away
Red Ledges Inn
Red Ledges Inn
#3 of 5 in Tropic
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Bryce Pioneer Village
0.6 mi away
Bryce Trails Bed and Breakfast
1.6 mi away
Bryce Canyon Country Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone Canyon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Canyon Inn

Property: Stone Canyon Inn
Address: 1380 W. Stone Canyon Lane, Tropic, UT 84776
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Tropic
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Tropic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best place to stay at Bryce. We have four secluded cottages with two bedrooms, two baths, fully equipped kitchen and private hot tub. We also have 4 bungalows that are free standing king suites. They have a king bedroom, bathroom, living area and private porch. Stunning views from right under the rim of Bryce Canyon. Hike in to Bryce from the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Stone Canyon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone Canyon Hotel Tropic
Stone Canyon Inn Tropic, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing